- MedlinePlusMedlinePlus is a consumer health database that has extensive information from the National Institutes of Health and other trusted sources on over hundreds of diseases and conditions. There are also lists of hospitals and physicians, a medical encyclopedia and dictionaries, health information in Spanish, extensive information on prescription and nonprescription drugs, health information from the media, and links to thousands of clinical trials.
Resources for learning about conditions
- DynaMedProvides general medical information on conditions. Search for a diagnosis and select the monograph. Then use the left sidebar to navigate to sections of interest. General Information, Management, and Guidelines and Resources will be especially helpful. You may want to start with the Patient Information section, as that will link to sources written in lay language.
- Clinical KeyGateway site to a range of sources including books and journal articles. Search for a condition, then use left sidebar to filter to areas of interest. Specialties: Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation may be useful, as can Source Type: Narrative Reviews
- Nelson Textbook of PediatricsPublication Date: 2019Core textbook of pediatrics. The link brings you to the record in the Library catalog; click "Online Access" or " Elsevier ClinicalKey Books" to access.
- SPORT DiscusThe world's most comprehensive bibliographic resources for all aspects of sport and fitness. Includes websites, conference papers, journal articles, unpublished papers and theses. It also includes Full-text access to over 350 journals. Limited to 8 simultaneous users.
- PubMedSearches MEDLINE, which is the primary source of journal articles for the health sciences (fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, public health, health care systems, and basic sciences). Coverage is from the 1940s to the present. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.
- Academic Search PremierA great place to start your research on any topic, search multidisciplinary, scholarly research articles. This database provides access to scholarly and peer reviewed journals, popular magazines and other resources. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.
- Google Scholar (Setup connection to get to PDFs)Use Google Scholar to find articles from academic publishers, professional societies, research institutes, and scholarly repositories from colleges and universities. If you are using from off-campus access, change the "Library Settings" to University of Minnesota Twin Cities. Look for the "FindIt@U of M Twin Cities" links in your Google Scholar search results to access full text and PDFs. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.
Other databases to try
- PEDro, the Physiotherapy Evidence DatabasePEDro is a free database of over 49,000 trials, reviews and guidelines evaluating physiotherapy interventions.
- CINAHL (Nursing & Allied Health)Covers nursing and allied health journal articles, book chapters, and dissertations, as well as providing summarized evidence-based resources such as care sheets and quick lessons.
Last Updated: Aug 30, 2022 1:57 PM