Need some help?
Librarian
Katherine Chew
Contact:
5-110 Phillips Wangensteen
516 Delaware Street SE
Minneapolis, MN 55455
516 Delaware Street SE
Minneapolis, MN 55455
612-626-3017
Website
This course page provides a variety of resources for understanding the business side of the funeral business
PubMed search
Resume Writing
Textbook resources owned by the U Libraries. The majority of are ebooks.
- Enelow, Kursmark, Kursmark, Louise, (2010). Expert resumes for career changers (2nd ed., Expert Resumes). Indianapolis, IN: JIST Pub.
- Wallwork, A. (2014). CVs, resumes, and LinkedIn : A guide to professional English (Guides to professional English). New York: Springer.
- Business English for Success. (2011). (This on is an open textbook)
- Hinds, M. (2016). The Vault guide to resumes and job-hunting skills : A step-by-step guide to preparing for your job search (Second ed., Vault career intelligence). New York: Vault.
Online Resources
- Resume Writing Tips https://careerwise.minnstate.edu/jobs/resumes.html (from Minnesota State)
- How to Write a Masterpiece of a Resume (commercial source, but good content)
Resources from UofM
- Resumes, CVs, and Cover Letters (School of Public Health)
- Resumes (CEHD)
- Undergraduate Resume (College of Science & Engineering)
- Graduate Resume & CV (College of Science & Engineering)
- Resume Writing (from CCAPS, CEes & CFANS)
- Resume Writing Guide (from College of Liberal Arts)
Business Communication
Ebooks owned by the U Libraries
Networking (business networking)
- Thilenius, Pahlberg, Havila, Thilenius, Peter, Pahlberg, Cecilia, & Havila, Virpi. (2016). Extending the business network approach : New territories, new technologies, new terms. New York, NY: Palgrave Macmillan.
- Peris-Ortiz, Ferreira, Peris-Ortiz, Marta, & Ferreira, João J. (2017). Cooperative and Networking Strategies in Small Business. (Innovation, technology, and knowledge management). Cham: Springer.
- Levine, A. (2015). Networking for nerds : Find, access and land hidden game-changing career opportunities everywhere. Hoboken, New Jersey: Wiley Blackwell.
Communication Process
- Business Communication for Success. (2015). (open textbook)
Online Resources
Networking (business networking)
Communication Process
- What Is Communication?
- Face-To-Face Communication Module
- How the Communication Process Works (YouTube video 7:34 min)
Business Plans and Strategic Management
Ebooks owned by the U Libraries
- Gale Research Inc, & Gale. (1995). Business Plans Handbook : A Compilation of Actual Business Plans Developed by Small Businesses throughout North America. (access to yearly handbooks up to 2017) (online)
- Swanson, L., & Open Textbook Library distributor. (2017). Business Plan Development Guide. (ebook)
- Pinson, L., & Ebrary, Inc. (2014). Anatomy of a business plan : The step-by-step guide to building your business and securing your company's future (Eighth ed.). Tustin, CA: Out of Your Mind ... and Into the Marketplace. (ebook)
- May, G. (2010). Strategic planning : Fundamentals for small business. New York: Business Expert Press.
- Diderich, C. (2020). Design Thinking for Strategy : Innovating Towards Competitive Advantage (Management for professionals). Cham: Springer.
- Spencer, B., & Ebrary, Inc. (2013). Business model design and learning : A strategic guide. New York, N.Y.] (222 East 46th Street, New York, NY 10017): Business Expert Press.
- Sellars, D., & Safari Books Online. (2009). Business plan project : A step-by-step guide to writing a business plan. New York: Business Expert Press.
Online Resources
Some of these resources are from commercial sites, so will contain ads.
- Skripak, Stephen J. (2018). Fundamentals of Business, 2nd Edition, Blacksburg, VA: VT Publishing.
- open textbook -- includes chapters on forms of business ownership, human resources, accounting, ethics, pricing and more).
- A Sample Funeral Home Business Plan Template
- What is a Business Plan? - Bplans Explains Everything YouTube Video(3:25)
- Feasibility Studies and Business Plans: Their Role in Planning for Success
- 9 Steps to Business Success (Key Takeaways from The Funeral Service Plan conference)
- Business Ethics Resource Center (University of St. Thomas)
- website offers free practical tools and information tailored to help businesses develop resilient and ethical organizations.
- SWOT Analysis - What is SWOT? Definition, Examples and How to Do a SWOT Analysis YouTube Video (6:27 min)
Government Business Resources
Minnesota Government Resources
- Start a business (Office of the Minnesota Secretary of State). Includes links to many resources and templates
-
A Guide to Starting a Business in Minnesota (Small Business Administration Office, Minnesota Department of Employment & Economic Development.
-
A concise summary discussion of major issues, questions and concerns that are most commonly raised by those contemplating a business startup. Updated annually.
-
Federal Business Resources
- Small Business Administration
- Business Guide (plan, launch, manage, grow)
- Learning Center (online courses)
- Minnesota District Center
Databases
Industry Reports
- HooversIncludes information on more than 162 million businesses, both public and private, around the world. Business data includes Annual Revenues, Employee Counts, Corporate Family Tree, Key Contacts, Analyst Reports, SWOT reports, stock data, financials and other vital information. Important note: downloading company lists is not available on the academic subscription.
- IBIS World (Business)Search industry reports for the United States, Canada, China, and global topics. Each report provides an overall current picture of an industry, including overviews, leading companies, sales information, and authoritative sources for researching hundreds of industries. Includes Business Environmental Profiles that summarize key drivers for industries in the U.S.
- Statista This link opens in a new windowStatista provides statistical data on many topics including media, business, politics, society, technology and education. Sources include market reports, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases. Data can be accessed by searching or browsing by industry, topic, country, digital market or infographic. The Global Consumer Survey offers a global perspective on consumption and media usage, covering the offline and online world of the consumer. It is designed to help marketers, planners and product managers understand consumer behavior and consumer interactions with brands.
Article databases (for marketing/business)
- The MorgueThe Morgue attempts to provide students, scholars and researchers with an on-line tool specifically targeted at the literature in field of Mortuary Science.The database can be searched by subject heading by scrolling through the subjects indexed list. The database can be searched by author's name by scrolling through the authors indexed list. Covers 30 English language journals within the field of Mortuary Science. Years 1997-present (not all journals all years).
- Business Source PremierFind business articles from journals and magazines in marketing, management, information technology, operations, human resources, accounting, finance and economics dating back to 1965.
- Academic Search PremierA great place to start your research on any topic, search multidisciplinary, scholarly research articles. This database provides access to scholarly and peer reviewed journals, popular magazines and other resources. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.
- Business Information WebsiteFind quick access to all of the business resources and databases on this homepage along with news, events, research guides, and video tutorials.
APA Style
APA Style (American Psychological Association)
- Books
- Concise guide to APA style : The official APA style guide for students. (Seventh ed.).
- Student Paper Types, Elements, and Format -- Writing Style and Grammar -- Bias-Free Language Guidelines -- Punctuation, Lists, and Italics -- Spelling, Capitalization, and Abbreviations -- Numbers and Statistics -- Tables and Figures -- Works Credited in Text -- Reference List -- Reference Examples -- Index.
- Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association
- The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (7th edition) is the style manual of choice for writers, editors, students, educators, and professionals in psychology, sociology, business, economics, nursing, social work, and justice administration.
- Concise guide to APA style : The official APA style guide for students. (Seventh ed.).
- Internet Resources
- APA 7th Quick guides
- Monash University
- APA Format Citation Guide
- Mendeley.com
- APA Formatting And Style Guide (7th ed.)
- OWL Online Writing Lab, Purdue University.
- APA Quick Citation Guide
- Penn State University Libraries
- Academic Writer Tutorial: Basics of Seventh Edition APA Style
- From the American Psychological Association.
This tutorial is designed for those who have no previous knowledge of APA Style®. It shows users how to structure and format their work, recommends ways to reduce bias in language, identifies how to avoid charges of plagiarism, shows how to cite references in text, and provides selected reference examples.
- From the American Psychological Association.
- Bow Valley College Guide to APA Style
- Bow Valley College, California.
Covers all aspects of APA style. Includes online tutorials and a set of FAQs
- Bow Valley College, California.
- APA 7th Quick guides
- Business Specific APA Style Resources
- APA 7th ed. citation for business sources
- Schemm, N., Dellenbach, M., Grisham, Z., Hageman, M., Tingle, N., Trowbridge, M., & Wheatley, A. (2020). APA 7th ed. citation for business sources.
- A grassroots effort undertaken by several business librarians in early summer 2020, to provide examples for a variety of business sources. Includes citation examples for business reports, articles, profiles, data and more.
- Schemm, N., Dellenbach, M., Grisham, Z., Hageman, M., Tingle, N., Trowbridge, M., & Wheatley, A. (2020). APA 7th ed. citation for business sources.
- APA Style for Online Business Resources
- University of Wisconsin-Madison
- • Business Reports -- APA 7th Edition
- Concordia University
- Citing Business Databases & Government Data in APA Format / Citing Tables, Graphs, & Maps in APA Style (business and economic data examples)
- Steve Cramer, UNC Greensboro
- Sample Business Report, APA Style (Spencer) - APA 6th ed.
- Hacker Handbooks (Boston: Bedford/St. Martin’s, 2007). This paper follows the style guidelines in the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 6th ed. (2010).<
- APA 7th ed. citation for business sources
Last Updated: Jul 6, 2023 3:35 PM
URL: https://libguides.umn.edu/MORT/3012W