Islamic Art and Architecture

Archnet is an open-access intellectual resource of photos, writings, timeline, and maps focused on architecture, urbanism, environmental and landscape design, visual culture, and conservation issues related to the Muslim world.

A virtual museum that explores Islamic art and material culture in the Mediterranean region. Artefacts, monuments, and sites span 1,280 years from 634 when the Muslim Arab armies first entered the Levant, to the fall of the Ottoman Empire at the beginning of the 20th century. The historical artefacts, monuments, and historical sites in the museum are located in Portugal, Spain, Italy, Morocco, Tunisia, Algeria, Egypt, Jordan, the Palestinian Authority, Syria, and Turkey with relevant objects from museum collections in Germany, Sweden, and the United Kingdom.

A digital collection of Islamic manuscripts, published texts, and maps from Harvard's libraries and museums.

An open-access archive with 2,106,162 items in their digital collections focused on modern history and culture of the Gulf and wider region. Formats of materials include letters, maps, photographs, manuscripts, illustrations, books, diaries, and more, dated between 900 CE to 1999.

An archive with over 4,000 images of architectural decoration, highlighting the patterns from the Islamic World. Digital collections include a series of slideshows presenting 50 selected images from a particular country or region, the main archive by region with images indexed by medium, location,a nd specific monuments. Additionally, there are drawings, diagrams and analyses, background notes, earlier published material, and a glossary and bibliography.

An open access digital library of Arabic language content established with support by NYU Abu Dhabi and major grants for mass digitization. The digital collections include 17,262 volumes across 10,148 subjects from distinguished research libraries.

A digital collection that features art from historically significant Muslim civilizations and contemporary Muslim communities around the world. The core of permanent collection was assembled by Prince Sadruddin Aga Khan (1933-2003) and uncle of His Highness, Prince Karim Aga Khan IV, creating the foundation to North America's first museum dedicated exclusively to Islamic Arts. Materials in the collection span from Spain and North Africa across the Middle East to South Asia.

An archive that has been collecting, studying, exhibiting, curating, and creating photography for the last 20 years in collaboration with artists, curators, researchers, and other institutions. Digital collections include more than 500,000 photographs taken by both amateur and professional photographers dating from 1860s to present day, spanning more than 50 countries.

A museum and library that features digital collections of ceramics, glass, manuscripts, metalwork, coins, and textiles, from Islamic communities. The library includes over 21,000 books on Islamic art, one of the largest collections in the region.