Get in Touch with Librarians
Shuqi Ye
East Asian Studies Librarian
Stephanie Sparrow
Extension and Social Sciences Librarian
Amy Riegelman
Social Sciences and Evidence Synthesis Librarian
Carolyn Bishoff
Science and Math Librarian
The Scholarly Conversation
Creating an Effective Search Strategy
What is a library database and why would I use one?
Reading Research Articles
Evaluating info
Tutorial for using PsychInfo, Web of Science, and the Library Search
Off-campus access to library resources
Current University students, staff and faculty should be able to get full text and online access to the University Libraries from anywhere. Here are three ways to access the library full text from off campus.
- Search the University of Minnesota library website. Log in with your UMN Internet ID and password to access resources.
- Log in using the U of M Virtual Private Network (VPN). You will need to download it VPN software to your computer from campus OIT (Office of Information Technology).
- Install the Libraries' Proxy Bookmarklet to your browser and click it to reload the page with your U of M login to get access to full text. Watch a proxy bookmarklet video (3 min) to learn more.
View examples and learn more on our How to get to full text from on and off campus Guide.
Citing Your Sources
-
Citation Managers (e.g. Zotero, EndNote Online, etc.)Citation managers are software packages used to create personalized databases of citation information and notes. They allow you to: import and organize citation information from article indexes and other sources; save links to pdfs and other documents; format citations for your papers and bibliographies using APA and many other styles; and include your own notes.
Other Research Support Tools & Services
-
Library tutorialsA directory of tutorials from the University Libraries on a number of topics, including but not limited to: evaluating sources, search strategies, academic integrity, and more.
-
Tutorial: Communicating your research with postersWhat makes a great poster? Follow this tutorial to learn and apply design elements and language, practical requirements for posters, and more.
-
Library workshopsLearn something new at a library workshop! Register for everything from using citation managers to finding grant funding.
Last Updated: Jun 12, 2025 11:43 AM
URL: https://libguides.umn.edu/pathways