MORT 3021W: Psychology of Grief and Funeral Arrangements Theory

General online Resources

• Family Means Center for Grief & Loss
  The Center for Grief provides a unique and critical service to the greater St. Paul and Minneapolis area and outlying regions of Minnesota. In operation since January, 1996, the Center for Grief has responded to the harsh reality of traumatic loss from homicide, suicide, accidental death, and multiple family losses.   Merged with Family Means in 2012.

• The Compassionate Friends
  The mission of The Compassionate Friends is to assist families toward the positive resolution of grief following the death of a child of any age and to provide information to help others be supportive. The Compassionate Friends is a national nonprofit, self-help support organization that offers friendship, understanding, and hope to bereaved parents, grandparents and siblings. There is no religious affiliation and there are no membership dues or fees.

• Coping with Grief and Loss
  This article describes the common symptoms of grief, myths and facts about grief and tips for coping. HelpGuide is a nonprofit mental health and wellness website. Our mission is to provide empowering, evidence-based information that you can use to help yourself and your loved ones.

• Grief, Bereavement and Coping With Loss
  Patient summary on loss, grief, and bereavement adapted from the summary written for health professionals by cancer experts.

• Grief Support Directory
  “... here are many support organizations and bereavement centers for families. We have outlined some of the services available to families below.”  Mouse over state to see list

• GriefNet.org
  An Internet community of persons dealing with grief, death, trauma, and major loss.

• Guide to Grieving Support Resources
  Over 40 of the best grief-related resources on the Web for children, parents, spouses, siblings, friends, acquaintances, coworkers and employers that are categorized into sections that make it easy to find what you – or someone else – needs from Wise Old Sayings

• Managing Grief While in College: Your Guide to Navigating One of Life’s Toughest Assignments
  Provides some insight into how college students may best manage their grief and highlight some of the many resources available to help them cope.

• Seeking Help and Support for Grief and Loss
  The importance of support during the grief process

Online Resources By Topic/Age/Population Group

• COVID-Related
• Grief and Loss
  CDC webpage aimed at coping with loss/grief from COVID-19.
• Helping patients cope with COVID-19 grief
  Continuing education article from the American Psychological Association on identifying the many different ways people are grieving because of COVID-19 and how and why such losses can lead to complex or prolonged grief.
• Managing Bereavement around the Coronavirus (COVID-19)
  Handout by Christy Denckla, PhD, Karestan Koenen, PhD, Harvard School of Public Health, & M. Katherine Shear, MD, Columbia University School of Social Work
•  

• Children and Teens

  • Dougy Center for Grieving Children and Families
    The Dougy Center provides a safe place for children, teens, young adults and their families who are grieving a death to share their experiences. They do this through peer support groups, education, and training.
  • Death and Grief
    This article contains information for kids and teens about the process of grief and how to ultimately feel better.  From Kidshealth.org
  • National Alliance for Grieving Children
    The National Alliance for Grieving Children (NAGC) provides a network for nationwide communication between hundreds of professionals and volunteers who want to share ideas, information and resources with each other to better support the grieving children and families they serve in their own communities. Through this network, the NAGC offers online education, hosts an annual symposium on children's grief, maintains a national data base of children's bereavement support programs and promotes national awareness to enhance public sensitivity to the issues impacting grieving children and teens.

  Military

  • American Gold Star Mothers, Inc
    This organization of mothers honors fallen sons and daughters of the military through their services to veterans and military events.
  • Gold Star Wives
    The belief of Gold Star Wives is that surviving spouses and dependent children need an organization that’s dedicated to their unique needs, concerns, and welfare no matter what.
  • Operations Stephen’s Touch
    This non-denominational ministry offers free, confidential and compassionate listening services to members of military families who have lost a loved one.
  • Society of Military Widows
    Purpose is to: benefit widows of members of all branches of the uniformed services of the United States by giving moral support, advice, referral service and, in general, help the widows of career military members to return to the main stream of normal living.

  Parents

  • Bereaved Parents USA
    Provides a safe space where grieving families can connect, share our stories, and learn to rebuild our lives.
  • MISS Foundation
    An international 501(c)3, volunteer based organization providing C.A.R.E. [counseling, advocacy, research, and education] services to families experiencing the death of a child.
  • National Organization of Parents of Murdered Children, Inc. 
    This organization provides various resources to support and assist survivors of homicide victims.

  Widows and Widowers

  • National Widowers’ Organization
    The National Widowers’ Organization is a virtual toolkit for men coping with the loss of a loved one, a place where men can meet others going through the same transition.
  • Soaring Spirits:
     "Soaring Spirits is an inclusive, secular organization focused on hope and healing through the grieving process. We are positive, and forward-thinking, while offering our community members the tools and resources they need to rebuild their lives in the aftermath of the death of a spouse or life partner. We provide both online and in-person opportunities for finding peer support."
  • WidowNet
    Established in 1995, it is the first online information and self-help resource for, and by, widows and widowers. Topics covered include grief, bereavement, recovery, and other information helpful to people, of all ages, religious backgrounds and sexual orientations, who have suffered the death of a spouse or life partner.

     

APA Style (American Psychological Association)  

•  Books  
  • Concise rules of APA style 
    1. Concise and bias-free writing -- 2. Punctuation, spelling, and capitalization -- 3. Italicizing and abbreviating -- 4. Numbers, metrication, and statistics -- 5. Tables -- 6. Figures -- 7. Footnotes and appendixes -- 8. Quotations, reference citations in text, and reference list -- 9. Reference examples.
  •  Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association 
    • The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (7th edition) is the style manual of choice for writers, editors, students, educators, and professionals in psychology, sociology, business, economics, nursing, social work, and justice administration.
  • Writing with style: APA style made easy 
    • Introduction: the laypeople and you -- Some generalizations about how psychologists write -- Preparing the introduction section and the literature review paper -- Preparing the method section -- Preparing the results section -- Preparing the discussion section -- Preparing the abstract -- Preparing the references section -- Preparing a title page and formatting your manuscript -- Grooming tips for psychology papers -- Preparing a presentation -- Wrapping it up.
      •
• Internet Resources   
  • American Psychological Association (APA) style examples 
    • Monash University
  • APA Format Citation Guide
    • Mendeley.com
  • APA Formatting And Style Guide (7th ed.) 
    • OWL Online Writing Lab, Purdue University.
  •  APA Quick Citation Guide 
    • Penn State University Libraries
  •  Academic Writer Tutorial: Basics of Seventh Edition APA Style
    • From the American Psychological Association.

      This tutorial is designed for those who have no previous knowledge of APA Style®. It shows users how to structure and format their work, recommends ways to reduce bias in language, identifies how to avoid charges of plagiarism, shows how to cite references in text, and provides selected reference examples.

  •  Bow Valley College Guide to APA Style 
    • Bow Valley College, California. Covers all aspects of APA style. Includes online tutorials and a set of FAQs
  • Paper Format (APA Style)
    • From APA.org - covers title, margins, line spacing, headers and more.
  • How to Write a Paper in APA Format
    • From VeryWellMind.com
  • Student Paper Format - APA Style
    • From Towson University