Find useful resources for GWSS1003W.
Library services for undergraduates
-
Library Services for UndergraduatesExplore a variety of services for Undergraduates from study spaces to finding sources to tools to coffee shops.
Useful databases to search
-
America: History and LifeAmerica: history and life provides historical coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present with over 2,000 journals including all key English-language historical journals. Limited to 6 simultaneous users.
-
Historical AbstractsFind journal articles covering world history from 1450 to the present. Limited to 6 simultaneous users.
-
LGBTQ+ SourceLGBTQ+ Source contains indexing, abstracts, amd select full text for LGBTQ+ specific core periodicals. Books, newsletters, case studies, dissertations, and core primary sources are also represented. LGBTQ+ Source content is largely unique from other databases, and it includes indexing from its own LGBTQ+ focused thesaurus.
-
Literature OnlineFind literary criticism and scholarly articles on literature included in the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature and The MLA International Bibliography. It also includes an online full text library of literary reference resources and searchable full-text of over 300,000 works of English and American poetry, drama, and prose.
-
Women's Studies InternationalThis database is a compilation of ten databases covering journal articles, books, anthology chapters, and reports for feminist writings from 1972 to the present.
Getting full text
When using Library resources, the FindIt link is your connection to accessing the full text of articles if a PDF link is not already visible.
This short video will show you how to get to the articles you need for your research paper or other University of Minnesota assignments. Never pay for articles! If we don't have it online, request it and we will get it for you.
Tutorial: Database search tips
Improve your searches! This guide will help you:
- Apply search modifiers AND, OR, and NOT to your database searches
- Recognize phrase searching and other advanced search techniques
Tutorial: Creating an effective search strategy
After completing this tutorial, you will be able to:
- Use meaningful keywords to find the best sources
- Apply search strategies like AND and OR to connect keywords
Tutorial: Exploring a scholarly research article
-
Tutorial: Exploring a scholarly research articleLearn about the components of a scholarly research article.
Tutorial: What does it mean to be a scholarly source?
After completing this tutorial, you will be able to:
- Recognize a scholarly (versus a popular) source
- Understand how a scholarly source differs from other types of sources
Need help?
We maintain guides for various subjects and have staff available to assist you during the research process. We will always take questions on various topics but do not claim to have expertise in them.
Last Updated: Jun 13, 2025 4:37 PM
URL: https://libguides.umn.edu/course/GWSS/1003W