College in the Schools - HIST 1307: Authority and Rebellion: American History to 1865

America: history and life provides historical coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present with over 2,000 journals including all key English-language historical journals. Limited to 6 simultaneous users.

Search U.S. newspapers from the 19th century (1800-1899) including access to every article, advertisement and illustration.

Includes Early American Newspapers Series 1 (1690-1876), 3 (1783-1922), 6 (1741-1922), 7 (1773-1922), and 18 (1825-1879). Spanning two centuries and 40 states, these archives of selective content from historical newspapers are primary sources for researching crucial conflicts from the Civil War to World War I, movements ranging from early states rights to women's suffrage, noteworthy citizens, local events, natural disasters; political campaigns; and the evolution of American culture.

A great place to start your research on any topic, search multidisciplinary, scholarly research articles. This database provides access to scholarly and peer reviewed journals, popular magazines and other resources. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.

Explore primary source documents covering American History from the earliest settlers to the mid-twentieth century. Sources include correspondence, diaries, government documents, business records, books, pamphlets, newspapers, broadsides, photographs, artwork and maps

Find historical documents, maps, chronology, posters, and primary sources on westward expansion in America from the early eighteenth (1700s) to the mid-twentieth century (1950s). Topics include railroads, pioneers, exploration, Canada, the Gold Rush, agriculture, prairie lands and more.

Frontier Life: Borderlands, Settlement & Colonial Encounters is a collection of digitized primary sources documenting European migration to and colonization of Africa, Australasia, and North America. It also documents the everyday life of settlers in these locations. Though the collection primarily consists of materials produced by British colonists and American settlers, it also includes some materials produced by the Indigenous peoples they displaced.

Explore manuscripts, artwork and rare printed books dating from the earliest contact with European settlers right up to photographs and newspapers from the mid-twentieth century. Browse through a wide range of rare and original documents from treaties, speeches and diaries, to historic maps and travel journals.

Find primary sources about gender history, from the 19th to 21st centuries. Primary sources include correspondence, newsletters, periodicals, organizational records, and diaries. Themes include sexuality, women's and men's movements, suffrage, the body, employment, education, family and domestic life, education and employment.

This digital collection documents key aspects of the history of slavery worldwide over six centuries, with 16 key areas of focus: slavery in the early Americas; African coast; the Middle Passage; slavery and agriculture; urban and domestic slavery; slave testimony; spiritualism and religion in slave communities; resistance and revolts; the Underground Railroad; the abolition movement and the slavery debate; legislation and politics; freed slaves, freedmen and free black settlements; education; slavery and the Islamic world; varieties of slave experience; slavery today and the legacy of slavery. The collection also includes case studies from America, the Caribbean, Brazil, and Cuba.