Have questions?
Contact me for research help on this subject.
Librarian
This guide is designed for new researchers to find articles, sources and get started with research in topics related to the history and cultures of countries in South America, Central America, Mexico, and the islands of the Caribbean.
Start with:
-
Hispanic American Periodicals IndexSearch scholarly journals published around the world on Latin America and the Caribbean since 1970 including political, economic, and social issues to the arts and humanities.
-
Handbook of Latin American Studies (HLAS)A bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, the multidisciplinary Handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities.
-
Chicano DatabaseSearch Mexican-American and Chicano studies and the broader Latino experience of Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans and Central American immigrants with topics such as art, education, health, language, literature, politics and more.
Then try any of the following:
-
Ethnic NewsWatchEthnic NewsWatch is a current resource of full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press from 1990, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives.
-
Sociological AbstractsThis core database for the field of sociology contains information on sociology and social policy worldwide. Sociological Abstracts includes citations from the 1952-present. It provides abstracting and indexing of articles and book reviews drawn from thousands of journal publications, plus books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers, and working papers.
-
PAIS Index (Political Science and Public Policy)PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) searches journals and other sources on issues of political science and public policy. This includes government, politics, international relations, human rights and more.
-
Latin American and Caribbean HistoryLatin American and Caribbean History is a digital collection of primary sources documenting the history and culture of the peoples in that region going back to the times before the Europeans arrival in 1492. Also it includes information about economic resources and political events in the nation states established there such as articles from periodicals published in that region, news feedings, statistics and maps.
-
Latin American Newspapers: World Newspaper ArchiveSearch historic newspapers from Latin America in the 19th and 20th centuries (1800s-1900s).
Also check out:
-
Art Full TextSearch for articles in fine, decorative and commercial art, as well as photography, film and architecture. Limited to 20 simultaneous users.
-
Historical AbstractsFind journal articles covering world history from 1450 to the present. Limited to 6 simultaneous users.
-
MLA International BibliographyIncludes books and articles on Latin American literature and film.
-
AM-Latin America and the Caribbean LibGuideAM databases offer a rich and insightful array of content relating to Latin American and Caribbean Studies. These sources span five centuries and range from early colonial settlement in the Caribbean to tourism in Brazil. This guide highlights collections that focus exclusively on one or more regions within Latin America and the Caribbean and it demonstrates how to find relevant material within wider-ranging collections.
-
Confidential Print: Latin America, 1833-1969Explore confidential British government papers on Central and South America and the French- and Spanish-speaking Caribbean. Topics covered include slavery and the slave trade, immigration, relations with indigenous peoples, wars and territorial disputes, the fall of the Brazilian monarchy, British business and financial interests, industrial development, the building of the Panama Canal, and more.
-
American Race Relations: Global Perspectives, 1941-1996 (FBIS)New insight into many of the most important historical events and movements of the last hundred years. In addition to providing unique viewpoints on Americas fight for racial justice, this fully searchable online collection also offers rare insight into race relations in Latin America, Europe, Africa and Asia.
Last Updated: Jul 21, 2025 10:05 AM
URL: https://libguides.umn.edu/c.php?g=835615