- Education SourceSearch full-text education journals covering all levels of education--from early childhood to higher education--as well as all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education and testing.
- ERIC (Access via ProQuest)ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) is a database of full-text education literature and resources including abstracts for journal articles, books, curricula, government documents, dissertations, reports, gray literature, and other educational materials. With coverage dating back to 1966, it is essential for education researchers of all kinds.
- A few terms to use when searching ERIC:
state curriculum guides
teacher developed materials
bilingual instructional materials
- Education Index RetrospectiveIndexes nearly 600 education journals as far back as 1929. Includes book reviews.
- Academic Search PremierA great place to start your research on any topic, search multidisciplinary, scholarly research articles. This database provides access to scholarly and peer reviewed journals, popular magazines and other resources. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.
- MasterFile CompleteSearch magazines, with a small number of journals and newspapers, covering a broad range of disciplines and topics. Includes photos and multimedia.
- JSTORFind full text articles in academic journals or books on the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences. JSTOR provides articles from the journal's first issue. In some cases the most recent 2-5 years may not be available. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.
- Project MuseSearch for full-text journals in literary theory, classics, history and cultural studies, philosophy, film, theater and performing arts, political science, and mathematics.
- ScopusSearch for information from scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Covers the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
Background Research - Theories
- Encyclopedias and dictionariesHelp searching for encyclopedias and dictionaries for helpful overviews and brainstorming search terms
- eLibrary MinnesotaELibrary Minnesota gives Minnesota access to magazine, journal, newspaper and encyclopedia articles, media, including images, videos, and audio files, and other information resources. It provides information on topics, including consumer information, arts and humanities, career, occupation, and test prep, current events, health, science, social science, politics, business, and more.
Lesson Plan Resources
National Agriculture in the Classroom: National Agricultural Literacy Curriculum Matrix
The National Agricultural Literacy Curriculum Matrix is an online, searchable, and standards-based curriculum map for K-12 teachers.
This guide from the National Farm to School Network, developed in collaboration with Vermont partners, teachers, and farms, covers how to develop educational experiences on farms and in gardens that reflect classroom curriculum and meet standards.
- OER Commons Lesson Plans Collection
OER Commons collection of K-12 Lesson Plans
- Best of History Websites Lesson Plans
Collection of OER History Lesson Plans from a variety of sources, including PBS and the Library of Congress.
- Free Reading Teaching Tools
Reading interventions for students who are developing literacy. Designed for K-1, but suitable for developing students in other grades as well.
- Morningside Center for Teaching Social Responsibility
Lessons for teaching K-12 students social responsibility and for fostering social and emotional learning
- IBM Watson Teacher Advisor
K-8 Materials and Lesson Plans aided by IBM's Artificial Intelligence program, Watson.
- EDSITEment - National Endowment For the Humanities
Lesson plans and Teacher Resources for K-12 Educators provided by the NEH.
- Library of Congress
OERs curated and provided through the library of congress. You can search for materials based on state/national standards and grade level.
- Library of Congress - Teachers
Resources for teachers provided by the Library of Congress.
- NASA Education - for Educators
Resources for educators on NASA specific topics. The lessons are divided by grade level.
- Smithsonian Education
Smithsonian collections repurposed for educational use. Includes a guide to using the resources for distance education.
- USGS Educational Resources for Secondary Grades (7–12)
Lesson Plans, Multimedia, and more resources provided by the US Geological Survey
Free lesson plans written by teachers for teachers. K-12.
A comprehensive and in-depth site including lots of practical and hands-on activities and lesson plans. Also includes a number of blogs and videos for teachers.
Includes over 4,200 free lesson plans from all grade levels and subject areas.
Offers many ideas related to curriculum. This is an excellent site for multi-cultural education.
Classroom examples and articles related to integrating social justice in the classroom.
Provides access to all kinds of educational resources, including links for various subject areas, as well as lesson plans and curricula. (http://www.neat-schoolhouse.org/)
- The House of #EdTech Podcast is a great resource if you want to learn about new apps, tech resources, and programs you can use in your classroom.
- The Creative Classroom has episodes about growth mindset, project-based learning, design thinking, and, of course, creativity.
- The Ten-Minute Teacher Podcast is unique in that it offers five episodes a week, each focusing on different themes in education.
- The Google Tribe podcast offers tips, tricks, and hacks for making the most of Google Classroom.
- The Cult of Pedagogy Podcast dives into creative teaching strategies, education technology, and education reform.
- The #EdChat Podcast dives into the “highlights and amplifications from the Twitter discussion of the week on #EdChat.”
- Truth For Teachers podcast is designed to speak life, encouragement, and truth into the minds and hearts of educators and get you energized for the week ahead.
- Teaching in Higher Ed Podcast
Wellness resources: Taking Care of U
There are resources all over campus to support you as you navigate student life:
- Student Counseling Services: They promote student success by helping you with: mental health and life concerns, learning and academic skills challenges, career uncertainty, faculty/staff to student communication, and more!
- Boynton Mental Health: They support mental health through counseling services, medication management, and crisis care.
- Learn to Live: This platform offers therapy in five targeted areas: Social Anxiety, Depression Program, our Insomnia, Substance Use, and Stress, Anxiety and Worry.
- Let's Talk: These are informal virtual and in person drop-in consultations for students throughout the academic year. No appointment is necessary and find out more about counseling options.
- Nutritious U Food Pantry: They provides fresh and healthy food to students that struggle to get enough to eat. Any student can visit the food pantry, no proof of need is needed.
- RecWell: Campus exercise and fitness facilities, classes and more. Studies show that working out can reduce stress and improve your mental health. Physical health is very important!
- Pet Away Worry and Stress: (PAWS): Hang out with some of our furry and feathered friends, offered weekly this semester!