Resources to help with your assignments.
Welcome to the University of Minnesota Libraries
Do you have your UMN Email (also called Internet ID or x.500)?
Initiating or claiming your account will give you access to thousands of online journals, magazines, newspapers and ebooks at the University of Minnesota Libraries. Your teacher may need to provide information to complete this step. Ask them.
Setting up DUO
You also need to set up Duo Authentication to get access to things like your UMN email and to use many of the research tools on the U Library website. The IT Technology online help can answer questions on this.
Tip: If you are unable to initiate your account you can find scholarly articles with Academic Search Premier, find background information on your topic with Encyclopedia Britannica Academic Edition and find Pro/Con on current issues with Points of View Reference Center.
- Duxiu DatabaseKnown as Chinese Google Scholar, Duxiu is a large digital collection of Chinese language materials. It provides full-text search capability to millions of Chinese scholarly resources in many subjects and formats (books, journals, newspapers, patents, standards, dissertations, conference proceedings, etc.) Users may read book excerpts online. Document delivery via email is available for some publications. While full text is not always available due to copyright restrictions, Duxiu is a useful tool for obtaining bibliographic information for primary and secondary sources.
- Bibliography of Asian StudiesSearch topics, especially in the humanities and the social sciences, on East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide. You can also find citations to journal articles, chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, anthologies, and more.
- China Knowledge Resource Integrated DatabaseChina National Knowledge Infrastructure includes Chinese Academic Journal database and Century Journals Project. Search 2424 titles of journals in History/Literature/Philosophy and Education & Social Sciences since 1994. Century Journals Project (CJP) contains many of those titles and extends our access from 1913 to 1993.
Get help from the U Libraries - Online!
Peer Research ConsultantsMake an online 30 minute appointment for one-on-one peer assistance with your research. Get help with researching your topic, finding sources, citing sources and more. Peer Research Consultants can also help you get started with faculty-sponsored research.
Chat 24/7 online with the LibrariesAsk us anything! Chat with a librarian, 24 hours a day, 7 days a week with any research or library questions.
Schedule an online consultation with the LibrariesSchedule an online consultations for personalized research support primarily for University of Minnesota faculty, instructors, graduate and undergraduate students and staff.
Last Updated: Jan 25, 2023 2:59 PM