Liaison to Humphrey School of Public Affairs & Carlson School of Management
Article on Stable Homes, Stable Schools from NextCity.org
- To Keep Kids In School, Minneapolis and St. Paul Focus on Stable HousingThis story was recently published in the national urban policy newsletter, Nextcity.org.
Program Evaluation: Sources for skill development & professional practice
Learn more about professional program evaluation requirements, including best practices, survey design, statistical evaluation and more.
Interactive Evaluation Practice by Call Number: Online access with Sage Research Methods Platform:ISBN: 9780761926733Publication Date: 2012-04-12You're about to start your first evaluation project. Where do you begin? Or you're a practicing evaluator faced with a challenging situation. How do you proceed? How do you handle the interactive components and processes inherent in evaluation practice?Use Interactive Evaluation Practice to bridge the gap between the theory of evaluation and its practice. Taking an applied approach, this book provides readers with specific interactive skills needed in different evaluation settings and contexts. The authors illustrate multiple options for developing skills and choosing strategies, systematically highlighting the evaluator's three roles as decision maker, actor, and reflective practitioner. Chris L. S. Coryn, Western Michigan University
Mixed Methods for Policy Research and Program Evaluation by Call Number: Available online with Sage Research Methods PlatformISBN: 9781452276625Publication Date: 2015-03-26The unique emphasis of this book is on the "how-to"--that is, the set of conceptual and active tasks carried out by mixed methods researchers--illustrated with rich case studies, primarily from the authors' own policy research and programme evaluation work. The challenges that both beginners and advanced scholars encounter when doing mixed methods research and the kinds of practical tools available are examined.
Handbook of Practical Program Evaluation by Call Number: Online access with Wiley Online LibraryISBN: 9781118893616Publication Date: 2015-08-10The leading program evaluation reference, updated with the latest tools and techniques The Handbook of Practical Program Evaluation provides tools for managers and evaluators to address questions about the performance of public and nonprofit programs.
Find additional applied and practitioner resources in the following databases:
Policy Context: Research & Data
Multiple sources can be reviewed to locate policy reports and scholarly research on the subject of student educational outcomes and housing. Here are a few examples.
Race, Equity, and Education by Call Number: Online access through Springerlink collectionISBN: 9783319237725Publication Date: 2015-11-14This powerful and timely analysis takes stock of race and education sixty years after the historic Brown vs. Board of Education decision. This volume examines education as one of the most visible markers for racial disparities in the US as well as one of its most visible frontiers for racial justice. Featuring original research, educators' insights, and perspectives from communities of color, it documents the complex impact of social/educational policy on social progress. Chapters on charter schools, curriculum content, performance measurement, and disproportionalities in special education referrals shed light on entrenched inequities that must be confronted. The book also makes it clear that leveling the playing field calls for not only better schools, but also addressing pervasive social problems such as poverty and housing segregation. Included in the coverage: School Policy is Housing Policy: Deconcentrating Disadvantage to Address the Achievement Gap.
The following shows the residential trend of homeless children in Minnesota. Locate extensive state-by-state details on homeless students from the National Center for Homeless Education.
Heading Home Minnesota and the Homework Starts with Home pages at Minnesota Department of Education / Minnesota Department of Housing offer extensive insight on recent efforts in Minnesota.
Now, use the following databases to locate additional issue and policy materials on the topics related to student success/achievement.
PolicyMap (visualize data on your topic of interest)
Statistical Insight (find statistical data and policy documents at every level)
National Conference of State Legislature - Education Legislation Bill Tracking - learn what other states are doing.
Proquest Congressional (for CRS reports on national policies)
Academic research can provide excellent insight into questions of programmatic intent and outcomes. Here are a few articles:
- The U.S. Homeless Student Population: Homeless Youth Education, Review of Research Classifications and Typologies, and the U.S. Federal Legislative ResponseThe drastic surge in the number of homeless families in the United States (U.S.) has resulted in an increase in the number of homeless students attending U.S. public schools. Meanwhile, the U.S. public school system is struggling to meet the educational needs of their homeless students. Objective: This study examined the historical trajectory of U.S. federal initiatives that aim to respond to the needs of homeless youth; homeless youth research, classifications and typologies; homeless youth social conditions; and the factors that foster or impede their education.
Child & Youth Care Forum, 2015, Vol.44(5), pp.687-709 - The McKinney–Vento Education for Homeless Children and Youth Program: Implications for Special EducatorsDuring the 2008–2009 academic school year, nearly a million (956,914) students were reported by school districts as being homeless, a 41% increase over just a 2-year period year. The purpose of this article is to provide a brief overview of national legislative efforts to address the education of children who are homeless, with a particular emphasis on students with disabilities.
Intervention in School and Clinic, November 2013, Vol.49(2), pp.92-98
Note, the author of this work is faculty at the University of Minnesota and has done extensive research on the topic.
- Risk and Resilience in the Educational Success of Homeless and Highly Mobile Children: Introduction to the Special SectionHomelessness and mobility in the context of poverty and economic crisis is an issue of rising local, national, and global concern for many stakeholders, including educators and education leaders. The articles featured in this special issue offer important data and commentary on the significance of homelessness and mobility for school success.
Educational Researcher, December 2012, Vol.41(9), pp.363-365
Locate additional articles like those above using the following library databases:
Web of Science (multi-disciplinary)