Search the Libraries for books, journals, articles, media and more.

Find intro information

News from scientific societies

Physics Today from the American Institute of Physics

Physics World from the Institute of Physics

Astronomy & Geophysics from the Royal Astronomical Society

AAS Nova from the American Astronomical Society

Elements from the Geochemical Society

EOS from the American Geophysical Union

Geology Today from the Geologists' Association and the Geological Society of London

‚ÄčOptics and Photonics News from the Optical Society

Science writing and journalism

Scientific American 

American Scientist (library access to the archive: American Scientist)

Introduction sections

Look up original research articles on your topic but read the introduction section first. It will provide an overview of the topic. Keep track of the articles it cites too, and look up the references that might be useful.

Review articles

Annual Reviews are journals that publish review articles (overviews of a topic) only.

You can also search Web of Science or Scopus for a topic and filter results for review articles.

Off-campus access information

Article database shortcuts

Journal Shortcuts

Geophysical Research Letters Flagship journal of the American Geophysical Union.

Geochemica et Cosmochimica Acta Journal of the Geochemical Society.

The Astronomical Journal Journal of the American Astronomical Society

The Astrophysical Journal Journal of the American Astronomical Society

Nature Prominent interdisciplinary journal.

Science Another prominent interdisciplinary journal.

Find images and visual aids

Physical Science & Engineering


Astronomy
  • Apollo Image Atlas
    Comprehensive online collection of Apollo-Saturn mission photography from the Lunar and Planetary Institute, including 25,000 lunar images, both from orbit and from the moon's surface, as well as photographs of the earth, astronauts and mission hardware. Search by term or browse by Apollo craft, camera type, and much more.
  • Hubble Gallery
    Hubble Telescope images from the Space Telescope Science Institute; search for images by term of browse by categories including galaxies, solar system, nebulae, stars, the universe, and more.
  • NASA Images
    A new online archive of hundreds of thousands of NASA images.
  • Science Photo Library (SPL)
    "World's leading provider of science photos" 100,000 science, technology & industry, space & astronomy, history of science & medicine and more images
Physics
  • Berkeley Lab Images
    Particle physics images hosted by the University of California, Berkeley Lab.
  • NASA Images
    A new online archive of hundreds of thousands of NASA images.
  • Physics in Pictures (Physics Central)
    Physics in Pictures features exciting illustrations of nature's infinite variety and humankind's ingenuity. Each picture is accompanied by a brief explanation and links to a story on related current physics research.
Geography
  • David Ramsey Map Collections
    The historical map collection has over 22,000 maps and images online. The collection focuses on rare 18th and 19th century North American and South American maps and other cartographic materials.
  • Earth Science Photographic Library Archive
    The U.S. Geological Survey has a collection of over 400,000 taken in the process of doing geologic research in the United States and U.S. territories from 1868 to the present. These images document the discovery, development, and science in the U.S. done by the Geological Survey and its predecessors. This site provides online access to some of these photographs.
  • EROS Image Gallery
    The U.S. Geological Survey's EROS Data Center stores and distributes a variety of data, including cartographic, satellite, and aircraft data. Their image gallery includes Landsat and Shaded relief images of U.S. States and images from their Earth as Art displays.
  • Landsat Online Archive
    This site can be used to access images from the Landsat satellites, which have collected Earth observations and remote sensing imagery since 1972.
  • World Digital Library
    Created by UNESCO and the Library of Congress, the World Digital Library provides free online access to world cultural treasures. Includes manuscripts, maps, rare books, musical scores, recordings, films, prints, photographs, and architectural drawings from a variety of countries.
Geology
  • David Ramsey Map Collections
    The historical map collection has over 22,000 maps and images online. The collection focuses on rare 18th and 19th century North American and South American maps and other cartographic materials.
  • Earth Science Photographic Library Archive
    The U.S. Geological Survey has a collection of over 400,000 taken in the process of doing geologic research in the United States and U.S. territories from 1868 to the present. These images document the discovery, development, and science in the U.S. done by the Geological Survey and its predecessors. This site provides online access to some of these photographs.
  • EROS Image Gallery
    The U.S. Geological Survey's EROS Data Center stores and distributes a variety of data, including cartographic, satellite, and aircraft data. Their image gallery includes Landsat and Shaded relief images of U.S. States and images from their Earth as Art displays.
  • Landsat Online Archive
    This site can be used to access images from the Landsat satellites, which have collected Earth observations and remote sensing imagery since 1972.
  • NOAA Photo Library
    Weather and space images, images of the Earth's shores and coastal seas, and marine species images ranging from great whales to the most minute plankton. Search by term or browse by categories including the National Weather Service, fisheries, coral kingdom, and more.
Aerospace Engineering
  • http://nix.nasa.gov/
    NASA's images of aeronautics, aircraft, projects, the solar system and beyond, space flights, and more. Search or browse by category.
  • http://www.lpi.usra.edu/resources/apollo/
    Comprehensive online collection of Apollo-Saturn mission photography from the Lunar and Planetary Institute, including 25,000 lunar images, both from orbit and from the moon's surface, as well as photographs of the earth, astronauts and mission hardware. Search by term or browse by Apollo craft, camera type, and much more.
  • NASA Life Sciences Data Archive (LSDA)
    NASA's Life Sciences Data Archive (LSDA) contains information and data from human and non-human space flight experiments and related ground control studies funded by the National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA). This archive contains information about experiments conducted from NASA's first experiments during the 1960s to the present time. Information and data about space life sciences space flight experiments and missions can be retrieved and downloaded from a database called the Master Catalog. This site also includes an overview of life sciences missions and research, and the Digital Image Library - a searchable database of images from life sciences missions and experiments. A set of links to other sources of space life sciences information is also available under Related Resources.
  • NOAA Photo Library
    Weather and space images, images of the Earth's shores and coastal seas, and marine species images ranging from great whales to the most minute plankton. Search by term or browse by categories including the National Weather Service, fisheries, coral kingdom, and more.
Civil Engineering
  • Built in America
    The Historic American Buildings Survey (HABS), Historic American Engineering Record (HAER) and Historic American Landscapes Survey (HALS) from the Prints and Photographs Division of the Library of Congress, and part of American Memory

Organization and time management

Last Updated: Jul 28, 2020 11:17 AM