- Oxford English Dictionary OnlineFull-text of the 2nd ed. The OED covers words from across the English-speaking world. It also offers etymological analysis, listings of variant spellings, and shows pronunciation using the International Phonetic Alphabet.
- Oxford Reference OnlineContains 100 language and subject dictionaries and other reference works, and searches across these resources. Limited to 5 simultaneous users.
- eHRAF World CulturesContains ethnographic information on over 360 cultures of the world, past and present. To find ethnographies first select "Browse Cultures." Locate the group you are interested in and then click Collection Documents to view works (including ethnographies) about that group.
- Native Peoples of the World byISBN: 9781315702155Publication Date: 2015-03-10This work examines the world's indigenous peoples, their cultures, the countries in which they reside, and the issues that impact these groups.
Reference Sources: Folklore, Mythology, Symbols
- The Oxford Companion to World Mythology byCall Number: Wilson Library BL312.L44 2005ISBN: 9780195156690Publication Date: 2005-11-17In the Oxford Companion to World Mythology, David Leeming explores the role of mythology, or myth-logic, in history and determines that the dreams of specific cultures add up to a larger collective story of humanity.
- A Dictionary of World Mythology byISBN: 9780192177476Publication Date: 1990-04-19Arthur Cotterell sets out clearly the chief myths of the world and explains why different mythologies arose in different lands, from the powerful gods of Greece, Rome, and Scandinavia to the mystical deities of Buddhist and Hindu India.
- Adonis to Zorro: Oxford dictionary of Reference and Allusion byISBN: 9780199567454Publication Date: 2010-12-02This dictionary explains meanings of allusions in modern English.
- The Ashgate Encyclopedia of Literary and Cinematic Monsters byISBN: 9781409425625Publication Date: 2014-01-08This concise Encyclopedia provides scholars and students with a comprehensive and authoritative A-Z of monsters throughout the ages. Over 200 entries written by experts in the field are accompanied by an overview introduction by the editor.
- Dictionary of Mythology, Folklore and Symbols byISBN: 9780810820364Briefly describes folklore, myths, symbols, names, beliefs, and customs of cultures, religions, and civilizations.
- A Dictionary of Literary Symbols byISBN: 9781316771426Explicates examples of symbolism in (mostly English) literature to the twentieth century as well as Classical and Biblical works.
- Motif-Index of Folk-Literature byISBN: 9780253338846Publication Date: 1960-01-22The online version of Stith Thompson's 6 volume classic work Motif-Index of Folk Literature: a Classification of Narrative Elements in Folktales, Ballads, Myths, Fables, Mediaeval Romances, Exempla, Fabliaux, Jest-Books, and Local Legends available through HathiTrust. Print edition located in Wilson Library GR67 .T52
- Encyclopedia MythicaAn open source internet encyclopedia on mythology, folklore, and religion.
- Dictionary of SymbolismOpen access symbolism dictionary sponsored by the University of Michigan.
- HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new windowHathiTrust provides access to millions of books and other materials. Full text searching of most books is available and books in the public domain (generally older books) can be freely viewed and/or downloaded. Books still in copyright have more limited access. Users with print-reading disabilities can apply for special access to digitized works by emailing email@example.com.
- Folklore and Mythology Electronic Texts (Folktexts)This site is provided by retired professor D.L. Ashliman and hosted at the University of Pittsburgh. This website is enormously helpful to students studying tales. It has a large number of tales in full-text, with notes and the citation for the source of the text.
- EEBO: Early English Books Online (Page Images)over 125,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640), Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700), and the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661).
Scholarly Article Databases
- Literature OnlineFind literary criticism and scholarly articles on literature included in the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature and The MLA International Bibliography. It also includes an online full text library of literary reference resources and searchable full-text of over 300,000 works of English and American poetry, drama, and prose.
- MLA International BibliographyUse the MLA International Bibliography to find scholarly books and articles on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. This index has been compiled by the Modern Language Association of America since 1926.
- JSTORFind full text articles in academic journals or books on the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences. JSTOR provides articles from the journal's first issue. In some cases the most recent 2-5 years may not be available. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.
- Project MuseSearch for full-text journals in literary theory, classics, history and cultural studies, philosophy, film, theater and performing arts, political science, and mathematics.
- Google Scholar (Setup connection to get to PDFs)Use Google Scholar to find articles from academic publishers, professional societies, research institutes, and scholarly repositories from colleges and universities. If you are using from off-campus access, change the "Library Settings" to University of Minnesota Twin Cities. Look for the "FindIt@U of M Twin Cities" links in your Google Scholar search results to access full text and PDFs. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.
- Anthropology PlusAnthropology Plus provides extensive worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies.. Coverage is from the late 19th century to the present.
- Academic Search PremierA great place to start your research on any topic, search multidisciplinary, scholarly research articles. This database provides access to scholarly and peer reviewed journals, popular magazines and other resources. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.
- MasterFile CompleteSearch magazines, with a small number of journals and newspapers, covering a broad range of disciplines and topics. Includes photos and multimedia.
- Reader's Guide RetrospectiveUseful for researching popular culture in the United States in the late 19th and early 20th century. Search for articles from popular magazines from 1890-1982.
- Harper's Magazine Archive (1850 - present)Complete online access to over 170 years of Harper's, the oldest general-interest monthly magazine in America, featuring narrative journalism, essays and more. Access is for 2 simultaneous users.
- ARTstorARTstor is a cross-disciplinary image database. It offers collections of approximately 300,000 art images and descriptive information covering art, architecture and archeology.
- Oxford Art OnlineThe most comprehensive online resource for all visual arts worldwide from prehistory to the present day. Provides access to Grove Art Online, Benezit Dictionary of Artists, The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. Access is limited to 8 simultaneous users.
- UMediaDiscover 161,819 images, maps, manuscripts, video, audio, and more. UMedia provides open access to digitized materials from across the University of Minnesota.
- Libraries SearchSearch the University of Minnesota Libraries to find books, scholarly journal articles, news, magazines, media, and other items in the University's collection. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.
- WorldCatFind books, journals, articles, maps, music scores, sound recordings, films, theses/dissertations, machine-readable data files, and any other materials available in libraries worldwide. All subject areas are covered. Request items through Interlibrary Loan using the ILLiad link on each item's record. A mobile version of this database is available. Limited to 65 simultaneous users.
Get help from the U Libraries - Online!
Peer Research ConsultantsMake an online 30 minute appointment for one-on-one peer assistance with your research. Get help with researching your topic, finding sources, citing sources and more. Peer Research Consultants can also help you get started with faculty-sponsored research.
Chat 24/7 online with the LibrariesAsk us anything! Chat with a librarian, 24 hours a day, 7 days a week with any research or library questions.
Schedule an online consultation with the LibrariesSchedule an online consultations for personalized research support primarily for University of Minnesota faculty, instructors, graduate and undergraduate students and staff.
Last Updated: Jan 24, 2023 3:36 PM