Make an appointment
Make a virtual appointment with the subject librarian, Kat Nelsen.
You will receive a Zoom link shortly after scheduling.
This guide is designed for new researchers to find articles, sources and get started with research in topics related to population studies.
Getting Started
Start with:
- Population IndexAnnotated bibliography of books, journal articles, working papers, and other material on population topics, 1986-2000. Earlier years (1937-1999) are available through JSTOR at Population Index. No longer being published.
- Sociological AbstractsThis core database for the field of sociology contains information on sociology and social policy worldwide. Sociological Abstracts includes citations from the 1952-present. It provides abstracting and indexing of articles and book reviews drawn from thousands of journal publications, plus books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers, and working papers.
Then try any of the following:
- America: History and LifeAmerica: history and life provides historical coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present with over 2,000 journals including all key English-language historical journals. Limited to 6 simultaneous users.
- Historical AbstractsFind journal articles covering world history from 1450 to the present. Limited to 6 simultaneous users.
- PAIS Index (Political Science and Public Policy)PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) searches journals and other sources on issues of political science and public policy. This includes government, politics, international relations, human rights and more.
- Worldwide Political Science AbstractsThe database provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration & public policy from1975 to the present.
Also check out:
- Government Publications LibraryThe University of Minnesota Libraries provides access to government information both online and within its libraries' collections across campus. Besides being a full (regional) United States government depository, the Libraries also receive documents from Canada, the European Union, and the United Nations, as well as publications from other countries and international organizations. The Government Publications collection also contains state documents.
- Immigration History Research Center Archives (IHRCA)
The Immigration History Research Center Archives documents im/migration to the United States from 1850 to the present, with materials created largely by immigrants and social service providers.
Last Updated: Jan 24, 2024 11:21 AM
URL: https://libguides.umn.edu/c.php?g=830688