Have questions?
Contact me for research help on this subject.
Librarian
Finding reaction and property information for organic compounds
Reaction information
-
Essential Reagents for Organic SynthesisThis volume includes the 52 most widely used reagents in organic synthesis. Descriptions include a brief description of all important reactions for which the reagent is being used, including yields and reaction conditions, an overview of the physical properties of the reagent, its storage conditions, safe handling, laboratory synthesis and purification methods. Advantages and disadvantages of the reagent compared to alternative synthesis methods are also discussed.
-
Organic SynthesesOnline access to classic reference work giving detailed synthetic methods. Procedures are independently checked and safety warnings given if warranted. More recent entries tend to describe preparation of compound classes. Structure searchable.
-
Science of SynthesisScience of Synthesis is a compendium of evaluated synthetic methods for organic and organometallic chemistry. Science of Synthesis E-Book format (text but not structure-searchable) is available at https://www.thieme-connect.com/products.
The dynamic reaction and structure searchable database version of Science of Synthesis is available at https://sos.thieme.com. Individual titles can be found via searching Libraries Search or within the E-Book website by title.
We have access to the Science of Synthesis Backlist (2002 – 2008); Knowledge Updates (2009-2023); and Reference Libraries (2009-2015) (see Books tab). The Houben–Weyl Methods of Molecular Transformations Backfile (1909 -2001) is accessible via the Book Series tab. NB: many Houben-Weyl Archive articles are in German.
Chemical and physical property information
-
Tutorial: How to Find Chemical and Physical Property InformationFinding chemical and physical property data is not always easy because there is no one place where all types of data for all substances is located, and it is not always clear where to look or whether you have looked in the right places. This tutorial will show you how and where to search.
-
Merck Index: An Encyclopedia of Chemicals, Drugs, and BiologicalsClassic reference source for chemists with over 10,000 entries on drugs and pharmaceuticals, common organic chemicals and laboratory reagents. The entries include data such as chemical names, molecular formula, chemical structure, physical data, and literature references.
-
Properties of Organic CompoundsSubstructure-searchable database (with plug-in) that includes physical and spectral data and structures for more than 29,000 commonly-used organic compounds.
-
Property Data for Chemicals and MaterialsFind additional sources of chemical and physical property data, spectra, and thermodynamic properties as well as safety information.
-
SDBS (Spectral Database for Organic Compounds)Free online searchable database with spectral data for over 34,000 organic molecules for electron impact Mass spectrum (EI-MS), Fourier transform infrared (FT-IR), 1H and 13C nuclear magnetic resonance (NMR), laser Raman, and electron spin resonance (ESR)) spectra. Hosted by the National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology in Japan
Last Updated: Sep 30, 2025 3:43 PM
URL: https://libguides.umn.edu/CHEM/2302