Have questions?
Contact me for research help on this subject.
Librarian
This guide is designed for new researchers who need to find articles, sources, and get started with research in topics related to fiction, drama, poetry, essays, writers, literature movements, and criticism.
Start with:
- Literature OnlineFind literary criticism and scholarly articles on literature included in the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature and The MLA International Bibliography. It also includes an online full text library of literary reference resources and searchable full-text of over 300,000 works of English and American poetry, drama, and prose.
- MLA International BibliographyUse the MLA International Bibliography to find scholarly books and articles on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. This index has been compiled by the Modern Language Association of America since 1926.
Then try any of the following:
- Academic Search PremierA great place to start your research on any topic, search multidisciplinary, scholarly research articles. This database provides access to scholarly and peer reviewed journals, popular magazines and other resources. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.
- JSTORFind full text articles in academic journals or books on the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences. JSTOR provides articles from the journal's first issue. In some cases the most recent 2-5 years may not be available. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.
Also check out:
- Nineteenth Century Collections OnlineSearch primary source collections of the nineteenth century (1800s) with books, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more. Topics include British politics, theater and music; European literature, Asian exploration, photography, and more.
- MLA Handbook PlusThe MLA Handbook is an online textbook and reference guide for student writers and writing instructors. Get guidance on writing research papers and creating works-cited-list entries in MLA style and get advice on punctuation, grammar, inclusive language, formatting research papers, and in-text citations. In addition, learn from the MLA Guide to Digital Literacy and the MLA Guide to Undergraduate Research in Literature, as well as video courses.
Last Updated: Jul 19, 2024 3:06 PM
URL: https://libguides.umn.edu/c.php?g=820734