Artifact Research

A significant difference between citation styles is that the "note and bibliography" form of Chicago style allows writers to use numerical endnotes and footnotes in places where APA and MLA styles would require parenthetical in-text citations.  Another alternative to the Chicago style is called the Author/Date style.  The following examples will demonstrate the Chicago style in humanities citation.

Here is a typical "notes and bibliography" example:

An Indigenous Peoples' History of the United States moves from theoretical interventions by suggesting clearly that America was never a new frontier, let alone a "New World," but in fact, "a birthplace of agriculture and the towns and cities that followed, America is ancient"¹

¹ Roxanne Dunbar-Ortiz, An Indigenous Peoples' History of the United States, (Boston: Beacon Press, 2014), pp. 15

Reference List

Dunbar-Ortiz, Roxanne, An Indigenous Peoples' History of the United States for Young People. Boston, Massachusetts, Beacon Press, 2014.

Note:

1. Author Firstname Lastname, Title of Book, (City: Publisher, Year), page numbers.

Bibliography:

Author Lastname, Firstname. Title of Book. City: Publisher, Year. URL/DOI.

Note:

1. Author Firstname Lastname, “Chapter of Book” in Title of Book, ed. Firstname Lastname, nth ed., (Place of Publication: Publisher, Year), page numbers, URL/DOI.

Bibliography:

Author Lastname, Firstname. “Chapter Title.” In Book, edited by Firstname Lastname. City: Publisher, Year. URL/DOI/Medium.

Notes:

Bibliography:

Please refer to the Chicago Manual of Style Online Citation Guide, as most websites might not have all the information required for a complete citation.  The citation guide will show you many methods and examples on notes and bibliography for web content.

Note:

1. Author First Name/Initial Surname, Image Title, Year, medium, size, Museum or place image is, Location, URL.

Bibliography:

Author Lastname, First Name or Initial. Image Title. Year. Medium. size. Museum or place image is, Location, URL.

Note:

1. Author First Name/Initial Surname, Photograph Title, Year Photo was Taken (if provided), in Book Title (Place of Publication: Publisher, Year), page or plate #.

Bibliography:

Author Surname, First Name or Initial. Photograph Title. Year Photo was Taken (if provided). In Book Title. Place of Publication: Publisher, Year, page or plate #.

Notes:

Title or description of item, date (day, month, year), Collection number or identifier, box number, folder number, Collection Name, Name of Repository, Location of Repository. URL if applicable.

Bibliography:

Last Name, First Name of author. Name of Collection. Name of Repository, Location of Repository.