International coverage of social media, commercial applications, online gaming, law and policy, and the development of communication technologies. A Wiley-Blackwell encyclopedia published in conjunction with the International Communication Association.
A great place to start your research on any topic, search multidisciplinary, scholarly research articles. This database provides access to scholarly and peer reviewed journals, popular magazines and other resources.
Search millions of newspapers, business magazines, and newswires with international and foreign language coverage with all editions of the Wall Street Journal. Financial information for publicly traded companies, stocks, funds, currencies, and common market indexes. Limited to 7 simultaneous users.
A comprehensive interdisciplinary collection of journal article citations. Subjects generally covered are within science and technology, arts and humanities, and social sciences.
Trust and Technology in a Ubiquitous Modern Environment by Dominika Latusek (Editor); Alexandra Gerbasi (Editor)
Publication Date: 2010-04-30
In the past decade, trust has gained a prominent place at the center of academic scholarship in the social sciences.Trust and Technology in a Ubiquitous Modern Environment: Theoretical and Methodological Perspectives provides a variety of theoretical perspectives on the topics of trust and technology, as well as some empirical investigations into the trust-building, trust-maintenance, and trust-destroying practices in the context of technology. It presents research positioned at the intersection of the issues of trust within and between individuals, and organizations, and technology under various guises, for example, high-tech work environments, computer-mediated communication, and the Internet as a business environment.
Emotions, Technology, and Behaviors by Sharon Y. Tettegah (Editor); Dorothy L. Espelage (Editor)
Publication Date: 2015-10-26
Exploring the connections between technology, emotions, and behaviors is increasingly important as we spend more and more time online and in digital environments. Technology, Emotions, and Behavior explains the role of technology in the evolution of both emotions and behaviors, and their interaction with each other. It discusses emotion modeling, distraction, and contagion as related to digital narrative and virtual spaces. It examines issues of trust and technology, behaviors used by individuals who are cut off from technology, and how individuals use technology to cope after disasters such as Hurricane Sandy. Technology, Emotions and Behaviors ends by exploring the construct of empathy and perspective-taking through online videos and socially shared activities. Practitioners and researchers will find this text useful in their work. Reviews the intersection between emotional contagion and emotional socialization theory in virtual interactions Examines cross-cultural communicative feedback Discusses the multi-dimensions of trust in technology Covers "digilante" rhetoric and its emotional appeal Devotes an entire section to cyberbullying
Trust in Social Media by Jiliang Tang; Huan Liu
Publication Date: 2015-09-23
Social media greatly enables people to participate in online activities and shatters the barrier for online users to create and share information at any place at any time. However, the explosion of user-generated content poses novel challenges for online users to find relevant information, or,
Libraries & online resources available during COVID-19
COVID has affected access to library locations and resources, read our FAQ.