This guide is designed for new researchers who need to find articles, sources, and get started with research in topics related to arts administration, management, and curatorship.
- Business Source PremierFind business articles from journals and magazines in marketing, management, information technology, operations, human resources, accounting, finance and economics dating back to 1965.
- JSTORFind full text articles in academic journals or books on the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences. JSTOR provides articles from the journal's first issue. In some cases the most recent 2-5 years may not be available. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.
- National Archive fo Data on Arts and CultureAn open-access digital repository that provides data on arts and culture in the United States. Research particularly focuses on those funded by federal agencies.
- Statista This link opens in a new windowStatista provides statistical data on many topics including media, business, politics, society, technology and education. Sources include market reports, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases. Data can be accessed by searching or browsing by industry, topic, country, digital market or infographic. The Global Consumer Survey offers a global perspective on consumption and media usage, covering the offline and online world of the consumer. It is designed to help marketers, planners and product managers understand consumer behavior and consumer interactions with brands.
- Academic Search PremierA great place to start your research on any topic, search multidisciplinary, scholarly research articles. This database provides access to scholarly and peer reviewed journals, popular magazines and other resources. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.
Then try any of the following:
- ProQuest Art Design and Architecture CollectionA comprehensive survey of current publications in the fields of visual and applied arts. This collection includes the specialist indexes ARTbibliographies Modern (covering modern and contemporary art), Design and Applied Arts Index (for all aspects of design and crafts) and the International Bibliography of Art (covering scholarship on Western art history), together with a complementary collection of current full-text journals, Arts and Humanities Full Text.
- Art Full TextSearch for articles in fine, decorative and commercial art, as well as photography, film and architecture. Limited to 20 simultaneous users.
- ArtBibliographies ModernIndex and abstracts of articles from periodical articles, books, exhibition catalogs, and index entries for dissertations. Covers all aspects of late 19th and 20th century art, including decorative and applied art, with particular reference to photography and three-dimensional design.
Also check out:
- National Endowment for the ArtsA professional organization that provides support to exemplary arts projects through grants, partnerships, and events.
- American Alliance of MuseumsA non-profit association that assists in developing standard museum practices, creates a network of museum professionals across the nation, and advocates for the importance of museums by sharing knowledge and advocating for issues of concern within the field.
- Arts Administrators of ColorA professional organization that builds a network of arts professionals and advocates for equity in the arts through mentoring programs, professional development events, and a podcast.
- Arts Management NetworkAn international platform for arts managers, researchers, students, policy makers, and journalists to network and share approaches to challenges as arts managers. The network provides a digital journal "Arts Management Quarterly" and offers professional development events.
- Minnesota State Arts BoardA Minnesota state agency that supports the creation, performance, and appreciation of the arts through grants, professional networking, and events.
- Springboard for the ArtsA nonprofit organization that connects artists to information, services, and opportunities to further advance their careers.
Last Updated: Oct 6, 2022 5:36 PM