Intro to Incarceration and Reform Materials

This list details select research sources in the Social Welfare History Archives (SWHA) and the Immigration History Research Center Archives (IHRCA) relating to a variety of related topics. Specific topics include prisonsdeportationincarceration of Japanese Americans during World War II, the institutionalization of children and orphans, and reform efforts.

The following represents a sample of available source material and is not intended to be comprehensive. All research sources presented here are available for public research, by appointment, in the Elmer L. Andersen Library Reading Room. To make an appointment, or for more information, please visit the Migration and Social Services Collections website. To contact individual units, see the webpage or refer to the 'Collections' tab in this guide.

 

Guide prepared by: L. Anderson, E. Engseth & J. Hoehn. January 2016. Updated December 2016.

About the Migration and Social Services Collections

We are a group of four collaborative archives, located on the 3rd floor of Andersen Library at the University of Minnesota. Our expert staff, archival missions, and collections complement each other strongly. Each of us provides access to rich primary sources on the broad topics of peoples' experiences as they migrate to and within the U.S., and on social services, social reform, and the oldest social non-profit institution in the U.S.

We are part of the Archives and Special Collections department within the University Libraries. For more information on us, please explore our various webpages:

Last Updated: Mar 1, 2021 9:15 PM