Search databases for articles and statistics
- Bibliography of Asian StudiesSearch topics, especially in the humanities and the social sciences, on East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide. You can also find citations to journal articles, chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, anthologies, and more.
- PAIS Index (Political Science and Public Policy)PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) searches journals and other sources on issues of political science and public policy. This includes government, politics, international relations, human rights and more.
- Historical AbstractsFind journal articles covering world history from 1450 to the present. Limited to 6 simultaneous users.
- Sociological AbstractsThis core database for the field of sociology contains information on sociology and social policy worldwide. Sociological Abstracts includes citations from the 1952-present. It provides abstracting and indexing of articles and book reviews drawn from thousands of journal publications, plus books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers, and working papers.
- China Data Online This link opens in a new windowFrom the China Data Center at the University of Michigan, this database has current and historical statistics on population and economics at the national, provincial and local level.
Search Chinese publications
- Duxiu DatabaseKnown as Chinese Google Scholar, Duxiu is a large digital collection of Chinese language materials. It provides full-text search capability to millions of Chinese scholarly resources in many subjects and formats (books, journals, newspapers, patents, standards, dissertations, conference proceedings, etc.) Users may read book excerpts online. Document delivery via email is available for some publications. While full text is not always available due to copyright restrictions, Duxiu is a useful tool for obtaining bibliographic information for primary and secondary sources.
- CNKI-China Knowledge Resource Integrated DatabaseChina National Knowledge Infrastructure includes Chinese Academic Journal database and Century Journals Project. Search 2424 titles of journals in History/Literature/Philosophy and Education & Social Sciences since 1994. Century Journals Project (CJP) contains many of those titles and extends our access from 1913 to 1993.
- People's DailyAccess is limited for 2 simultaneous users.
People's Daily is the most influential and authoritative newspaper in China. It is the official voice of the central government of the People's Republic of China for the last 71 years, the People's Daily has published daily issues that provide the single location where the central government and the Communist Party of China announce their respective policies and disseminate governmental, political, and economic messages to the public and the world.
Sample of online books
- Power Versus Law in Modern China : cities, courts, and the Communist Party byISBN: 9780813173931Publication Date: 2017-11-15Today 700 million Chinese citizens -- more than fifty-four percent of the population -- live in cities. The mass migration of rural populations to urban centers increased rapidly following economic reforms of the 1990s, and serious problems such as overcrowding, lack of health services, and substandard housing have arisen in these areas since. China's urban citizens have taken to the courts for redress and fought battles over failed urban renewal projects, denial of civil rights, corruption, and abuse of power.In Power versus Law in Modern China, Qiang Fang and Xiaobing Li examine four important legal cases that took place from 1995 to 2013 in the major cities of Wuhan, Xuzhou, Shanghai, and Chongqing. In these cases, citizens protested demolition of property, as well as corruption among city officials, developers, and landlords; but were repeatedly denied protection or compensation from the courts. Fang and Li explore how new interest groups comprised of entrepreneurs and Chinese graduates of Western universities have collaborated with the CCP-controlled local governments to create new power bases in cities. Drawing on newly available official sources, private collections, and interviews with Chinese administrators, judges, litigants, petitioners, and legal experts, this interdisciplinary analysis reveals the powerful and privileged will most likely continue to exploit the legal asymmetry that exists between the courts and citizens.
- The Road to the Rule of Law in Modern China byISBN: 9783662456378Publication Date: 2015-01-27This book is a grand review of the centurial development of rule of law in China. It covers the most important issues in this area and presents "political constitution," a new interpretative framework that allows the Chinese experience of rule of law to be more fully and correctly expressed. It is especially useful to scholars involved in the study of modern China. The main chapters of this book include: The Constituent Movement in the Late Qing Dynasty; The Xinhai (1911) Revolution; Constitution-making at the Beginning of the Republic of China; The Great Revolution in the 1920s; The Rise of the Party State and its Transition; The Founding of 1949 New China and its Early Constitutional Development; and The Dualist System of Rule of Law in the Reforming Times.
- Underglobalization : Beijing's Media Urbanism and the Chimera of Legitimacy byISBN: 147800763XPublication Date: 2020-03-06Despite China's recent emergence as a major global economic and geopolitical power, its association with counterfeit goods and intellectual property piracy has led many in the West to dismiss its urbanization and globalization as suspect or inauthentic. In Underglobalization Joshua Neves examines the cultural politics of the "fake" and how frictions between legality and legitimacy propel dominant models of economic development and political life in contemporary China. Focusing on a wide range of media technologies and practices in Beijing, Neves shows how piracy and fakes are manifestations of what he calls underglobalization--the ways social actors undermine and refuse to implement the specific procedures and protocols required by globalization at different scales. By tracking the rise of fake politics and transformations in political society, in China and globally, Neves demonstrates that they are alternate outcomes of globalizing processes rather than anathema to them.
East Asian Library (in Wilson Library)
- East Asian LibraryCollection, in Wilson Library, focused on Chinese, Japanese, and Korean language materials, serving the instructional and research needs of the East Asian studies and more.
Last Updated: Mar 31, 2023 1:19 PM