Antiracism Work at the U of M Libraries
Dean of the Libraries, Lisa German, said, "Antiracism is a journey, as Ibram X. Kendi tells us in How to Be an Antiracist, and we commit to identifying and addressing the ways white supremacy manifests itself throughout all aspects of librarianship. We must be accountable for this work. Our U Office for Equity and Diversity says: We all share responsibility for equity and diversity — it’s everybody’s everyday work. We are committed to making this a priority for the University of Minnesota Libraries."
UMN resources to guide reparative work
Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion in Metadata and Description: Statement of Values and Principles
Statement providing a framework for University of Minnesota Libraries staff conducting this work
Archives and Special Collections collection guides language editing guidelines
Guidance on making and documenting changes to descriptive language in archival finding aids
Statement on historical language in archival description
This statement is linked from all pages in ArchivesSpace and is also the basis for harmful language notes that may be added to individual collection guides or archival objects within collection guides.
Guides for Reparative Description and Critical Cataloging
Resources about Bias and Metadata (Sharon Mizota)
(Includes a list of alternative vocabularies)
Documentation from other repositories
Recent work in Archives and Special Collections
Reexamining Descriptive Language at the University of Minnesota Archives and Special Collections (Descriptive Notes blog post)