Related Guides
Make an appointment
Make a virtual appointment with the subject librarian, Kat Nelsen.
You will receive a Zoom link shortly after scheduling.
E-books from the syllabus
Virgin land: the American West as symbol and myth by ISBN: 9780674939554Publication Date: 1971-10-01
Firsting and lasting: Writing Indians out of existence in New England by ISBN: 9780816673674Publication Date: 2010-05-10
Articles from the syllabus
Library searching tip!
You can find some of the articles for the course through the databases listed below. To do a title search in the database, copy and paste the title of the article into the search box and put quotation marks around it. Adding the quotation marks tells the database that you want only results with those exact words in that exact order. It is important that everything is spelled correctly when you do a search using quotation marks.
- JSTORFind articles in American Quarterly and The Journal of American History up to 2016.
- Project MuseFind articles in American Quarterly 1996-2023 and Theory & Event 1997-2023.
Print books from the syllabus
Find sources and search article databases
- America: History and LifeAmerica: history and life provides historical coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present with over 2,000 journals including all key English-language historical journals. Limited to 6 simultaneous users.
- PAIS Index (Political Science and Public Policy)PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) searches journals and other sources on issues of political science and public policy. This includes government, politics, international relations, human rights and more.
- Literature OnlineFind literary criticism and scholarly articles on literature included in the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature and The MLA International Bibliography. It also includes an online full text library of literary reference resources and searchable full-text of over 300,000 works of English and American poetry, drama, and prose.
Newspapers, magazines, and general media
- Access World NewsFull-text news from over 9,000 news sources in the U.S. and international newspapers, major wire services, and hundreds of local broadcasting outlets and blogs. There are over 100 Minnesota sources. Mostly English language news coverage with some 200 titles in Spanish, French, Afrikaans and other languages.
- Ethnic NewsWatchEthnic NewsWatch is a current resource of full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press from 1990, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives.
- MasterFile CompleteSearch magazines, with a small number of journals and newspapers, covering a broad range of disciplines and topics. Includes photos and multimedia.
- U.S. Newsstream This link opens in a new windowSearch the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format.
Last Updated: Sep 14, 2023 1:46 PM
URL: https://libguides.umn.edu/AMST/8201