This guide is to introduce College in the Schools students taking SPAN 1003 and SPAN 1004 to library research.
Welcome to the University of Minnesota Libraries
Do you have your UMN Email (also called Internet ID or x.500)?
Initiating or claiming your account will give you access to thousands of online journals, magazines, newspapers and ebooks at the University of Minnesota Libraries. Your teacher may need to provide information to complete this step. Ask them.
Setting up DUO
You also need to set up Duo Authentication to get access to things like your UMN email and to use many of the research tools on the U Library website. The IT Technology online help can answer questions on this.
Tip: If you are unable to initiate your account you can find scholarly articles with Academic Search Premier, find background information on your topic with Encyclopedia Britannica Academic Edition and find Pro/Con arguments on current issues with Points of View Reference Center.
Sample of online dictionaries:
Pocket Oxford Spanish dictionary : English-Spanish by ISBN: 9780191735097Publication Date: 2012Offers definitions of more than 90,000 English and Spanish words and phrases, along with information on grammar, Spanish- and English-speaking countries, and sample letters and other communications.
Find sources:
- Hispanic American Periodicals IndexSearch scholarly journals published around the world on Latin America and the Caribbean since 1970 including political, economic, and social issues to the arts and humanities.
- MLA International BibliographyUse the MLA International Bibliography to find scholarly books and articles on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. This index has been compiled by the Modern Language Association of America since 1926.
- Handbook of Latin American Studies (HLAS)A bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, the multidisciplinary Handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities.
Get help from the U Libraries - Online!
- Peer Research ConsultantsMake an online 30 minute appointment for one-on-one peer assistance with your research. Get help with researching your topic, finding sources, citing sources and more. Peer Research Consultants can also help you get started with faculty-sponsored research.
- Chat 24/7 online with the LibrariesAsk us anything! Chat with a librarian, 24 hours a day, 7 days a week with any research or library questions.
- Meet with a librarianSchedule an online consultations for personalized research support primarily for University of Minnesota faculty, instructors, graduate and undergraduate students and staff.
Sample of online newspapers
- El País (1976-2019)Full web archive of this Spanish newspaper.
Last Updated: Aug 22, 2024 2:05 PM
URL: https://libguides.umn.edu/CIS/IntermediateSpanish