Have questions?
Have questions?
Contact me for research help on this subject.
Librarian
This guide covers search tools for research in topics related to CFAN 3091V
In-class visit materials
CFANS databases
-
Web of ScienceA comprehensive interdisciplinary collection of journal article citations. Subjects generally covered are within science and technology, arts and humanities, and social sciences. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.
-
CAB Abstracts Plus Full Text SelectCAB Abstracts covers agriculture in its broadest sense, including crop production, forestry, environment, animal health and nutrition, veterinary science, agricultural engineering, biotechnology, soil and water, agricultural economics, recreation and tourism, rural sociology, and human nutrition and health.
-
Agricultural and Environmental Science DatabaseSearch journals and literature on agriculture, pollution, animals, environment, policy, natural resources, water issues and more. Searches tools like AGRICOLA, Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management (ESPM), and Digests of Environmental Impact Statements (EIS) databases.
-
AGRICOLA Agriculture (Ovid)Search agriculture, animal husbandry, animal and human nutrition, forestry, plant pathology, plant science, human ecology, agricultural economics, and rural sociology. Limited to 8 simultaneous users.
-
ScopusSearch for information from scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Covers the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
NOTE: A personal free Elsevier account may be required to perform select actions in the database such as exporting results.
Zotero
Zotero (download link) is a free, open-source citation manager that:
- imports and organizes citations and PDFs;
- recognizes and creates citations for wide range of file types;
- formats citations in thousands of styles including APA and Chicago;
- easily adds in-text citations to Word and Google Doc documents, and creates a bibliography from those citations;
- allows you to add notes to your citation information for later use.
Tutorial: Creating an effective search strategy
-
Tutorial: Creating an effective search strategyDevelop effective search strategies for your research papers, case studies, or discussion posts.
GenAI information and tools
-
Gemini, Co-Pilot, and Other AI ToolsIntroduction to these tools and how to connect with them through your UMN account.
-
GenAI+U: A Student Learning ExperienceThree modules for UMN students to learn to be an effective, ethical and responsible user of GenAI.
Last Updated: Sep 22, 2025 1:19 PM
URL: https://libguides.umn.edu/c.php?g=1490191