This guide covers search tools for research in topics related to the food continuum from the producer to the consumer, including food processing, product development, sensory evaluation, distribution and marketing, food safety, packaging and storage, prep
- AGRICOLA Agriculture (Ovid)Search agriculture, animal husbandry, animal and human nutrition, forestry, plant pathology, plant science, human ecology, agricultural economics, and rural sociology. Limited to 8 simultaneous users.
- CAB Abstracts Plus Full Text SelectCAB Abstracts covers agriculture in its broadest sense, including crop production, forestry, environment, animal health and nutrition, veterinary science, agricultural engineering, biotechnology, soil and water, agricultural economics, recreation and tourism, rural sociology, and human nutrition and health.
- Web of ScienceA comprehensive interdisciplinary collection of journal article citations. Subjects generally covered are within science and technology, arts and humanities, and social sciences. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.
- PubMedSearches MEDLINE, which is the primary source of journal articles for the health sciences (fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, public health, health care systems, and basic sciences). Coverage is from the 1940s to the present. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.
Then try any of the following:
- SciFinder-nSciFinder-n is the updated version of SciFinder and is the best database for topics related to chemistry and adjacent fields. It includes journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, and patents. Find substance and reaction information as well as suppliers and chemical regulatory data.
- ScopusSearch for information from scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Covers the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
- MEDLINE (Ovid)Searches MEDLINE, which is the primary source of journal articles for the health sciences (fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, public health, health care systems, and basic sciences). Ovid MEDLINE is optimized for advanced literature searches. Coverage is from the 1940s to the present.
- BIOSIS (Biology)Via Web of Science, BIOSIS covers life sciences and biomedical research covering pre-clinical and experimental research, methods and instrumentation, animal studies, and more. Access content from journals, meetings, patents, and books.
Also check out:
- Official Methods of Analysis of AOAC InternationalThe Official Methods of Analysis of AOAC INTERNATIONAL is an international source of methods, in which scientists worldwide contribute their expertise to standards development, method development, and the systematic evaluation and review of methods. It is the most comprehensive collection of chemical and microbiological methods available in the world, and many methods within the compendium have notation indicating their adoption as harmonized international reference methods by the International Organization for Standardization (ISO), the International Dairy Federation (IDF), the International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry (IUPAC), and the Codex Alimentarius Commission.
- USDA National Nutrient Database for Standard ReferenceOffers access to food descriptions, food group data, nutrient information and a nutrient definition file. Contains a weight file, source code information and a description of measures used.
Last Updated: Mar 31, 2023 1:06 PM