Librarian
This guide is designed for researchers to find articles and online resources to get started with research in topics related to sustainable design including architecture and interior design, fashion and apparel design, and product design.
Article databases and reference materials
- GreenFILECollection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles. Multidisciplinary by nature, GreenFILE draws on the connections between the environment and agriculture, education, law, health and technology. Topics covered include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
- Sustainability Science AbstractsThis database is a subset of Proquest's Environmental Science Index, exploring human population and demography topics, as well as societal issues involving natural resource management. Includes relevant papers, reports, books and reviews from standard peer-reviewed scientific journals, material from conference proceedings, and hard-to-find gray literature.
- Encyclopedia of Environmental Ethics and PhilosophyExamines the philosophical and ethical issues underlying contemporary and historical environmental issues, policies, and debates. Covers concepts including global warming, animal rights, environmental movements, alternative energy, green chemistry, industrial ecology, and eco-sabotage.
- Pollution AbstractsCombines information on scientific research and government policies in a single resource. Topics are extensively covered from the standpoints of atmosphere, emissions, mathematical models, effects on people and animals, and environmental action in response to global pollution issues. Includes material from conference proceedings and hard-to-find documents, along with information from primary journals in the field. 1960-date
- PAIS Index (Political Science and Public Policy)PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) searches journals and other sources on issues of political science and public policy. This includes government, politics, international relations, human rights and more.
Online resources
- Biophilic Net-Positive Design Project, University of MinnesotaThe Biophilic Net-Positive Design Project is a collaboration between faculty in architecture, interior design, and landscape architecture to explore the intersections between new theories and practices in biophilic, net-positive design, AND regenerative design, including their relationships to sustainable, resilient, socially responsible and equitable design.
- Biomimicry ToolboxBiomimicry applies lessons from nature to design practices for healthier and more sustainable technologies and products. The toolbox provides strategies and methods of application in addition to a reading list, glossary of terms, case studies, and research.
- AIGA Iowa: Sustainable Design ResourcesA list of resources and tools that assist designers with implementing sustainable design practices into their work.
- U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)The Environmental Protection Agency protects people and the environment from significant health risks, sponsors and conducts research, and develops and enforces environmental regulations.
- U.S. Energy Information Administration Consumption and Efficiency DataThe U.S. Energy Information Administration (EIA) collects, analyzes, and disseminates information about energy and its interaction with the economy and the environment.
- E&E NewsAn online American news source that features journalistic articles covering the topics of energy, environmental policy, climate change, markets and science.
- GreenFactsAn initiative that publishes summaries of existing scientific reports on health, the environment, and sustainable development.
Professional organizations
- University of Minnesota Institute on the EnvironmentIonE’s mission is to lead the way toward a future in which people and the environment prosper together. IonE’s pioneering approach bridges disciplines and sectors to create a synergistic setting in which to carry out three broad and interacting areas: Discovering solutions, educating leaders, and engaging partners.
- AIGA MinnesotaA professional association for designers that creates programming, professional development opportunities, and social networking opportunities in Minnesota.
Last Updated: Sep 23, 2024 3:07 PM
URL: https://libguides.umn.edu/c.php?g=1311166