Presentation
Slides from November 2021 workshop in Appleby.
Tutorial: Creating an effective search strategy
After completing this tutorial, you will be able to:
- Use meaningful keywords to find the best sources
- Apply search strategies like AND and OR to connect keywords
eLibrary Minnesota
- eLibrary MinnesotaELibrary Minnesota gives Minnesota access to magazine, journal, newspaper and encyclopedia articles, media, including images, videos, and audio files, and other information resources. It provides information on topics, including consumer information, arts and humanities, career, occupation, and test prep, current events, health, science, social science, politics, business, and more.
- Academic Search Premier (eLibrary Minnesota)Search scholarly journals, magazines and newspapers across all academic disciplines.
- Points of View Reference (eLibrary Minnesota)Find pro/con arguments on current issues .
- Gale in Context: High School (eLibrary Minnesota)Encyclopedia, magazine, and journal articles, plus primary sources, images, video, and more for middle and high school students. Includes the InfoTrac Student Edition database.
- Health Source (eLibrary Minnesota)Popular and professionally written information for patients and consumers covering all health-related topics. Included in Consumer Health Complete, Explora Teens, and Explora Library databases.
- New York Times (eLibrary Minnesota)Articles from the New York Times. From 1999 to current.
- Proquest US Newsstream (eLibrary Minnesota)U.S. news content as well as archives that stretch back into the 1980s from national and regional news sources including The New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, Newsday, and Chicago Tribune the Minneapolis Star Tribune.
- Business Source Premier (eLibrary Minnesota)Scholarly journals and trade publications across all business-related subject areas.
- Applied Science & Technology Source (eLibrary Minnesota)Offers a diverse array of full-text and indexed content covering the full spectrum of the applied sciences and computing disciplines — from acoustics to aeronautics, neural networks to nuclear engineering.
Tutorial: What is a library database and why should I use one?
After completing this tutorial, you will be able to:
- Identify what a library database is
- Recognize the two main types of library databases
- Know why you should use them
- Understand why searching a library database is different than searching the general internet
Hennepin County Library databases
- CQ Researcher (Hennepin County library)Current and controversial issues with detailed discussions of pros and cons, summaries, bibliographies, and links to related stories. Goes back to 1991.
- Opposing Viewpoints in Context (Hennepin County library)Social issues covered by pro/con viewpoint essays, topic overviews, primary sources, biographies, court-cases, articles, statistics, charts and graphs, images, and podcasts.
- Points of View Reference Center (Hennepin County library)Essays on controversial topics that examine multiple sides of current issues. Includes charts, graphs, and research guides. Middle - high school.
Google Scholar
- Google Scholar (UMN setup required)To gain off-campus access to articles from library journal subscriptions, change the Library Settings to University of Minnesota Twin Cities in Google Scholar (see this tutorial) Use Google Scholar to find articles from academic publishers, professional societies, research institutes, and scholarly repositories from colleges and universities. Look for the "FindIt@U of M Twin Cities" links in your Google Scholar search results to access library subscriptions.
- Use “quotes” around 2 or 3 word phrases like “video games” or “college students”
- If you are looking for more academic sources use more academic words in searching
- Use adolescent instead of teenager
- Try “advanced search”
- In Google.com, limit to government webpages by using site:.gov
Tutorial: Evaluating sources
After completing this tutorial, you will be able to:
- Recognize how evaluating sources is an important part of the research process
- Use evaluation techniques like timeliness and authority to find good sources
- Use clues from library databases, abstracts, and articles to evaluate a source
Chat with a Librarian
Chat with a librarian 24/7
An online service for information and research help available to all Minnesota residents and students 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.
Last Updated: Jan 25, 2024 12:44 PM
URL: https://libguides.umn.edu/TRIO_UB