Related Guides
- Center for Holocaust and Genocide Studies' ResourcesBooks, videos, digital collection, research guides, and more from UMN's Center for Holocaust and Genocide Studies
- Holocaust and Genocide Studies (Advanced Researchers)Comprehensive guide on resources related to Holocaust and Genocide Studies.
Have questions?
Contact me for research help on this subject.
Ask Brian!
Brian Vetruba
Contact:
Office: 1a Wilson Library
309 19th Ave. S. Minneapolis, MN 55455
Email: bvetruba@umn.edu
309 19th Ave. S. Minneapolis, MN 55455
Email: bvetruba@umn.edu
612-625-8161
Use this to assist you with completing your assignments for HIST 3727: History of the Holocaust
Getting Started and Getting Help!
Explore databases and resources relevant to research in Holocaust Studies. Use the tabs on the left to find specific types of resources, such as journal articles, books, and reference works that will be helpful in completing your assignments.
Questions? Need help? Contact Brian Vetruba, European Studies and Holocaust Studies Librarian (bvetruba@umn.edu). Drop-in office hours: Thursdays, 3-4pm via Zoom. You can also schedule an appointment with Brian.
Other ways to get help:
- Peer Research Consultants. Make an online 30 minute appointment for one-on-one peer assistance with your research. Get help with researching your topic, finding sources, citing sources and more. Peer Research Consultants can also help you get started with faculty-sponsored research.
- Chat 24/7 Online with the Libraries. Ask us anything! Chat with a librarian, 24 hours a day, 7 days a week with any research or library questions.
General Resources
- Libraries SearchSearch the University of Minnesota Libraries to find books, scholarly journal articles, news, magazines, media, and other items in the University's collection. See search terms for the Holocaust
- WorldCatFind books, journals, articles, maps, music scores, sound recordings, films, theses/dissertations, machine-readable data files, and any other materials available in libraries worldwide. All subject areas are covered. Request items through Interlibrary Loan using the ILLiad link on each item's record. A mobile version of this database is available. Limited to 65 simultaneous users.
- InterLibrary Loan & Digital DeliveryInterlibrary Loan (ILL) & Digital Delivery offers access to materials needed for courses and research, including materials not currently available within the University of Minnesota Libraries, AND digital copies of articles and book chapters from our print and microform collections. Free for currently-affiliated University students, faculty, and staff.
Background Information and Reference
- Holocaust Encyclopedia (US Holocaust Memorial Museum)
TOP ONLINE ENCYCLOPEDIA. It includes 850 articles in English, hundreds of which have been translated into 15 languages, including Arabic, Farsi, Russian, and Spanish. Updated in 2018, the encyclopedia also includes photographs, films, and oral testimonies.
Historical Dictionary of the Holocaust (3rd edition) by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781538130162Publication Date: 2020
The United States Holocaust Memorial Museum Encyclopedia of Camps and Ghettos, 1933-1945 by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780253353283Publication Date: 2009-VOLUMES 1-3 AVAILABLE ONLINE. Detailed information about the universe of camps, sub-camps, and ghettos established and operated by the Nazis and their allies. in print.
Useful eBooks
Antisemitism : a very short introduction (2nd ed.) by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780191792335Publication Date: 2015
Concentration camps : a very short introduction by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780191790102Publication Date: 2019
The Holocaust: : the Third Reich and the Jews by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780429432231Publication Date: 2021
The Oxford Handbook of Holocaust Studies by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780199211869Publication Date: 2011
The Routledge History of the Holocaust by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780203837443Publication Date: 2010
Primary Source Databases & Archives
- Visual History ArchiveTOP RESOURCE A fully streaming video collection of more than 55,000 primary source testimonies from the USC Shoah Foundation of survivors and witnesses of the Holocaust and other genocides, including the Armenian Genocide, the Cambodian Genocide, the Central African Republic Conflict, contemporary antisemitism, the 1994 Genocide Against the Tutsi in Rwanda, the Guatemalan Genocide, and the Nanjing Massacre. Note: only available remotely to UMN users. See Visual History Archive Online (version for non-UMN users).
- Academic Video Online This link opens in a new windowAcademic Video Online (AVON) delivers 70,000+ videos, on a range of topics including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. Includes Shoah and other documentaries on the Holocaust.
- Eichmann Trial RecordingsVideo recordings from the 1961 trial of Adolf Eichmann, which took place in Jerusalem. Videos on this YouTube channel include simultaneous audio translation into English.
- Holocaust Studies Collections (Archives Unbound)This collection incorporates anti-Semitic propaganda, correspondence from prisoners, documents from resistance groups, bank records from Nazi financiers, eyewitness accounts from concentration camps, and more.
- Shoah (Holocaust) from EuroDocsLinks to primary historical documents covering the Holocaust/Shoah and Anti-Semitism. The sources are transcribed, reproduced in facsimile, or translated. Video, sound files, maps, photographs and other imagery, databases, and other documentation are also available.
- United States Holocaust Memorial Museum's CollectionsPortal to search through USHMM collections of artifacts, documents, photos, films, books, personal stories, and more covering the Holocaust. Note: some materials are only available on site at the museum.
- UMN Center for Holocaust and Genocide Studies' Digital CollectionsCollections related to the Armenian Genocide, Holocaust, and other genocides. In particular: Portraying Memories - Portraits & Conversations Survivors of the Shoah.
Primary Sources via Libraries Search
Modern Genocide : a Documentary and Reference Guide by ISBN: 9781440862335Publication Date: 2019
The Holocaust by ISBN: 9780780809352Publication Date: 2006
Primary Source Searches in Libraries Search
Holocaust, Jewish (1939-1945) -- Sources
Holocaust, Jewish (1939-1945) -- Personal narratives
Gays and Nazi Persecution: Includes both secondary and primary sources. Need to evaluate whether a primary source.
Romanies and Nazi Persecution: Includes both secondary and primary sources. Need to evaluate whether a primary source.
Peoples with Disabilities and Nazi Persecution: Includes both secondary and primary sources. Need to evaluate whether a primary source.
Additional primary source materials can be found by searching the Libraries Search. Enter one of the terms below and keywords of the event as subject keywords.
- "sources"
- "personal narratives"
- "documentary film"
- "interviews"
- "correspondence"
Databases for Scholarly Articles and Books
Click "view online," "PDF," or the 
button to connect to the full text if we have it. The will also indicate whether a print copy is held in the Libraries. If not available, request the item via Interlibrary Loan.
- Libraries SearchTOP DATABASE. Search the University of Minnesota Libraries to find books, scholarly journal articles, news, magazines, media, and other items in the University's collection.
- Historical AbstractsTOP DATABASE. Find journal articles covering world history from 1450 to the present. Limited to 6 simultaneous users.
- Academic Search PremierA great place to start your research on any topic, search multidisciplinary, scholarly research articles. This database provides access to scholarly and peer reviewed journals, popular magazines and other resources. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.
- Sociological AbstractsThis core database for the field of sociology contains information on sociology and social policy worldwide. Sociological Abstracts includes citations from the 1952-present. It provides abstracting and indexing of articles and book reviews drawn from thousands of journal publications, plus books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers, and working papers.
- MORE DATABASESBrowse by subject.
Journals
A select list of journals available via UMN Libraries covering the Holocaust.
- Holocaust and Genocide Studies (8756-6583)Issues available online and in print. Oxford ; New York : Pergamon 1986 -
- Holocaust Studies (1750-4902)MAKE INTERLIBRARY LOAN REQUESTS FOR ARTICLES.
- Journal of Genocide Research (1469-9494)Issues available online and in print. Abingdon : Routledge, Taylor & Francis Group, 1999 -
- The Journal of Holocaust Education (1359-1371)Issues available online. London : Frank Cass, 1995-2001.
- Journal of Holocaust Research (2578-5648)Former title: Dapim: Studies on the Holocaust (2009 - 2018). Print issues available. MAKE INTERLIBRARY LOAN REQUESTS FOR OTHER ARTICLES.
- Yad Vashem Studies (0084-3296)Issues available in print. Jerusalem : Yad Vashem Martyrs' and Heroes' Remembrance Authority 1976 -
For additional titles, see the Catalog search:
Citing your sources (e.g. MLA, APA, etc.)
- Citation Managers (e.g. Zotero, EndNote Online, etc.)Citation managers are software packages used to create personalized databases of citation information and notes. They allow you to: import and organize citation information from article indexes and other sources; save links to pdfs and other documents; format citations for your papers and bibliographies using APA and many other styles; and include your own notes.
Many article databases (e.g. Academic Search Premier, Google Scholar) will create a citation for you. After you found the item, look for "cite" or "quotes." Here are examples:
In Google Scholar:
In Academic Search Premier:
- Chicago Manual of Style OnlineThis resource provides online access to the latest edition of The Chicago Manual of Style, which covers a variety of topics from manuscript preparation and publication to grammar, usage, and citation formating. The citation quick guide covers both the author-date and the notes and bibliography systems.
- Citation and research help (from Purdue OWL)Examples and instructions for how to cite many types of materials in MLA, APA, Chicago, and AMA styles.
Last Updated: Jun 14, 2023 3:41 PM
URL: https://libguides.umn.edu/HIST/3727