- ArchNetAn open access tool for teaching and learning about architecture, urbanism, environmental and landscape design, visual culture, and conservation related to the Muslim world. Archnet is a partnership between Aga Khan Trust for Culture and the Aga Khan Documentation Center at MIT Libraries.
- Oxford Art OnlineThe most comprehensive online resource for all visual arts worldwide from prehistory to the present day. Provides access to Grove Art Online, Benezit Dictionary of Artists, The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. Access is limited to 8 simultaneous users.
- Avery Index to Architectural PeriodicalsRecognized as one of the world's leading databases of the architectural literature, this indexes more than 1,000 western language periodicals published worldwide on architecture, archaeology, decorative arts, environmental studies, furniture, historic preservation, landscape architecture, urban planning/city planning, interior design, and historic preservation.
- Art Index RetrospectiveArt Index Retrospective covers 55 years (from 1929-1984) of art journalism and research from leading English-language sources, plus others published in French, Italian, German, Spanish, and Dutch. Besides periodicals, resources include data from yearbooks and select museum bulletins.
- Art Full TextSearch for articles in fine, decorative and commercial art, as well as photography, film and architecture. Limited to 20 simultaneous users.
- International Bibliography of ArtSearch journal articles, magazines, reviews, and more on western and European art from late antiquity to the present, American art from the colonial era to the present, and global art since 1945 including painting, sculpture, drawing, video, installations, new media, decorative and applied arts, museum studies and conservation, archaeology, folk art and material culture, classical studies, antiques, architectural history.
- ARTstorARTstor is a cross-disciplinary image database. It offers collections of approximately 300,000 art images and descriptive information covering art, architecture and archeology.
Then try any of the following:
- Discover Islamic ArtA virtual museum that explores Islamic art and material culture in the Mediterranean region. Artefacts, monuments, and sites span 1,280 years from 634 when the Muslim Arab armies first entered the Levant, to the fall of the Ottoman Empire at the beginning of the 20th century. The historical artefacts, monuments, and historical sites in the museum are located in Portugal, Spain, Italy, Morocco, Tunisia, Algeria, Egypt, Jordan, the Palestinian Authority, Syria, and Turkey with relevant objects from museum collections in Germany, Sweden, and the United Kingdom.
- Islamic Heritage ProjectA digital collection of Islamic manuscripts, published texts, and maps from Harvard's libraries and museums.
- Qatar Digital LibraryAn open-access archive with 2,106,162 items in their digital collections focused on modern history and culture of the Gulf and wider region. Formats of materials include letters, maps, photographs, manuscripts, illustrations, books, diaries, and more, dated between 900 CE to 1999.
- Pattern in Islamic ArtAn archive with over 4,000 images of architectural decoration, highlighting the patterns from the Islamic World. Digital collections include a series of slideshows presenting 50 selected images from a particular country or region, the main archive by region with images indexed by medium, location,a nd specific monuments. Additionally, there are drawings, diagrams and analyses, background notes, earlier published material, and a glossary and bibliography.
- Arabic Collections OnlineAn open access digital library of Arabic language content established with support by NYU Abu Dhabi and major grants for mass digitization. The digital collections include 17,262 volumes across 10,148 subjects from distinguished research libraries.
Also check out:
- Aga Khan MuseumA digital collection that features art from historically significant Muslim civilizations and contemporary Muslim communities around the world. The core of permanent collection was assembled by Prince Sadruddin Aga Khan (1933-2003) and uncle of His Highness, Prince Karim Aga Khan IV, creating the foundation to North America's first museum dedicated exclusively to Islamic Arts. Materials in the collection span from Spain and North Africa across the Middle East to South Asia.
- Arab Image FoundationAn archive that has been collecting, studying, exhibiting, curating, and creating photography for the last 20 years in collaboration with artists, curators, researchers, and other institutions. Digital collections include more than 500,000 photographs taken by both amateur and professional photographers dating from 1860s to present day, spanning more than 50 countries.
- Museum of Islamic Art, DohaA museum and library that features digital collections of ceramics, glass, manuscripts, metalwork, coins, and textiles, from Islamic communities. The library includes over 21,000 books on Islamic art, one of the largest collections in the region.
Islamic Studies Resources
- Index IslamicusSearch publications (e.g. journals, books) on Islam and the Muslim world more broadly, spanning Africa, the Middle East, Africa and Asia. Search for topics such as history, beliefs, societies, cultures, economics, politics, languages and literature.
- Encyclopaedia of IslamSearch the Encyclopeadia of Islam for authoritative information on Islamic studies, covering Islam and its believers in contexts up through the 20th Century.
Last Updated: Jan 24, 2023 3:36 PM