Related guides
Make an appointment
Make a virtual appointment with the subject librarian, Kat Nelsen.
You will receive a Zoom link shortly after scheduling.
This guide is designed for new researchers who need to find articles, sources, and get started with research in topics related to American Indian Studies.
Start with:
Use multi-disciplinary databases to gain a broad understanding of your topic. Reference materials and books can also be helpful in the early stages of research.
-
Academic Search PremierA great place to start your research on any topic, search multidisciplinary, scholarly research articles. This database provides access to scholarly and peer reviewed journals, popular magazines and other resources. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.
-
JSTORFind full text articles in academic journals or books on the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences. JSTOR provides articles from the journal's first issue. In some cases the most recent 2-5 years may not be available. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.
-
Project MuseSearch for full-text journals in literary theory, classics, history and cultural studies, philosophy, film, theater and performing arts, political science, and mathematics.
Then try any of the following:
Use discipline-specific databases (like the ones below) to get precise information from scholarly journal articles related to your topic. Find more databases with journal articles for American Indian Studies research.
-
America: History and LifeAmerica: history and life provides historical coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present with over 2,000 journals including all key English-language historical journals. Limited to 6 simultaneous users.
-
Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North AmericaCovering all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life with 80,000+ citations for books, essays, journal articles, and government documents of the United States and Canada. This resource covers a wide range of topics including archaeology, multicultural relations, gaming, governance, legend, and literacy. Dates of coverage for included content range from the sixteenth century to the present.
-
MLA International BibliographyUse the MLA International Bibliography to find scholarly books and articles on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. This index has been compiled by the Modern Language Association of America since 1926.
Also check out:
Specialized databases like the ones listed below can help with finding popular and primary sources. From news, video, and other media to exploring primary sources and archives and government and legal information the library can help you find what you need.
-
Indigenous Histories and Cultures in North AmericaExplore manuscripts, artwork and rare printed books dating from the earliest contact with European settlers right up to photographs and newspapers from the mid-twentieth century. Browse through a wide range of rare and original documents from treaties, speeches and diaries, to historic maps and travel journals.
-
Indigenous Newspapers in North AmericaFrom historic pressings to contemporary periodicals, explore nearly 200 years of Indigenous print journalism from the US and Canada. With newspapers representing a huge variety in publisher, audience and era, discover how events were reported by and for Indigenous communities.
-
Indigenous Peoples Social Justice and CultureIncludes global coverage of recent and current digital-first primary sources such as blogs, magazines, videos, podcasts, tweets, newspapers, and other content created by and for Indigenous Peoples.
Last Updated: Aug 27, 2025 2:16 PM
URL: https://libguides.umn.edu/AmericanIndianStudies