Tutorial: Researching and writing a literature review
After completing this tutorial, you will:
- Understand the purpose and value of a literature review
- Recognize the procedure behind an effective literature review
Tutorial: Evidence Based Practice: Introductory level
After completing this tutorial, you will be able to:
- Identify what Evidence Based Practice is and why it is important
- Define the strategies that exist for Evidence Based Practice
- Recognize the five steps of Evidence Based Practice
- Demonstrate how to ask an answerable question
- Categorize appropriate sources of information
Find Journal Articles
- PubMedSearches MEDLINE, which is the primary source of journal articles for the health sciences (fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, public health, health care systems, and basic sciences). Coverage is from the 1940s to the present. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.
- Business Source PremierFind business articles from journals and magazines in marketing, management, information technology, operations, human resources, accounting, finance and economics dating back to 1965.
- Web of ScienceA comprehensive interdisciplinary collection of journal article citations. Subjects generally covered are within science and technology, arts and humanities, and social sciences. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.
- CINAHL Ultimate (Nursing & Allied Health)Covers nursing and allied health journal articles, book chapters, and dissertations, as well as providing summarized evidence-based resources such as care sheets and quick lessons.
- PAIS Index (Political Science and Public Policy)PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) searches journals and other sources on issues of political science and public policy. This includes government, politics, international relations, human rights and more.
Reading Research Articles
Literature Review Tutorial from UCLA
Keeping Track of Your Work
Sample Workflow
- Determine keywords to search using mind mapping
- Identify databases
- Look for articles using database
- Evaluate results
- Select relevant articles
- Save references to citation manager
Citing Your Sources
- Citation Managers (e.g. Zotero, EndNote Online, etc.)Citation managers are software packages used to create personalized databases of citation information and notes. They allow you to: import and organize citation information from article indexes and other sources; save links to pdfs and other documents; format citations for your papers and bibliographies using APA and many other styles; and include your own notes.
Off-Campus Access to Library Journals & Databases
In addition to going through links on the library website, we have 2 other ways to access resources from off-campus.
- Proxy Bookmarklet for off-campus accessAdd this button to your browser toolbar and click on it to reload a page and authenticate as a U of M user.
- Virtual Private Network (VPN)Download and log in to VPN before accessing resources
Last Updated: Oct 4, 2023 2:43 PM
URL: https://libguides.umn.edu/c.php?g=1082537