Need some help?
Librarian
Katherine Chew
Contact:
5-110 Phillips Wangensteen
516 Delaware Street SE
Minneapolis, MN 55455
516 Delaware Street SE
Minneapolis, MN 55455
612-626-3017
Website
This course page provides a variety of demographic, psychographic, marketing and merchandising data and statistics
PubMed search
Marketing / Industry Resources
Marketing / Advertising / Industry Information
Website Design / Development
-
Berkely Extension - How to Create a Website From Scratch (Step-By-Step Beginner’s Guide)
-
Section508.gov - Guide to Accessible Web Design & Development
-
Usability.gov - Research-Based Web Design & Usability
-
Digital.gov - A Guide to Creating Mobile-Friendly Websites: Five tactics for improving the performance of your website
-
Federal Trade Commission - Shopping for funeral services online : an FTC staff review of funeral provider websites. (October 2022)
Live Streaming
-
Business News Daily - How to Market Your Business With Video Livestreaming
-
Flux Panda - Live Streaming Marketing [Basics & Best Practices]
-
FTC (Federal Trade Commission) - FTC's Endorsement Guides: What People Are Asking
-
Liu, F., Wang, Y., Dong, X., & Zhao, H. (2022). Marketing by live streaming: How to interact with consumers to increase their purchase intentions. Frontiers in psychology, 13, 933633
-
Everlasting Memories - How to live stream a funeral: the ultimate guide to honoring your loved one from anywhere.
Online Advertising
- WordStream - Online Advertising: How to Create Effective Online Ad Campaigns
- FTC - Online Advertising and Marketing
- Small Business Administration (SBA) - Marketing and sales
- Southern New Hampshire University - From SEO to Social Media: What Are the 8 Types of Digital Marketing?
- Johnson & Wales University - Digital Marketing 101: Your Complete Guide
- Vista-print - Digital advertising 101: beginner’s guide to advertising online
Social Media
- BrandWatch - 99 Amazing Social Media Statistics and Facts
- Digital.gov – Social media
- Funeral Directors Life - 3 Keys to Social Media Success for Funeral Homes
- Homesteaders Life Company -
Target Marketing
- Hootsuite - What Is a Target Market (And How to Find Yours)
- Qualtrics - Market segmentation: Definition, types, benefits, & best practices
- Product Marketing Alliance - Market segment vs. target market: What's the real difference?
- Principles of Marketing - Chapter 5: Market segmenting, targeting and positioning (Principles of marketing. (2015). University of Minnesota Libraries Publishing.)
Logo design
- How to design a logo [step by step guide]
- Note: very nice step by step. Does include a download link for templates that requires registration.
- How to design a logo
- Very detailed, but easy to understand about the process of designing a logo and what goes into it.
- Review site for free logo makers. : best free logo makers 2021
- Review site for free logo makers. 18 best logo design companies to consider in 2024
Funeral Marketing
- LendingUSA - Funeral Home Marketing Strategies & Advertising Ideas
- funeralOneBlog - The Ultimate Guide to Funeral Marketing (50 Ideas To Try Today)
- Homesteaders Life Company -
- Other funeral home marketing resources from Homesteaders Life
Podcasts
- The Top 11 Funeral Industry Podcasts For Funeral Directors
- BuzzSprout - How to Start a Podcast: Complete Step-by-Step Guide [2024]
- Forbes - How To Start A Podcast And Make Money In 2024
Marketing Statistics
The Ultimate List of marketing statistics for 2024
Historical funeral pricing : Prices for Funeral Expenses 1990-2023
Databases for Market Information
Industry Reports
- IBIS World (Business)Search "funeral homes"
- Statista This link opens in a new windowIndustry report statistics: Search: "death care services" / "funeral" / "mortuary" / "cemetery" / "burial" / "casket" / etc.
Social media marketing - statistics and facts
Media use - statistics and facts
Article databases (for marketing/business)
- Business Source PremierFind business articles from journals and magazines in marketing, management, information technology, operations, human resources, accounting, finance and economics dating back to 1965.
- The MorgueIndex to funeral service trade journals.
Demographic / Psychographic Resources
National Resources
- Employment, consumer price indexes, wages, etc.
- American Time Use Survey
Provides information about "the amount of time people spend doing various activities, such as paid work, childcare, volunteering, and socializing." - Consumer Expenditure Survey
Provides data on expenditures, income, and demographic characteristics of consumers in the United States.
State Resources
Minnesota State Demographics: Minnesota State Demographic Center
- Income & poverty
- Other tabs include age, race, economy, health, labor force and more.
Minnesota Government websites (city, county, etc.)
Minnesota Tourism
- Explore Minnesota
- Roadside America.com/Minnesota
- For the more odd ball tourism sites
Minnesota Chambers of Commerce (list)
- Hyperlinked list to city/area/county chambers of commerce.
Minnesota Occupations
- Minnesota Employment & Economic Development: Occupations in Demand
- Interactive tool
- USWage.com : top 200 popular jobs in Minnesota
- Also has grouping by regional section
Websites with lists or information on Minnesota lifestyles
- 22 Things You Need To Know About Minnesota Before You Move There
- BringMeTheNews.com/Minnesota Lifestyle
- MPRNews/Minnesota LifeStyle
Climate of Minnesota
Statistics
Mortality / Death Rates / Life Tables
Atlas of US Mortality : provides tables of selected causes of death. (data up to 2015)
National Center for Health Statistics (CDC)
- Deaths & Mortality
- Mortality statistics
- Suicide rates, trends by race & ethnicity, leading causes, etc.
- Life tables
- The SSDI contains more than 80 million records of death benefits beneficiaries. Information in each record includes the following information: first and last name and middle initial of the deceased; dates of birth and death; Social Security number and last residence of the decease.
Burial / Cremation Rates
Cremation Statistics : Cremation Society of North America
National Funeral Directors Association/ Statistics
- Includes funeral costs and rates of burial/cremation
E-Books
Writing Online and Audio Stories by ISBN: 9781032425856Publication Date: 2023-12-22Guiding readers through the unique challenges and choices presented by digital publication, this book provides a practical set of tools to help students, creatives, and content professionals craft emotionally engaging nonfiction stories for online readers and listeners.
Social Media Management by ISBN: 9783030990930Publication Date: 2022-05-04This is the second edition of the undergraduate textbook 'Social Media Management' which extends the original edition's scope beyond the business angle. The textbook continues with the perspective of organizations - not individuals - and clarifies the impact of social media on their different departments or disciplines, while also exploring how organizations use social media to create business value. To do so, the book pursues a uniquely multi-disciplinary approach by embracing IT, marketing, HR, and many other fields. While the first edition was inspired by the rise of social media tools, the second edition is characterized by a digital economy with increasing digitalization efforts due to newly emerging technologies in Industry 4.0 and the COVID-19 pandemic. Readers will benefit from a comprehensive selection of extended topics, including strategies and business models for social media, influencer marketing, viral campaigns, social CRM, employer branding, e-recruitment, search engine optimization, social mining, sentiment analysis, crowdfunding, and legal and ethical issues. Each chapter starts with one or more teaser questions to arouse the readers' interest, which will be clarified per topic. The second edition also provides ample self-test materials and reflection exercises.
Digital Marketing Strategy by ISBN: 9781035311323Publication Date: 2023-07-14This cutting-edge book presents a detailed overview of digital marketing strategy, which has evolved following rapid digitalization that occurred during the COVID-19 pandemic. Providing detailed examinations of different digital marketing techniques, it demonstrates how organizations' digital marketing strategies can be developed and implemented. Digital Marketing Strategyfeatures a thorough analysis of how digital marketing can be utilized to increase sales through new customer acquisition and through increasing the life cycle value of its existing customers. Chapters explore how buyer personas can be used to frame marketing as an advantageous service. Ultimately, this instructive book highlights that the core of digital marketing is based on market analysis, the value proposition built on it, and observed competitive advantage. With fresh insights into the developing areas of content and influencer marketing, this book will be of immense worth to students and scholars studying digital marketing strategy. It will also be highly applicable to those working in the field of digital marketing who promote products and services that require buyer judgement.
The SAGE Handbook of Digital Marketing by ISBN: 9781529743791Publication Date: 2022-09-01Digital marketing changes the dynamics of traditional routes to market, augments conversations and facilitates the measurement of activities by organisations and consumers alike. This Handbook strives to advance the study and understanding of this domain and provides a digital marketing journey that flows from methods and methodologies. It moves from the fundamentals to the different aspects of digital marketing strategy, tactics, metrics and management, and ethics. This Handbook brings together the critical factors in digital marketing as the essential reference set for researchers in this area of continued growth. It is essential reading for postgraduate students, researchers, and practitioners in a range of disciplines exploring digital marketing. Part 1: Foundations of Digital Marketing Part 2: Methodologies and Theories in Digital Marketing Part 3: Channels and Platforms in Digital Marketing Part 4: Tools, Tactics and Techniques in Digital Marketing Part 5: Management and Metrics in Digital Marketing Part 6: Ethical Issues in Digital Marketing
Citation managers
| Feature | Zotero | Mendeley (not recommended) | EndNote 20 | EndNote Online |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cost | Free | Free | Price options | Free |
| Styles | Many citation styles | Many citation styles | Many citation styles | Fewer citation styles |
| Plug-ins | Microsoft Word, Google Docs | Microsoft Word (not compatible with UMN Office 365) | Microsoft Word | Microsoft Word |
| Access | Desktop/Web | Desktop/Web | Desktop/Web | Web |
| Storage | 300MB free | 2GB free | Unlimited | 2GB free |
| PDF reader | yes | yes | yes | no |
| Editor integration | Word, Google Docs | Word | Word | Word |
| Sharing | Unlimited | Limited | Unlimited | Limited |
| Support | Zotero support | Mendeley support | EndNote 20 support | EndNote Online support |
Last Updated: Feb 1, 2024 1:55 PM
URL: https://libguides.umn.edu/MORT/3016