Research Guides: JOUR 5725: Management of Media Organizations: Home

Related Resources

New York Times (1980 - present)
Full-text coverage of the New York Times to present day. Does not include photos, illustrations, ads, wire stories, or other page-image level access. (via ProQuest Newsstream)
New York Times (2008 - 3 months ago)
Full digital replicas of recent content from the newspaper (including full-text articles, photos, illustrations, ads, etc.). Does not include the most recent 3 months of content. (via ProQuest Recent Newspapers)
Wall Street Journal (WSJ.COM)
Access to the articles, photographs, charts, podcasts, videos and other premium content available on the WSJ.COM website back to the 2010.

Access available only for University of Minnesota Twin Cities students, faculty, and staff. No guest access available. Each user must set up a personal account to save articles, create alerts, download apps, and use other features. Once a personal account is created, you can access WSJ.COM from anywhere. You must, however, log in through https://wsj.com/umntc at least once every 90 days to keep your account active.

AdAge Datacenter and Digital Edition
To access AdAge.com you need to install and use the campus VPN.

You need to access this resource via VPN off campus. Please see more information on VPN at Virtual Private Network (VPN).

AdWeek
Access articles from AdWeek in Business Source Premier.
Hollywood Reporter
Access articles from the Hollywood Reporter in EBSCOHost's Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text.

Business Source Premier
Find business articles from journals and magazines in marketing, management, information technology, operations, human resources, accounting, finance and economics dating back to 1965.
Factiva
Search millions of newspapers, business magazines, and newswires with international and foreign language coverage with all editions of the Wall Street Journal. Financial information for publicly traded companies, stocks, funds, currencies, and common market indexes. Limited to 7 simultaneous users.

Hoovers
Includes information on more than 162 million businesses, both public and private, around the world. Business data includes Annual Revenues, Employee Counts, Corporate Family Tree, Key Contacts, Analyst Reports, SWOT reports, stock data, financials and other vital information.

Access does not work via a mobile device or tablet.
Mergent Intellect (Business)
Mergent Intellect provides access to private and public U.S. and international business data, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, the ability to access industry profiles and much more. It also provides access to contact information for over 250 million U.S. consumers using WhitePages Pro data.

Mintel Market Research
Mintel reports provide market research on consumer products, services, and lifestyles to identify economic drivers, leading companies, market share, market size, trends, segmentation, and analysis of consumer attitudes and purchasing habits. Includes Mintel Trends to analyze consumer trends by sectors, demographics, themes and regions.
Statista
Statista provides statistical data on many topics including media, business, politics, society, technology and education. The Global Consumer Survey offers a global perspective on consumption and media usage, covering the offline and online world of the consumer. It is designed to help marketers, planners and product managers understand consumer behavior and consumer interactions with brands.

ComScore Media Metrix
ComScore is an industry source for web analytics about major online properties, which is useful for consumer and audience research and for statistics and rankings of websites.

University of Minnesota students and staff need to obtain individual accounts in order to use Comscore. Contact the Journalism Librarian to request an account.
Winmo
Information about advertisers, agencies, public relations firms and media buying services. Limited to 2 simultaneous users.

APA Style Guide (Purdue OWL)
A brief online style guide that will show you how to format citations in-text and in your bibliography in APA style.

Last Updated: Dec 22, 2020 4:49 PM