Review Me!
Search tools
- Academic Search PremierA great place to start your research on any topic, search multidisciplinary, scholarly research articles. This database provides access to scholarly and peer reviewed journals, popular magazines and other resources. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.
- Business Source PremierFind business articles from journals and magazines in marketing, management, information technology, operations, human resources, accounting, finance and economics dating back to 1965.
- CAB Abstracts Plus Full Text SelectCAB Abstracts covers agriculture in its broadest sense, including crop production, forestry, environment, animal health and nutrition, veterinary science, agricultural engineering, biotechnology, soil and water, agricultural economics, recreation and tourism, rural sociology, and human nutrition and health.
**Please Note: The publisher's most recent update of the CAB Abstracts database on February 1, 2024, created is causing searches of the database to return incomplete and/or fewer results than expected. Publisher is working to fix but indicates problem may be fully fixed before early April, 2024. - Communication and Mass Media CompleteSearch for journal articles on topics such as communication, mass media, film, television, marketing, business communication, health communication, and more.
- Pollution AbstractsCombines information on scientific research and government policies in a single resource. Topics are extensively covered from the standpoints of atmosphere, emissions, mathematical models, effects on people and animals, and environmental action in response to global pollution issues. Includes material from conference proceedings and hard-to-find documents, along with information from primary journals in the field. 1960-date
- Sociological AbstractsThis core database for the field of sociology contains information on sociology and social policy worldwide. Sociological Abstracts includes citations from the 1952-present. It provides abstracting and indexing of articles and book reviews drawn from thousands of journal publications, plus books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers, and working papers.
Background Research
- Communicating the environment to save the planet a journey into eco-communication byPublication Date: 2019This book, based on authoritative sources and reports, links environmental communication to different fields of competence: environment, sustainability, journalism, mass media, architecture, design, art, green and circular economy, public administration, big event management and legal language. The manual offers a new, scientifically based perspective, and adopts a theoretical-practical approach, providing readers with qualified best practices, case studies and 22 exclusive interviews with professionals
- The troubled rhetoric and communication of climate change: the argumentative situation byPublication Date: 2015The primary question motivating this work is the question of why public and political debates about climate change, particularly in the United States, are so intransigent and vitriolic. Eubanks takes the position that the intransigence and vitriol are not simply explained in moralistic terms; rather, he argues, “the argumentative situation is affected by numerous factors that are both less noticeable and more damaging than its all-too-evident hostility suggests” (3). The book’s goal, then, is to identify and analyze those “numerous factors.”
- The environment in the age of the Internet: Activists, communication, and the digital landscape byPublication Date: 2016The Environment in the Age of the Internet is an interdisciplinary collection that draws together research and answers from media and communication studies, social sciences, modern history, and folklore studies. Edited by Heike Graf, its focus is on the communicative approaches taken by different groups to ecological issues, shedding light on how these groups tell their distinctive stories of "the environment".
- CQ ResearcherCQ Researcher provides in-depth coverage of important issues of the day. Reports are written by experienced journalists, footnoted, and professionally fact-checked. Full-length articles include an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, plus resources for additional research. Shorter "Hot Topics" articles provide a solid introduction to subjects in demand.
- International Encyclopedia of CommunicationSearch online encyclopedia on communication studies, including theories, media and communication phenomena, research methods, problems, concepts, and geographical areas including interpersonal communication, journalism, intercultural and intergroup communication, media effects, strategic communication/PR, communication and media law and policy, media systems in the world, and communication and technology.
Tips on Interviewing and Scripting for Audio Reports
- CDC Audio Script Writing GuideThe CDC offers tips on scripting.
- Interviewing TipsHealey-Etten, V., & Sharp, S. (2010). Teaching Beginning Undergraduates How to Do an In-depth Interview: A Teaching Note with 12 Handy Tips. Teaching Sociology, 38(2), 157-165. Retrieved from http://www.jstor.org.ezp1.lib.umn.edu/stable/25677744
- NPR Project BlueprintNPR Training handout can help you organize your audio report.
- Script Writing for Narrative PodcastsFrom Learning Solutions.
- What I’ve Learned So Far about Interviewing for Video and Audio StoriesTips from a pro on how to prepare for, set-up and conduct interviews for audio or visual stories.
Last Updated: Jun 7, 2024 1:38 PM
URL: https://libguides.umn.edu/COMM/4250