Have questions?
Contact me for research help on this subject.
Librarian
Agriculture databases to start with:
-
CAB Abstracts Plus Full Text SelectCAB Abstracts covers agriculture in its broadest sense, including crop production, forestry, environment, animal health and nutrition, veterinary science, agricultural engineering, biotechnology, soil and water, agricultural economics, recreation and tourism, rural sociology, and human nutrition and health.
-
AGRICOLA Agriculture (Ovid)Search agriculture, animal husbandry, animal and human nutrition, forestry, plant pathology, plant science, human ecology, agricultural economics, and rural sociology. Limited to 8 simultaneous users.
-
PubAgSearch articles in core topics of the agricultural sciences including nutrition, food safety, food quality, animal and crop production and protection, natural resources, sustainable agricultural systems, rural development, agricultural economic and policy issues, agricultural imports and exports, agricultural statistics and more.
Then try any of the following:
How to find resources by format
Where to find resources by format type, such as data, dissertations and theses, government documents, and primary sources.
-
Agricultural and Environmental Science DatabaseSearch journals and literature on agriculture, pollution, animals, environment, policy, natural resources, water issues and more. Searches tools like AGRICOLA, Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management (ESPM), and Digests of Environmental Impact Statements (EIS) databases.
-
PubMedSearches MEDLINE, which is the primary source of journal articles for the health sciences (fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, public health, health care systems, and basic sciences). Coverage is from the 1940s to the present. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.
-
AGRIS-FAO (public version)Information for international agricultural research, from 1975 to the present.
Interdisciplinary Databases:
-
Web of ScienceA comprehensive interdisciplinary collection of journal article citations. Subjects generally covered are within science and technology, arts and humanities, and social sciences. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.
-
ScopusSearch for information from scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Covers the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
Conference Proceeding Databases:
-
AgEcon SearchAgEcon Search contains the full-text of working papers, conference papers and small journals in agricultural, development, energy, environmental, resource and other areas of applied economics
-
Animal Health and Production CompendiumAn encyclopaedic, interactive database that draws together scientific information on Animal Health and Production.
-
S-PAC (Searchable Proceedings of Animal Conferences)S-PAC is the most comprehensive animal production and management conference proceeding database in the world. This unique collection of conference proceedings and presentations is a must-have resource for animal scientists, veterinarians, academicians, consultants and members of industry around the world
Tutorial: Choosing a research paper topic
After completing this tutorial, you will be able to:
- Find ideas and language on a topic using online tools and techniques
- Use techniques like mind mapping, the 5W’s, and freeform writing to narrow a large topic
Tutorial: Evaluating sources
After completing this tutorial, you will be able to:
- Recognize how evaluating sources is an important part of the research process
- Use evaluation techniques like timeliness and authority to find good sources
- Use clues from library databases, abstracts, and articles to evaluate a source
Preventing plagiarism
Use these tools and services to learn how to incorporate outside researchers' thoughts/concepts/words/phrases into your own work.
-
In-text Citations: APAThe structure (Last Name, Year) or Last Name (Year) tells your reader the origin of the surrounding information-- who wrote it and when it was published.
-
In-text Citations: MLAThe structure (Last Name, Page Number) or (Page Number) tells your reader the origin of the surrounding information-- who wrote it and which page the information can be found.
-
Student Writing SupportFree to students. Make online on in-person appointments to improve your writing skills.
What is a citation manager?
A citation manager is a software tool used to create personalized databases of citation information and notes. They allow you to:
- import and organize citation information from article indexes and other sources,
- export your citations into Word documents or other types of publications,
- format citations for your papers and bibliographies using APA and many other styles, and
- include your own notes.
Choosing a citation manager
Citation managers
| Feature | Zotero | Mendeley (not recommended) | EndNote 20 | EndNote Online |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cost | Free | Free | Price options | Free |
| Styles | Many citation styles | Many citation styles | Many citation styles | Fewer citation styles |
| Plug-ins | Microsoft Word, Google Docs | Microsoft Word (not compatible with UMN Office 365) | Microsoft Word | Microsoft Word |
| Access | Desktop/Web | Desktop/Web | Desktop/Web | Web |
| Storage | 300MB free | 2GB free | Unlimited | 2GB free |
| PDF reader | yes | yes | yes | no |
| Editor integration | Word, Google Docs | Word | Word | Word |
| Sharing | Unlimited | Limited | Unlimited | Limited |
| Support | Zotero support | Mendeley support | EndNote 20 support | EndNote Online support |
Last Updated: Aug 15, 2025 2:41 PM
URL: https://libguides.umn.edu/AGRO/ANSC/3203W