- Ovid MEDLINESearches MEDLINE, which is the primary source of journal articles for the health sciences (fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, public health, health care systems, and basic sciences). Ovid MEDLINE is optimized for advanced literature searches. Coverage is from the 1940s to the present.
- EthicShareEthicShare is a research and collaboration website designed to help with research, collaboration, and participation in the field of ethics. It is a comprehensive collection of ethics materials including research materials, group discussions, current news articles, and upcoming events harvested from sources such as PubMed, US Government Documents, and institutional repositories.
- PubMedSearches MEDLINE, which is the primary source of journal articles for the health sciences (fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, public health, health care systems, and basic sciences). Coverage is from the 1940s to the present. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.
Then try any of the following:
- Philosopher's IndexThe Philosopher's Index is a comprehensive, bibliographic database covering worldwide research in all areas of philosophy from 1940 to the present. This bibliographic database offers informative, author-written abstracts covering scholarly research in all areas of philosophy. The literature covered goes back to 1940 and includes journal articles, books, book chapters such as contributions to an anthology and book reviews.
- APA PsycInfoFind articles in thousands of psychology journals, from 1806 to current. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.
- Google Scholar (Setup connection to get to PDFs)Use Google Scholar to find articles from academic publishers, professional societies, research institutes, and scholarly repositories from colleges and universities. If you are using from off-campus access, change the "Library Settings" to University of Minnesota Twin Cities. Look for the "FindIt@U of M Twin Cities" links in your Google Scholar search results to access full text and PDFs. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.
Literature, Arts and Medicine Database
The Literature, Arts and Medicine Database (LitMed) is a collection of literature, fine art, visual art and performing art annotations created as a dynamic, comprehensive resource for scholars, educators, students, patients, and others interested in medical humanities. It was created by faculty of the New York University School of Medicine in 1993. The annotations are written by an invited editorial board of scholars from all over North America.
E-Books in Bioethics
- Clinical ethics : a practical approach to ethical decisions in clinical medicine byISBN: 9781260457551Publication Date: 20229th ed.
"This book is about the ethical issues that clinicians encounter as they care for patients and is written to assist those who serve on hospital ethics committees as they deliberate about appropriate action in difficult ethical cases"
- Legal and ethical issues for health professionals byISBN: 9781284144192Publication Date: 20205th ed.
Introduction to ethics -- Contemporart ethical dilemmas -- End-of-life dilemmas -- Health care ethics committee -- Development of law -- Introduction to law -- Government ethics and the law -- Oganizational ethics and the law -- Health care professional legal-ethical issues -- Physician's ethical and legal issues -- Employee rights and responsibilitues -- Patient consent -- Patient abuse -- Patient rights and responsibilities -- Summary case : search for truth.
- The Basics of Bioethics byISBN: 9780429017551Publication Date: 2019-10-18The Basics of Bioethics, Fourth Edition offers an easy-to-follow introduction to this dynamic field, intended for healthcare professionals, teachers, students, and anyone interested in bioethics. Accessible and enjoyable for readers of all backgrounds, the book contains numerous cases--including ones that recently have dominated international headlines--to help anchor the broader discussion. The text is suitable for use in short courses in schools of medicine, nursing, and other health professions; continuing professional education; various undergraduate departments; and adult education. Chapters are organized around common moral themes in order to help readers understand the values and other connections that tie together different positions in bioethics. This fourth edition adds a new chapter on alternative frameworks in bioethics, including narrative ethics and casuistry, feminist approaches, care ethics, and virtue ethics. Due to significant advances in genetics and reproductive possibilities, this new edition devotes a full chapter to each. The combined teaching, research, and clinical experience of the two authors helps make this edition current with the evolving field of bioethics, while still embedding the major issues in a systematic framework that allows readers easily to navigate the larger field. Key Changes to the Fourth Edition: * An added chapter on new and emerging approaches in bioethics, including those based on virtue ethics, casuistry and narrative ethics, feminist ethics, and care ethics * Updates throughout the book based on developments in ethical theory and new medical research * Revisions and updates to the Learning Objectives, Key Terms, Bibliographies, and URLs * The addition of multiple recent case studies, including: Jahi McMath an undocumented patient who needs a rule bent a pediatrician who turns away unvaccinated patients a minor eligible for pediatric bariatric surgery a daughter suing a hospital for non-disclosure of her father's Huntington's diagnosis CRISPR-edited newborn babies
- Bioethics byISBN: 9780028662121Publication Date: 20144th ed.
Offers hundreds of revisions or addenda to entries from previous editions as well as over 100 new or rewritten entries on topics such as key cases in bioethics, the human biome, genetically modified foods, emergency preparedness and response, social justice, sustainability, chemical warfare and torture, among many others. Revised articles will explain the events as well as legislation changes of the past decade.
Selected Internet Resources
Selected list of available resources on Bioethics found on the Web
- Bioethics: Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Bioethics: Key Concepts and Research: Two experts in bioethics have curated a reading list of over 20 JSTOR sources on selected issues like: gene-editing, research and treatment, reproduction, disability, genetics, genealogy and race. (2018)
Universal Declaration on Bioethics and Human Rights: UNESCO (2006). 12 p.
The Belmont Report: Ethical Principles and Guidelines for the Protection of Human Subjects of Research (1976). written by the National Commission for the Protection of Human Subjects of Biomedical and Behavioral Research.
Bieothics and Health Humanities Journals (list curated by the American Society for Bioethics & Humanities)
What is Bioethics? (video, 6:38 min): Whiteboard editions from PHILO-notes.
The Bioethics Horizon (Nuffield Council on Bioethics Infographic 2019)
Timeline of Landmark Events in the Evolution of Bioethics (Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences)
A Critical Moment in Bioethics: Reckoning with Anti‐Black Racism through Intergenerational Dialogue: A Hastings Center Special Report. March-April 2022. Issue edited by: Faith E. Fletcher, Keisha S. Ray, Virginia A. Brown, Patrick T. Smith
Medical Humanities Resources
Selected set of resources on Medical Humanities
- Public Health & Social Justice: This website contains articles, slide shows, syllabi, and other documents relevant to topics in public health and social justice. Presentations are updated every 6-12 months. All information comes from real, not “alternative” facts, and is culled from peer-reviewed journals (scientific/medical/public health/nursing), respected news organizations (e.g., AP, Reuters, BBC) and periodicals. The site is aimed at students, educators, and the general public. It addresses the social, economic, environmental, human rights, and cultural contributors to health and illness. All slide shows are open-access. Feel free to use information from the articles and slide shows, indeed even the slides themselves, with appropriate citation.
AMA Journal of Ethics Art Gallery: A collection visual images of healing and learning from the Art of Medicine section in the AMA Journal of Ethics.
Graphic Medicine: Explores the interaction between the medium of comics and the discourse of healthcare.
- The Pain Exhibit
The PAIN Exhibit is an online educational, visual arts exhibit from artists with chronic pain with their art expressing some facet of the pain experience. The mission is to educate healthcare providers and the public about chronic pain through art, and to give voice to the many who suffer in silence.
- The Disability Museum
The Disability History Museum hosts a Library of virtual artifacts, Education curricula, and Museum exhibits. These programs are designed to foster research and study about the historical experiences of people with disabilities and their communities.
Getting Started Guide Part 1: Select Activities for Integrating the Arts and Humanities into Medical Education (AAMC.org): Aligning with the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education’s six general competencies, the activities included were selected because they can be conducted at low cost with any group of learners, regardless of developmental stage or specialty.
Getting Started Guide Part 2: Nuts and Bolts of Integrating Arts and Humanities into Medical Education (AAMC.org): tTps on how to create partnerships with cultural institutions, how to choose arts and humanities material, and how you can join conversations about arts and humanities in medical education.
E-Books in Health/Medical Humanities
- Routledge Handbook of the Medical Humanities byISBN: 9781351241762Publication Date: 2019-07-31This authoritative new handbook offers a comprehensive and cutting-edge overview of the state of the medical humanities globally, showing how clinically oriented medical humanities, the critical study of medicine as a global historical and cultural phenomenon, and medicine as a force for cultural change can inform each other. Composed of eight parts, the Routledge Handbook of the Medical Humanities looks at the medical humanities as: a network and system therapeutic provocation forms of resistance a way of reconceptualising the medical curriculum concerned with performance and narrative mediated by artists as diagnosticians of culture through public engagement. This book describes how the medical humanities can be used in and out of clinical settings, acting as a point of resistance, redistributing medicine's capital amongst its stakeholders, embracing the complexity of medical instances, shaping medical education, promoting interdisciplinary understandings and recognising an identity for the medical humanities as a network effect. This book is an essential read for all students, scholars and practitioners with an interest in the medical humanities.
- The Routledge Companion to Health Humanities byISBN: 9780429469060Publication Date: 2020-02-10The health humanities is a rapidly rising field, advancing an inclusive, democratizing, activist, applied, critical, and culturally diverse approach to delivering health and well-being through the arts and humanities. It has generated new kinds of interdisciplinary research, knowledge, and communities of practice globally. It has also acted to bring greater coherence and political force to contributions across a range of related disciplines and traditions. In this volume, a formidable set of authors explore the history, current state, and future of the health humanities, in particular how its vision of the arts and humanities: Promotes creative public health. Opens new routes to health and well-being. Informs and drives better health care. Interrogates relationships between ill health and social equality. Develops humanist theory in relation to health and social care practice. Foregrounds cultural difference as a resource for positive change in society. Tests the humanity of an increasingly globalized health-care system. Looks to overcome structural and process obstacles to cross-disciplinary ventures. Champions co-construction, co-design, and mutuality in solving health and well-being challenges. Showcases less familiar, prominent, or celebrated creative practices. Includes multiple perspectives on the value and health benefits of the arts and humanities not limited to or dominated by medicine. Divided into two main sections, the Companion looks at "Reflections and Critical Perspectives," offering current thinking and definitions within health humanities, and "Applications," comprising a wide selection of applied arts and humanities practices from comedy, writing, and dancing to yoga, cooking, and horticultural display.
- The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks byISBN: 9781400052189Publication Date: 2011-03-08Her name was Henrietta Lacks, but scientists know her as HeLa. She was a poor Southern tobacco farmer who worked the same land as her slave ancestors, yet her cells--taken without her knowledge--became one of the most important tools in medicine: The first "immortal" human cells grown in culture, which are still alive today, though she has been dead for more than sixty years. HeLa cells were vital for developing the polio vaccine; uncovered secrets of cancer, viruses, and the atom bomb's effects; helped lead to important advances like in vitro fertilization, cloning, and gene mapping; and have been bought and sold by the billions. Yet Henrietta Lacks remains virtually unknown, buried in an unmarked grave. Henrietta's family did not learn of her "immortality" until more than twenty years after her death, when scientists investigating HeLa began using her husband and children in research without informed consent. And though the cells had launched a multimillion-dollar industry that sells human biological materials, her family never saw any of the profits. As Rebecca Skloot so brilliantly shows, the story of the Lacks family--past and present--is inextricably connected to the dark history of experimentation on African Americans, the birth of bioethics, and the legal battles over whether we control the stuff we are made of. Over the decade it took to uncover this story, Rebecca became enmeshed in the lives of the Lacks family--especially Henrietta's daughter Deborah. Deborah was consumed with questions: Had scientists cloned her mother? Had they killed her to harvest her cells? And if her mother was so important to medicine, why couldn't her children afford health insurance?