Resources for: Occupational Therapy

This book uses an occupational therapy way of thinking to guide the reader towards observing, understanding, and communicating the needs of children to foster a supportive environment. This book takes a holistic approach of looking at a child from what makes them a unique person, what activities they are trying to accomplish, and what environment they are in. Each chapter helps readers identify, describe, and clearly articulate a different aspect of the child's environment and how it may affect them, the way that they process different sensory inputs, what their behaviors may be telling us, and how they learn. By recognizing each child's unique story and effectively communicating their story to others, the reader can identify the most effective ways to support a child to meet a child's needs and set them up for success.

Celebrating 100 years of the Occupational Therapy profession, this Centennial Edition (13th) of Willard & Spackman's Occupational Therapy continues to live up to its well-earned reputation as the foundational book that welcomes students into their newly chosen profession. Now fully updated to reflect current practice, the 13th Edition remains the must-have resource that students that will use throughout their entire OT program, from class to fieldwork and throughout their careers. One of the top texts informing the NBCOT certification exam, it is a must have for new practitioners.

"A leading resource for occupational therapy practitioners and students for 20 years, now updated with the latest information in the profession, Quick Reference Dictionary for Occupational Therapy, Seventh Edition is a pocket-sized resource for daily practice and academic training. Containing more than 4,000 words and definitions, 70 appendices, and illustrations, graphs, and tables throughout, this definitive text has been updated with the latest information in current occupational therapy practice"-

What is the evidence? Why do you need it? How do you evaluate it? How do you use it to make decisions? Put the evidence to work for your patients. Become an effective evidence-based practitioner. Master the knowledge and clinical decision-making skills you need to provide the very best care for your clients...based on the evidence. Step by step, you'll learn how to find, read, understand, critique, and apply research evidence in practice. An access code inside new printed texts unlocks a Davis Digital eBook and interactive case studies online at DavisPlus.

The purpose of The Entry Level Occupational Therapy Doctorate Capstone: A Framework for The Experience and Project is to provide a step-by-step guide for the development, planning, implementation and dissemination of the entry-level occupational therapy doctoral capstone experience and project. Each chapter provides sample resources and useful documents appropriate for use with occupational therapy doctoral students, faculty, capstone coordinators and site mentors. Included Inside: Templates to develop the MOU, individualized doctoral student objectives, and evaluations; Examples of how to structure capstone project proposals; Learning activities to guide the literature search and development of a problem statement; Strategies of how to approach sustainability and program evaluation of the capstone project; Recommendations for structure and formatting of the final written document; Additional scholarly products derived from the project; Other scholarly deliverables including formats for professional presentations and submissible papers

Focusing on children from infancy to adolescence, Case-Smith's Occupational Therapy for Children and Adolescents, 8th Edition provides comprehensive, full-color coverage of pediatric conditions and treatment techniques in all settings. Its emphasis on application of evidence-based practice includes: eight new chapters, a focus on clinical reasoning, updated references, research notes, and explanations of the evidentiary basis for specific interventions. Coverage of new research and theories, new techniques, and current trends, with additional case studies, keeps you in-step with the latest advances in the field. Developmental milestone tables serve as a quick reference throughout the book! Full-color, contemporary design throughout text includes high-quality photos and illustrations. Case-based video clips on the Evolve website demonstrate important concepts and rehabilitation techniques. Research Notes boxes and evidence-based summary tables help you learn to interpret evidence and strengthen clinical decision-making skills. Coverage of OT for children from infancy through adolescence includes the latest research, techniques and trends. Eight completely new chapters cover Theory and Practice Models for Occupational Therapy With Children, Development of Occupations and Skills From Infancy Through Adolescence, Therapeutic Use of Self, Observational Assessment and Activity Analysis, Evaluation Interpretation, and Goal Writing, Documenting Outcomes, Neonatal Intensive Care Unit, and Vision Impairment. NEW! A focus on theory and principles Practice Models promote clinical reasoning.

Pedretti's Occupational Therapy: Practice Skills for Physical Dysfunction, 8th Edition prepares you for occupational therapy practice with adults who have physical disabilities. This cornerstone text provides a foundation for the development of clinical reasoning skills in a comprehensive, case-based learning approach to physical dysfunction. New full color photos and helpful pedagogy, including threaded case studies, OT Practice Notes, ethical considerations, and end-of-chapter review questions, reinforce learning, enhance retention, and prompt you to apply principles in a clinical setting. Focuses on the occupational therapist's role in health and wellness, which the OTA has identified as a key practice area in the 21st century. Information on prevention, rather than simply intervention or treatment, shows how OTs can take a proactive role in patient care. Evidence-based content included throughout, especially in regards to evaluation and intervention. Content on occupational therapy's commitment to considering cultural and ethnic diversity in every chapter. Key terms, chapter outlines, chapter objectives lay out the information you can expect to learn from each chapter.

In this new edition, Dr. George Tomlin joins Dr. Martin S. Rice and Dr. Franklin Stein to add expertise and knowledge of the occupational therapy field. With the combined knowledge and skills of the authors, Clinical Research in Occupational Therapy, Sixth Edition includes many valuable updates and enables the graduate student and clinical researcher to carry out a research study from the formulation of a research hypothesis to collecting, analyzing, and interpreting data in user-friendly, step-by-step procedures. This Sixth Edition brings noteworthy changes, improvements, and enhancements, including the following: - A thorough update of the published research in occupational therapy and health care - Major revisions in all the chapters - The addition of a new chapter on single-case experimental research - Updated research boxes and contemporary examples of both quantitative and qualitative research - Updated compilation of tests and evaluations used by occupation therapists in research studies as outcome instruments and for clinical assessments - Revision and additions to the glossary of terms and statistics - Updated examples of the institutional review board application forms - Updated landmarks in the history of occupational therapy - Updated interfacing example with a popular statistical software, including data organization analysis and interpretation - Updated statistical tables"