Have questions?
Contact me for research help on this subject.
Librarian
Example keywords and search terms
Use a variety of search terms and key words as you search. It will help you find relevant results. Learn more about keywords and developing a search strategy (3 minute video). Be aware of your keywords, words around diversity continue to evolve and change. As you look at interesting results or articles, use those terms in further searches.
- science education or science teaching or science learning
- elementary school or primary school or grade school
- culturally responsive teaching
- culturally responsive science pedagogy
- high school or secondary school
- middle school or junior high
- adolescents or teenagers or young adults
- equitable learning opportunities
- non-dominant groups
- ethnoscience
- diversity or multiculturalism
- diversity or equity or inclusion or edi or dei
- stem or science or technology or engineering or mathematics
- culture
- ethnicity or minority
- gender or women or female
Search journal, magazine, & newspaper articles
- Education SourceSearch full-text education journals covering all levels of education--from early childhood to higher education--as well as all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education and testing.
- Ethnic NewsWatchEthnic NewsWatch is a current resource of full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press from 1990, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives.
- Academic Search PremierA great place to start your research on any topic, search multidisciplinary, scholarly research articles. This database provides access to scholarly and peer reviewed journals, popular magazines and other resources. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.
- ERIC Education (Ebscohost)ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) is a database of full-text education literature and resources. With coverage dating back to 1966, it is essential for education researchers of all kinds.
- ScopusSearch for information from scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Covers the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
Sample of ebooks
Handbook of Research on Science Education by ISBN: 9781000828627Publication Date: 2023-03-17Volume III of this landmark synthesis of research offers a comprehensive, state-of-the-art survey highlighting new and emerging research perspectives in science education. Building on the foundations set in Volumes I and II, Volume III provides a globally minded, up-to-the-minute survey of the science education research community and represents the diversity of the field. Each chapter has been updated with new research and new content, and Volume III has been further developed to include new and expanded coverage on astronomy and space education, epistemic practices related to socioscientific issues, design-based research, interdisciplinary and STEM education, inclusive science education, and the global impact of nature of science and scientific inquiry literacy.
Evidence-based inquiries in ethno-STEM research : investigations in knowledge systems across disciplines and transcultural settings by ISBN: 9781648021176Publication Date: 2021"The purpose of the edited volume is to provide an international lens to examine evidence-based investigations in Ethno-STEM research: Ethno-science, Ethno-technology, Ethno-engineering, and Ethno-mathematics. These themes grew out of multi-national, multi-institutional and multi-disciplinary efforts to preserve as well as epitomize the role that Indigenous Knowledge Systems (IKS) play in cognitive development and its vital contributions to successful and meaningful learning in conventional and non-conventional contexts. Principled by the Embodied, Situated, and Distributed Cognition (ESDC), this innovative book will provide evidence supporting the embeddedness of a thinking-in-acting model as a fundamental framework that explains and supports students' acquisition of scientific knowledge. So often 'western' science curricula are experienced as irrelevant, since it does not take cognizance of the daily experiences and world in which the learner finds himself. This book takes a socio-cultural look at IKS and applies research in neuroscience to make a case its incorporation in the STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics) classroom.
Debates in Science Education by ISBN: 9781003137894Publication Date: 2022-11-23This fully revised second edition of Debates in Science Education explores the major issues that science teachers encounter in teaching their subject, encouraging the reader to make their own informed judgements and argue their point of view with deeper theoretical knowledge and understanding. Brand new chapters written by a team of international experts provide fresh insight into topics of central importance when teaching science. Written to aid and inspire beginning teachers, current teachers and established subject leaders, these focused chapters are essential to anyone wishing to deepen their understanding of salient issues within school science education, including: STEAM education; sustainability and climate change; science and sensitive issues; equity and diversity; science and sex education; science and religion; science and pedagogy (including science inquiry); transition from primary to secondary school. Encouraging critical reflection and aiming to stimulate both novice and experienced teachers, this book is a valuable resource for any student or practicing teacher and particularly those engaged in continuing professional development or Master's level study.
Culturally Responsive Science Pedagogy in Asia by ISBN: 9781003168706Publication Date: 2022-09-01Science learning, for many, is often seen as learning a culture of science knowledge and practices that is incongruent from one's everyday experiences and cultural background of learners. This edited volume presents a systemic view of the current initiatives and challenges for the inclusion of culturally responsive science pedagogy (CRSP) in non-Western and multicultural contexts in three Asian countries - Malaysia, Indonesia and Japan. Split into three parts, the book examines the history and current educational systems, curriculums and sociocultural diversities in each country, offering an updated review of equity in education. It reflects and expands on the role of CRSP in diverse societies before going into case studies that feature the experiences of teachers in implementing CRSP in Malaysia, Indonesia and Japan. These snapshots reflect the multiple ways equity is addressed in the teaching and learning of science in these Asian countries, allowing readers to extrapolate the possible challenges and best practices for designing and implementing CRSP in practice. The final section examines how these findings provide a sustainable platform for building capacity in understanding the cultural complexities and realities of recruiting and retaining diverse students into science. One of few books to investigate the role of CRSP in diverse societies in Malaysia, Indonesia and Japan, this book makes a unique contribution to the field of science education with reference to culturally responsive pedagogy. Its strategies and solutions serve as an important comprehensive reference for researchers and science teacher educators.
Get help from the U Libraries - Online!
- Peer Research ConsultantsMake an online 30 minute appointment for one-on-one peer assistance with your research. Get help with researching your topic, finding sources, citing sources and more. Peer Research Consultants can also help you get started with faculty-sponsored research.
- Chat 24/7 online with the LibrariesAsk us anything! Chat with a librarian, 24 hours a day, 7 days a week with any research or library questions.
- Meet with a librarianSchedule an online consultations for personalized research support primarily for University of Minnesota faculty, instructors, graduate and undergraduate students and staff.
Makerspaces: creation and innovation hubs
Libraries Makerspaces are open to UMN folks from all majors, programs, and skill levels. Equipment and materials are always free for UMN students, staff, and faculty.
You'll find 3D printers, smart cutters for vinyl stickers and other materials, soldering irons, sewing machines, VR headsets, rotary tools, and software for 3D modelling and embroidery design. Plus, basic supplies for prototyping and crafting.
Our Libraries makerspaces in the basement of Walter Library and the Health Sciences Library provide equipment, materials, training, and tools to promote innovation and creativity. The spaces are free to all UMN faculty, students, faculty, and staff. Learners at all skill levels can visit the makerspaces to explore new technologies, attend workshops, and receive guidance on designs and tools.
The Libraries Virtual Reality (VR) Studio fosters curiosity and creativity by offering course-specific events, workshops, consultations, and open hours for projects and exploration. Our curated collection of VR and 3D spatial experiences cover many subjects, from anatomy and empathy to product design.
Toaster Innovation Hub promotes multi-disciplinary collaboration in service to innovation and entrepreneurship. The Toaster is here to spark conversation and ideation and move your ideas from concept to launch. Drop in for collaborative workshops, events, or one-on-one coaching. Connect with fellow students at our group meeting spaces or tinker, create, and prototype.
Last Updated: Jul 16, 2024 9:20 AM
URL: https://libguides.umn.edu/GCC/3026