Library Research Checklist

Identify and define your topic; know what you are looking for.

Take the time to write down your topic in the form of a question and consider it from all angles. Try to be specific about what it is you want to discover about your topic. Then break out key ideas or concepts.  One method to try is PICO, which stands for P (patient/problem/population); I (intervention/treatment); C (comparison to the intervention/treatment or control) and O (outcome).

Find background information on your topic (retrospective research).

Use textbooks, encyclopedias, dictionaries, directories and other guides to help you set the context of your research.

Make a list of keywords and phrases that describe the concepts of your topic. These should include synonyms, variations in spelling (US vs UK), word endings (singular, plural), variant terminology (electrocardiograms, electrocardiography, ECG, EKG), and related terms/concepts (cataract extraction, intraocular lens implantation).

Set parameters for your search.

Combine keywords and phrases using terms such as "OR" and "AND" (known as Boolean operators) to broaden or narrow your search results. Apply limits and filters to narrow your search, for example a date range, or language. A date limit may be helpful, particularly when a search retrieves too many results. Date limits may also be helpful if your question involves more recent technology or practice (e.g., ""digital hearing aids", "telepractice"). You can also limit by publication type, such as randomized control trials, case studies, etc.

Stay organized.

Write down or keep track of the key terms searched, the databases used, and the search parameters applied. Keep track of your search results. This will help you identify the most effective search terms, eliminate duplicate citations, and ultimately save you time.  

Explore various resources (primary, secondary and tertiary) to find information on your topic.

Search article indexes to find journal articles on your topic. Search in broad interdisciplinary indexes like Libraries Search, but don’t forget to make use of subject specific databases, as well. Article indexes are sources of both primary and secondary resources. 

Use Libraries Search to also find books, government reports, printed statistical material and other resources (both print and electronic).

Search the Internet for unique, authoritative, web-based resources. Statistical information and data sets are often available on government websites, for example.

Evaluate what you find.

Take a look at your results. Are you finding too much or too little on your topic? Refine your topic if necessary to either broaden or narrow its scope. You may need to try different resources or terms, or look into article indexes that you had passed over earlier. Talk to a librarian to set up a reference consultation if you need help.

Don’t forget to properly cite what you find.

Keep detailed notes about what you find and where you found it. Citation managers like Mendeley, Zotero and EndNote can help you manage citations, insert properly formatted citations into papers, and generate bibliographies.

Use this guide to help distinguish between scholarly vs. popular journals/magazines:

Infographic from Ebsco on the differences between Academic Journals vs. Trade Publications vs. Magazines

One of the fundamental skills required for EBP is identifying the question you want to answer. This is very important because the more you understand your question the more likely you are to obtain relevant results. By formulating an answerable question it allows you to focus your efforts specifically on what matters. These questions are usually triggered by patient encounters which generate questions about the diagnosis, therapy, prognosis or etiology.

The process of formulating a good search question is known in evidence-based practice as “the well-built clinical question.” One way of building your search question starts with the patient and is known as PICO

One of the fundamental skills required for EBP is identifying the question you want to answer. This is very important because the more you understand your question the more likely you are to obtain relevant results. By formulating an answerable question it allows you to focus your efforts specifically on what matters. These questions are usually triggered by patient encounters which generate questions about the diagnosis, therapy, prognosis or etiology.

The process of formulating a good search question is known in evidence-based practice as “the well-built clinical question.” One way of building your search question starts with the patient and is known as PICO.

PICO overview

A well-built clinical question includes the following components:

• The patient’s or population’s disorder or disease or problem of interest
  • Who or what is the question about? This may include the primary problem, disease, or circumstances. Sometimes the sex, age, or ethnic group of a patient might be relevant to the diagnosis or treatment of a disease.
• The intervention or finding under review
  • What main intervention or treatment are you considering? What factor may influence the prognosis of the patient, such as age or comorbidities? What was the patient exposed to?
• A comparison intervention or control  -- if applicable – not all questions require a comparison
  • What alternative intervention are you considering, if any? For example, you might be comparing the efficacy of two therapies or the accuracy of two diagnostic tests. Your clinical question does not have to always have a specific comparison.
• The outcome
  • What are you trying to accomplish or measure? What are you trying to do for the patient or problem? Examples might include managing a disease, alleviating symptoms, improving quality of life, etc.
• T - Timeframe – another optional component
  • What's the amount of time that you'll be observing the patient or problem. For example, improving rates of hospital-acquired infections over the course of a year.

Quick Tip: 

• There is no one "correct" way to construct a PICO question. Your clinical question should include elements specific to each client's unique circumstances and values.

7 Steps to the Perfect PICO Search (Ebsco)