Have questions?
Contact me for research help on this subject.
Natural Resources Librarian
Research article databases
- Academic Search PremierA great place to start your research on any topic, search multidisciplinary, scholarly research articles. This database provides access to scholarly and peer reviewed journals, popular magazines and other resources. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.
- Agricultural & Environmental Science DatabaseSearch journals and literature on agriculture, pollution, animals, environment, policy, natural resources, water issues and more. Searches tools like AGRICOLA, Environmental Sciences & Pollution Management (ESPM), and Digests of Environmental Impact Statements (EIS) databases.
- CAB Abstracts Plus Full Text SelectCAB Abstracts covers agriculture in its broadest sense, including crop production, forestry, environment, animal health and nutrition, veterinary science, agricultural engineering, biotechnology, soil and water, agricultural economics, recreation and tourism, rural sociology, and human nutrition and health.
- Polling the Nations This link opens in a new windowPolling the Nations is an online database of public opinion polls containing the full text of 700,000+ questions and responses, from 18,000+ surveys and 1,700+ polling organizations, conducted from 1986 through the present in the United States and more than 100 other countries around the world. Limited to 4 simultaneous users.
- APA PsycInfoFind articles in thousands of psychology journals, from 1806 to current. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.
- Sociological AbstractsThis core database for the field of sociology contains information on sociology and social policy worldwide. Sociological Abstracts includes citations from the 1952-present. It provides abstracting and indexing of articles and book reviews drawn from thousands of journal publications, plus books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers, and working papers.
Information about companies, industries, or markets
- HooversIncludes information on more than 162 million businesses, both public and private, around the world. Business data includes Annual Revenues, Employee Counts, Corporate Family Tree, Key Contacts, Analyst Reports, SWOT reports, stock data, financials and other vital information. Important note: downloading company lists is not available on the academic subscription.
- Statistical Insight This link opens in a new windowSearch statistical publications from US and state government agencies, international intergovernmental organizations, professional and trade organizations, business organizations, commercial publishers, independent research organizations, and universities.
- NAICS/SIC Identification ToolsThese codes classify business activities by industry sector. They can be used to tabulate economic statistics, categorize companies by type of business, etc.
Online journals
Population Data
Other data sources
- Census Bureau Economic StatisticsThe Census Bureau collects data every five years for every industry. This portal provides access to national, state, county, and local statistics from the Economic Census and monthly economic indicator reports.
- Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social ResearchICPSR is a data repository housing primarily political and social science datasets.
Agencies / Offices
- U.S. Army Corps of EngineersResearch and Development Center page located at https://www.erdc.usace.army.mil/
- U.S. Department of the Interior National Park ServiceScience and Research page located at https://www.nps.gov/nature/science-and-research.htm
- U.S. Fish & Wildlife ServiceConservation library available at https://nctc.fws.gov/resources/knowledge-resources/.
- U.S. Forest ServiceResearch and Development page located at https://www.fs.fed.us/research/.
- U.S. Department of the Interior Bureau of Land ManagementScientific research page located at https://www.blm.gov/programs/national-conservation-lands/about/science-on-the-lands.
- National Travel & Tourism OfficeResearch programs information available at https://travel.trade.gov/research/index.html
- World Tourism OrganizationPublications library available at https://www.unwto.org/unwto-publications
Library Tutorials and Tools
- Tutorial: Creating an effective search strategyDevelop effective search strategies for your research papers, case studies, or discussion posts.
- Tutorial: Evaluating sourcesEvaluating sources is an important part of the research process. In this tutorial learn some important evaluation techniques, and discover clues you can use to determine if a source is reliable.
Last Updated: Oct 2, 2024 4:03 PM
URL: https://libguides.umn.edu/c.php?g=1098880