Resources for: Sociology

Gallup Analytics provides trends in public opinion polling, using Gallup US Daily Poll questions and Gallup World Poll questions . Output formats include tables for time-series trends, charts and scatterplots, and maps for individual poll question responses. Questions in the World Poll vary by year and country. Gallup has a tool for identifying questions and when they were asked in a country. The subscription to Gallup Analytics includes mediated access to Gallup poll data for the US Daily Poll and World Poll. Contact library staff at busref@umn.edu for more information.

Search and find social science datasets, both publicly and privately collected and published. This includes data sets for US and other countries that cover demographics and census, opinion polls, urban studies, education, economics, geography, legal systems, governments and elections, political behavior and attitudes, health care and other social indicators. To download data and resources, create a free personal account by clicking the "Log In" on the top right and selecting "Create Account." Use your University of Minnesota email address.

iPOLL is a collection of polling sources from the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research. It includes surveys from 150 polling organizations that include all major news outlets, Gallup polls, and other research institutions. Use these polls to compare public opinion from 1935-present on a range of issues.

IPUMS provides census & survey data from around the world. Includes: USA; Current Population Survey (CPS); International; Global Health; NHGIS; IHGIS; Time Use; Health Surveys; & Higher Ed.

Provides access to statistical data produced by U.S. Federal agencies, States, private organizations, and major intergovernmental organizations. There are up to 2 billion charts, maps, views, rankings, time series and tables available for use in the Data-Planet repository.

Statista provides statistical data on many topics including media, business, politics, society, technology and education. Sources include market reports, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases. Data can be accessed by searching or browsing by industry, topic, country, digital market or infographic. The Global Consumer Survey offers a global perspective on consumption and media usage, covering the offline and online world of the consumer. It is designed to help marketers, planners and product managers understand consumer behavior and consumer interactions with brands.

Search statistical publications from US and state government agencies, international intergovernmental organizations, professional and trade organizations, business organizations, commercial publishers, independent research organizations, and universities.

Global population distribution data available representing an ambient (24 hour average) population. Combines geospatial science, remote sensing technology, and machine learning algorithms.

Web-based online data and mapping application that provides access to thousands of indicators related to demographics, housing, crime, mortgages, health, jobs and more. Data is available at all common geographies (address, block group, census tract, zip code, county, city, state, MSA) as well as unique geographies like school districts and political boundaries. Data comes from both public and proprietary sources.

Create custom maps and reports on SimplyAnalytics using extensive data on demographics, consumers, real estate, housing, employment, crime, health, and more. Data includes Nielsen Scarborough local insights and crosstabs, AGS Census, Claritas PRIZM consumer segment, MRI Simmons consumer survey data, consumer expenditures and buying power, as well as public data sources such as the US Census, American Community Survey, FBI uniform crime reports, NOAA climate data, and CDC health data.

Limited to 5 simultaneous users. "Sign in as a guest" if you do not wish to register for a free personal account. A personal account allows you to save your work.

Create customized maps and reports of demographic, housing, and employment patterns throughout the United States using data from the U.S. Census Bureau. Census data available from 1790 to the present. Includes additional data types such as crime, health, election, and development indicators.