This guide is designed for new researchers who need to find articles, sources, and get started with research in topics related to American Indian Studies.
Citing sources in American Indian Studies
The citation style most often used in American Studies is Chicago Note-Bibliography style.
-
Tutorial: What are citations?Understand what citations are, why they are important, and how to create and use them.
Brief style guide for quick reference
-
Chicago style guide (Purdue OWL)A brief online style guide that will show you how to format citations in-text and in your bibliography in Chicago style.
Official style guide for in-depth reference
-
Chicago Manual of Style OnlineThis resource provides online access to the latest edition of The Chicago Manual of Style, which covers a variety of topics from manuscript preparation and publication to grammar, usage, and citation formating. The citation quick guide covers both the author-date and the notes and bibliography systems.
Writing resources
-
Elements of Indigenous Style
by
ISBN: 1550597167Publication Date: 2018"Elements of Indigenous Style provides guidelines to help writers, editors, and publishers produce material that reflects Indigenous people in an appropriate and respectful manner. Gregory Younging, a member of the Opaskwayak Cree Nation in Northern Manitoba, has been the managing editor of Theytus Books, the first Aboriginal-owned publishing house in Canada, for over 13 years."
-
More Than Personal Communication: Templates for Citing Indigenous Elders and Knowledge KeepersArticle by Lorisia MacLeod with templates for citing Indigenous knowledge keepers in APA and MLA.
-
UMN Writing CenterGive credit to those whose work you use in your own writing and help others find your sources. Find information on citing sources using major styles and avoiding plagiarism.
Citation generators
-
ZoteroBibFree and open source tool for formatting individual citations and generating reference lists.
Citation managers
A citation manager is a software tool used to create personalized databases of citation information and notes. They allow you to:
- import and organize citation information from article indexes and other sources,
- export your citations into Word documents or other types of publications,
- format citations for your papers and bibliographies using APA and many other styles, and
- include your own notes.
Choosing a citation manager
Last Updated: Nov 4, 2025 12:11 PM
URL: https://libguides.umn.edu/AmericanIndianStudies