Have questions?
Contact me for research help on this subject.
Librarian
Major databases for search in lots of articles
Click on the guides below to find a list of databases related to the topic:
-
Education SourceSearch full-text education journals covering all levels of education--from early childhood to higher education--as well as all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education and testing.
-
Academic Search PremierA great place to start your research on any topic, search multidisciplinary, scholarly research articles. This database provides access to scholarly and peer reviewed journals, popular magazines and other resources. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.
-
Ethnic NewsWatchEthnic NewsWatch is a current resource of full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press from 1990, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives.
-
GenderWatchSearch articles from journals, etc. that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas such as the women's movement, men's studies, the transgender community and the changes in gender roles.
-
Web of ScienceA comprehensive interdisciplinary collection of journal article citations. Subjects generally covered are within science and technology, arts and humanities, and social sciences. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.
Sample of keywords
These are examples to help you get started thinking about what big concepts and key terms might be helpful to use in your search. Try to use a variety of search terms and key words as you search. Watch this short video to learn more about keywords and developing a search strategy.
Note: words and what we call things changes over time. Be aware of your search terms and consider if you need to use newer terms to find newer articles or older terms (which might not be used as much today) for more historical sources. Be flexible.
- disability
- disability or disabilities or disabled
- inclusion or inclusivity
- impairment or impaired
- special education or learning disabilities
- special or special needs
- art
- arts or art or performing arts or visual arts or creative arts
- arts or music or dance or theater or painting or photography
- curriculum or curricula or instruction or teaching or learning
- teaching or teachers or educating or educators
- social emotional learning or social emotional development or sel
- social-emotional or social emotional or socioemotional
- creative activities or art activities or art
- self-advocacy or self advocacy
- ebd or emotional behavioral disorder or emotional disturbance or behavior disorder or emotion disorder
- black or african american or african-american or black american
- consent or informed consent or decision making
Sample of ebooks
-
Dramatherapy and learning disabilities : developing emotional growth, autonomy and self-worth
by
ISBN: 9781003091783Publication Date: 2024Dramatherapy and Learning Disabilities demonstrates the power of dramatherapy to help clients with learning disabilities, addressing current research, evidence-based work, and methods in the dramatherapy and learning disabilities fields. Featuring contribution from 19 dramatherapists with a range of clients of all ages who have moderate to severe learning disabilities, this book presents ways in which dramatherapists are innovating new approaches to their work in the field. The authors demonstrate their expertise but also acknowledge their limitations. They explore what it is like to work in multidisciplinary teams and with parents and carers of children and adults with learning disabilities. Each chapter provides detailed vignettes of client/therapist experience and enables the reader to gain insight into therapists' thinking and the process that guides their clinical judgement. -
Aesthetics, gender, and disability in interactive digital art and performance art byISBN: 2024032597Publication Date: 2025This book explores the tensions between aesthetics, gender and disability in contemporary digital media installations and performance art. Notions of agency and subjectivity are connected to four contemporary political issues (artificial intelligence; migration and political violence; contemporary medical technologies and practices; the Anthropocene) and analyzed against a Western legacy of utopian and dystopian ideas and desires that have shaped, and continue to shape, what it means to be human. The book's main argument is that agency and subjectivity are not universal attributes; rather they are socio-material entanglements and contextually bound enactments that are strategically negotiated by the subject. Thus, they involve conflict, struggle and other forms of resistance. The book will be of interest to scholars working in art history, media and cultural studies, disability studies, and gender studies.
-
The Routledge Handbook of Disability Arts, Culture, and Media
ISBN: 9781351254663Publication Date: 2018-12-07In the last 30 years, a distinctive intersection between disability studies - including disability rights advocacy, disability rights activism, and disability law - and disability arts, culture, and media studies has developed. The two fields have worked in tandem to offer critique of representations of disability in dominant cultural systems, institutions, discourses, and architecture, and develop provocative new representations of what it means to be disabled. -
Self-efficacy and success : narratives of adults with disabilities
by
ISBN: 9783031149658Publication Date: 2023Based on the analysis of eighteen authentic and inspiring personal stories, this book illustrates how people with severe childhood disabilities achieved extraordinary career success. Growing up, the people surrounding them and environmental conditions helped them develop their self-efficacy. The book is divided into four parts. It begins by discussing the elusive essence of success, especially for people with disabilities. The authors then discuss selfefficacy, and how it pertains to occupations of people with disabilities. Part two (school years) and part three (higher education) address some of the challenges experienced by students with disabilities. It shows how parents and educational figures helped them enhance their self-efficacy. -
The Oxford Handbook of Music and Disability Studies
ISBN: 9780199378579Publication Date: 2016The essays in this volume share a theoretical and methodological connection to Disability Studies, especially its central idea that disability is a social and cultural construction. Disability is shown to be a core feature of the musical identity of music makers (especially composers and performers), something that affects their lives and works and their public reception. Music represents disability in various ways and affirms the notion that disability is a performance, something you do rather than something you are. These essays make the case that disability is not something at the periphery of culture and music, but something central to our art and to our humanity. -
How does disability performance travel? : access, art, and internationalization
by
ISBN: 9781003231066Publication Date: 2024This edited collection investigates the myriad ways in which disability performance travels in a globalized world. Disability arts festivals are growing in different parts of the world; theatre and dance companies with disabled artists are increasingly touring and collaborating with international partners. At the same time, theatre spaces are often not accessible, and the necessity of mobility excludes some disabled artists from being part of an international disability arts community. -
Improvised Theatre and the Autism Spectrum
by
ISBN: 9781003207627Publication Date: 2021-11-29This guide provides educators, professionals, and parents with an easy-to-follow and comprehensive approach to utilizing improvised theatre as a tool to teach social and communication skills to individuals on the autism spectrum. Opening with the philosophy of the curriculum and the considerations of mental health, play, and environmental factors on individuals with autism, the book then breaks down specific activities, suggests course sequencing, and explains how each activity works and applies to desired outcomes. Packed with dozens of activities and explanations, the book includes all the information necessary to design a full curriculum or create an at-home learning program for parents. By combining the fun and engaging atmosphere of improvisational theatre with the systematic teaching of social skills, professionals and parents can cultivate learning in a way that keeps students engaged while providing long-lasting improvements in social interaction, self-confidence, and communication. -
Art therapy in a learning disability setting : subjectivity and institutional life
by
ISBN: 9781003360056Publication Date: 2024This book originates from the experience of providing Art Therapy for adults diagnosed with learning disabilities living in an institutional setting. It follows two longitudinal case studies in attempt to understand dyadic relations in Art Therapy. Representing an important contribution to the history of Art Therapy, especially as it relates to the history of learning disabilities, this book explores past and contemporary discourses and contexts to identify a meaningful, thoughtful approach to the making and reading of images and the client/therapist relationship. It presents the thinking that informed the author's practice at the time, from both the point of view of the time and its present moment, to contextualize contemporary art therapy practice -
Title The Routledge international handbook of critical disability studies byISBN: 9780429324604Publication Date: 2025Disability impacts everyone in some way. Approximately 10-20% of the world's population live with disability, and the associated issues affect not just these individuals but their friends, family and colleagues. When looking at it this way, it is strange that disability continues to be thought of as an anomaly - either as a medical problem located in a damaged body or something that exists exclusively outside the body, in a society that takes little account of non-normative bodies. Critical disability studies both questions these existing notions of disability and interrogates how they have become a part of the academic attitude towards the field.
-
Museum-Based Art Therapy
by
ISBN: 9781003014386Publication Date: 2021-11-29This practical and inspirational resource offers a wide range of information about museum-based art therapy and wellness programming in various museums. Featuring contributions from art therapists and access professionals from various museum-based wellness programs, the book describes museum-based art therapy, education, access, and inclusion to enlarge the scope of professional development and higher education training in art therapy and its relation to museum studies. Chapter examples of successful museum art therapy and wellness initiatives increase awareness about the role of art therapy in museums and the role of museums in building healthy societies and improving lives. The text also contributes to the field of art therapy by deconstructing traditional narratives about therapy being conceived only as a clinical treatment, and by introducing arts-based approaches and strategies in museums as expanding territories for being proactive in community health and wellness. Museum-based Art Therapy is a valuable guide for art students who are interested in working in museum education, access and disabilities, or museum studies, and graduates and professionals working across the disciplines of museums, art therapy, and disability studies. -
Craft in Art Therapy : diverse approaches to the transformative power of craft materials and methods
by
ISBN: 9781003050513Publication Date: 2020-07-27Craft in Art Therapy is the first book dedicated to illustrating the incorporation of craft materials and methods into art therapy theory and practice. Contributing authors provide examples of how they have used a range of crafts including pottery, glass work, textiles (sewing, knitting, crochet, embroidery, and quilting), paper (artist books, altered books, book binding, origami, and zines), leatherwork, and Indian crafts like mendhi and kolam/rangoli in their own art and self-care, and in individual, group, and community art therapy practice. The book explores the therapeutic benefits of a range of craft materials and media, as well as craft's potential to build community, to support individuals in caring for themselves and each other, and to play a valuable role in art therapy practice. Craft in Art Therapy demonstrates that when practiced in a culturally sensitive and socially conscious manner, craft practices are more than therapeutic--they also hold transformational potential. -
Intercultural Arts Therapies Research
by
ISBN: 1317536932Publication Date: 2016-07-07Intercultural Arts Therapies Research: Issues and methodologies is the first overarching study on intercultural practice and research models in the arts therapies. It provides a new departure from traditional arts therapies education and research in that it focuses on research studies only. Written by international experts in the field, the book offers a selection of diverse research undertaken within four arts therapies modalities: art, dance, drama and music. Drawing on methodologies such as ethnography, phenomenology and case study research, chapters focus on cultural identity, the transposition of cultural practices to a different context, and the implications of different languages for arts therapies and disability culture. With reference to primary research, it aims to help practitioners and students to develop further research, by making the mechanics of the research process explicit and transparent. Intercultural Arts Therapies Research will appeal to arts therapists, psychological therapy practitioners, postgraduate students and other health and social care professionals. It will also be of interest to students, artists, teachers, social workers and those working for international aid agencies. -
Indigenous disability studies byISBN: 2024009886Publication Date: 2025This book provides a comprehensive approach to the perspectives, lived experiences, and socio-cultural beliefs of Indigenous scholars regarding disabilities through a distinctions-based approach. Indigenous people demonstrate considerable knowledge in a multitude of compacities in spite of legal, monetary, social, economic, health, and political inequalities that they experience within from administrative authorities whether health, education or governments. By include various knowledge systems related to: social-cultural, traditional governance, spirituality, educational, and self-representation within a communal understanding, the knowledge brought forth will be a combination of information from within/communal and outwards/infusion by Indigenous teachers, scholars, academics, and professionals who aim to combat the negative effects of disability labels and policies that have regulated Indigenous peoples.
Sample of useful journals
Selected Journals
Browse current issues to find trends and new developments or use the database listed to search on a topic.
Teaching art
Art Education (1950 to present)
Search using Education Source database.
Studies in Art Education (1962 to present)
Search using Education Source database.
International Journal of Art & Design in Education
Search using Scopus database
Disability Education in the Classroom
Topics in Early Childhood Special Education (1981 to present)
Search using Academic Search Premier database
Teacher Education and Special Education (1977 to present)
Search using Education Source database
International Journal of Disability, Development and Education (1989 to present)
Search using Education Source database
Journal of intellectual disability research (1957 to present)
Search using Academic Search Premier database
International journal of developmental disabilities (2012 to present)
Search using Web of Science database
Sensory Friendly Environments
International journal of developmental disabilities (2012 to present)
Search using Web of Science database
Frontiers in psychology (2010 to present)
Search using Scopus database
Journal of occupational therapy, schools & early intervention (2008 to present)
Search using Scopus database
The British journal of occupational therapy (1974 to present)
Search using Scopus database
International journal of environmental research and public health (2004 to present)
Search using Web of Science database
International journal of early childhood special education (2009 to present)
Search using Education Source database
Journal of intellectual disability research (1957 to present)
Search using Academic Search Premier database
Journal of research in special educational needs (2001 to present)
Search using Education Source database
Play Based Learning
American journal of play (2008 to present)
Search using Web of Science database
Australasian journal of early childhood (1999 to present)
Remember research is in a non-US context
Search using Academic Search Premier database
Teaching and teacher education (1985 to present)
Search using Education Source database
Contemporary issues in early childhood (2000-present)
Search using Education Source database
European early childhood education research journal (1997 to present)
Search using Education Source database
The Elementary school journal (1914 to present)
Search using Education Source database
Professional development in education (2009 to present)
Search using Web of Science
Early education and development (1989 to present)
Search using Education Source database
Journal of education for teaching (1981 to present)
Search using Education Source database
Educational practice & theory (use Interlibrary Loan to request PDFs)
Search using Scopus database.
The Australian journal of teacher education (1996 to present)
Search using Web of Science database
The international journal of early childhood learning (2014 to present)
Search using Education Source database
International journal of educational research (1986-2023)
Search using Education Source database
Educational research (1997 to present)
Search using Education Source database
Education and society (use Interlibrary Loan to request PDFs)
Search using Education Source database.