Guide for undergraduates to find sources and resources on marijuana-related issues.
Example keywords and subtopics
Example keywords or search terms:
- cannibus or marijuana
- marijuana
- medical marijuana
- medical cannibus
- recreational marijuana
- CBD or cannabinoid
- hemp
- THC or tetrahydrocannabinol
- recreational marijuana
- retail or stores
- marijuana or cannabis or pot or weed or thc or cannabinoids
- edibles or edible cannabis
- drug addiction
- substance abuse
- alternative to opioids
- attitudes or perceptions or opinions or thoughts or feelings or beliefs
- legal or law or legislation or policy or regulation
- police or policing or law enforcement
Tip: This is a big topic with lots written so you can often focus on one or two subtopics. This will help to find more relevant sources, more quickly and be a better fit for an assignment. Here are a few examples of potential areas a research project regarding social media might examine:
health impacts, public health, cultural practices, medical uses, policy changes over time, legalization, growing, use in agriculture, police or criminal justice aspects and more.
Explore additional UMN Libraries research guides
*New* Cannabis Research Center launches at UMN School of Public Health
University of Minnesota School of Public Health has launched a new Cannabis Research Center (CRC). The center will assess the impact of adult-use cannabis legalization and help inform future cannabis policies and practices across the state of Minnesota.
Search article databases
Article databases are a very useful tool because many of them search high-quality, scholarly sources like academic journal articles, or more popular sources such as newspaper or magazine articles. Watch this tutorial to learn more about databases.
A few databases to explore for this topic:
- Opposing Viewpoints in ContextFind articles on current issues, including viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, magazine and newspaper articles.
- Academic Search PremierA great place to start your research on any topic, search multidisciplinary, scholarly research articles. This database provides access to scholarly and peer reviewed journals, popular magazines and other resources. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.
- CQ ResearcherCQ Researcher provides in-depth coverage of important issues of the day. Reports are written by experienced journalists, footnoted, and professionally fact-checked. Full-length articles include an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, plus resources for additional research. Shorter "Hot Topics" articles provide a solid introduction to subjects in demand.
- PubMedSearches MEDLINE, which is the primary source of journal articles for the health sciences (fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, public health, health care systems, and basic sciences). Coverage is from the 1940s to the present. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.
- HeinOnline This link opens in a new windowHuge legal search tool with full-text of legal journals, legal histories, government documents, state and federal cases, international law and includes coverage of many older legal materials. Contains the Congressional Record, Federal Register, and Code of Federal Regulations, complete coverage of the U.S. Reports (Supreme Court) back to 1754.
Example searches
The important thing to remember is that searching on databases is different from searching on google. Instead of typing your question try using your keywords to search topics together.
In this example, we search the database Academic Search Premier for the search on (cannibus OR marijuana) AND (law OR legal OR legislation OR policy OR regulation) AND minnesota to get results. The results are sorted by "relevance" but you can select "data newest" if that is more useful.
Minnesota government and federal sources
Minnesota is the 23rd state in the nation to legalize cannabis use for people 21 and older in July 2023. Learn more about the legislation.
- Minnesota Office Cannabis Management
- Minnesota’s Hemp Program
- Minnesota Issues Resource Guides Cannabis - This guide is compiled by staff at the Minnesota Legislative Reference Library on a topic of interest to state legislators. It introduces the topic and points to sources for further research.
- Adult-Use Cannabis: What Cities Need to Know from the League of Minnesota Cities
Search newspapers and newspaper databases
- Minneapolis Star Tribune (1986 to present) This link opens in a new windowFull-text articles from the recent issues of the Star Tribune. Does not include wire stories, ads, photos, or other non-textual article content from the paper. (via ProQuest Newsstream). Note: There is a one-day embargo on content.
- St. Paul Pioneer Press (1948 to present) This link opens in a new windowSearch and browse historical and current issues of the St. Paul Pioneer Press and related titles. Full-page digital images of the complete paper are available for the historical archive (1948 to 1987) as well as the most recent issues (2018 to present). Articles from 1988 to 2018 are available in full-text, but without page images. (via Access World News)
- State of Minnesota WebsiteMinnesota.gov is the entry point to Minnesota State government information and services including the Governor, state, local, region and tribal governments and links to government services.
- Comprehensive Guide for Minnesota & Local Government InformationA thorough directory of sources for policy and legislation in the state of Minnesota.
Statistics
- Drug Abuse Statistics
- National Center for Drug Abuse Statistics
- Features the most noteworthy drug abuse statistics and data surrounding drug addiction in the United States, including overdose deaths, addiction by drug type, and overall illicit drug use.
- Drug Use
- Our World in Data
- FastStats: Illicit Drug Use
- CDC
- National Addiction & HIV Data Archive Program
- The National Addiction & HIV Data Archive Program acquires, preserves and disseminates data relevant to drug addiction and HIV research. The scope of the data housed at NAHDAP covers a wide range of legal and illicit drugs (alcohol, tobacco, marijuana, cocaine, synthetic drugs, and others) and the trajectories, patterns, and consequences of drug use as well as related predictors and outcomes.
- Substance Abuse and Mental Health Data Archive (SAMHDA)
- SAMHDA provides public-use data files, file documentation, and access to restricted-use data files to support a better understanding of this critical area of public health.
- National Survey on Drug Use & Health
- Drinking, smoking, marijuana, cocaine and other illegal drug use statistics.
Sample of online books
Medical Cannabis and the Effects of Cannabinoids on Fighting Cancer, Multiple Sclerosis, Epilepsy, Parkinson's, and Other Neurodegenerative Diseases by ISBN: 9781668456538Publication Date: 2023-03-07Research on the therapeutic efficacy of cannabinoids has demonstrated that cannabidiol (CBD), either alone or in 1:1 mixtures with delta-9-tetrahydrocannabinol (THC), can effectively treat animals in experimental models of neuroinflammatory, demyelinative, neurodegenerative, neuropsychiatric, and neoplastic diseases. Short-term, small-scale, human cohorts, observational studies, randomized, non-randomized, placebo-controlled, and uncontrolled clinical trials have provided low-certainty and moderate-certainty evidence that medical marijuana can reduce spasticity, neuropathic pain, neuroinflammation, anxiety, sleep disturbance, urinary bladder dysfunction, frequency and duration of seizure, tumor size, and metastasis as well as promote overall cancer survival. Medical Cannabis and the Effects of Cannabinoids on Fighting Cancer, Multiple Sclerosis, Epilepsy, Parkinson's, and Other Neurodegenerative Diseases presents the findings from clinical and basic medical scientists who are investigating the cellular and molecular mechanisms of cannabinoid-mediated inhibition of innate and adaptive immune responses, mobilization of myeloid-derived immunosuppressive cells, enhancement of neuroprotection, facilitation of oligodendrocyte survival, promotion of CNS progenitor cell differentiation to support regeneration and remyelination, arrest of tumor cell proliferation, decrease in tumor cell adhesion, disruption of tumor angiogenesis, inhibition of endothelial cells, and prevention of cancer metastasis by inhibition of cell migration. The chapters further discuss pharmacologic challenges and precisely how the delicate balance between the opposing effects of various types of cannabinoid receptors can be controlled by manipulating specific membrane channels and signaling pathways to achieve favorable long-term clinicopathologic outcomes in oncology and neurology. Covering topics such as neurodegenerative diseases, spectroscopic applications, and ethical issues, this premier reference source is an essential resource for medical professionals, pharmacists, hospital administrators, government officials, students and faculty of higher education, librarians, researchers, and academicians.
Rapid Innovation and Development in the Global Cannabis Market by ISBN: 9781668463482Publication Date: 2023-01-09In recent years, the public has become acquainted with the benefits of cannabis following the legalization of the use of cannabis-based products such as medicinal products, skincare and body products, CBD, and other developments. This has resulted in an economically viable industry that requires high-level investigation in order for countries to fully benefit from it. Rapid Innovation and Development in the Global Cannabis Market considers the recent innovations and developments in the global cannabis market, captures the effects of different policies governing the industry, and documents products and processes innovations. Covering topics such as market potential, government intervention, and sustainable models, this reference work is ideal for government officials, policymakers, industry professionals, researchers, scholars, practitioners, academicians, instructors, and students.
Cannabis Sativa Cultivation, Production, and Applications in Pharmaceuticals and Cosmetics by ISBN: 9781668457191Publication Date: 2023-03-21Cannabis sativa has a long history; however, it has not been fully exploited for its beneficial uses. This plant can solve many present challenges, including challenges found in the pharmaceutical and cosmetic industries. Bioprospecting of this very important plant can generate economic upliftment of weaker sections of society and states if properly used under rules and regulations. Cannabis sativa Cultivation, Production, and Applications in Pharmaceuticals and Cosmetics discusses in detail the current research conducted in the area of Cannabis sativa in order to make it more useful and sustainable for the future. It further focuses on the exploration of Cannabis sativa phytoconstituents in various fields, especially in the pharmaceutical and cosmetic industries. Covering topics such as bioactive properties, molecular modeling, and soil pollutants, this premier reference source is an excellent resource for pharmacologists, pharmacists, health professionals, food scientists, agricultural scientists, botanists, chemists, students and educators of higher education, librarians, researchers, and academicians.- Marijuana and Madness byISBN: 9781108943246Publication Date: 2023-05-12An updated third edition of this award-winning book provides a comprehensive overview of the complex associations between cannabis and mental illness. Organised into easy to navigate sections, the book has been fully revised to feature eight entirely new chapters covering important novel aspects. Marijuana and Madness incorporates new research findings on the potential use of cannabinoids, and synthetic cannabinoids, in an array of mental illnesses, balanced against the potential adverse effects. The associations between cannabis and psychosis, developing putative models of 'cannabis induced' psychosis and pathways to schizophrenia are all covered. The book importantly discusses the impact of exposure to cannabis at various stages of neurodevelopment (in utero, in childhood, and during adolescence) and it thoroughly reviews the treatments for cannabis dependence and health policy implications of the availability of increasingly high potency cannabis. This book will quickly become an essential resource for all members of the mental health team.
Weed Rules : blazing the way to a just and joyful marijuana policy by Call Number: Law Library KF3891.M2 W49 2023ISBN: 9780520343924Publication Date: 2023-04-18With full legalization seeming inevitable, it's time to shift the conversation--from whether recreational cannabis should be legalized to how. Weed Rules argues that it's time for states to abandon their "grudging tolerance" approach to legal weed and to embrace "careful exuberance." In this thorough and witty book, law professor Jay Wexler invites policy makers to responsibly embrace the enormous benefits of cannabis, including the joy and euphoria it brings to those who use it. The "grudging tolerance" approach has led to restrictions that are too strict in some cases--limiting how and where cannabis can be used, cultivated, marketed, and sold--and far too loose in others, allowing employers and police to discriminate against users. This book shows how focusing on joy and community can lead us to an equitable marijuana policy in which minority communities, most harmed by the war on drugs, play a leading role in the industry. Centering pleasure and fun as legitimate policy goals, Weed Rules puts forth specific policies to advocate for a more just, sensible, and joyous post-legalization society.
Last Updated: Jan 25, 2024 12:25 PM
URL: https://libguides.umn.edu/c.php?g=1347186