Related Guides
- Holocaust and Genocide Studies (Advanced Researchers)Comprehensive guide on resources related to Holocaust and Genocide Studies.
Have questions?
Contact me for research help on this subject.
Ask Brian!
Brian Vetruba
Contact:
Office: 1a Wilson Library
309 19th Ave. S. Minneapolis, MN 55455
Email: bvetruba@umn.edu
309 19th Ave. S. Minneapolis, MN 55455
Email: bvetruba@umn.edu
612-625-8161
This guide is designed for new researchers who need to find articles, sources, and get started with research in topics related to the Holocaust and genocide studies. For additional resources, see the Holocaust and Genocide Studies (Advanced Researchers) g
Start with:
- Index to Jewish PeriodicalsSearch English-language journals, articles, book reviews on Jewish culture, history, literature, religion and other areas of related study. Useful for topics in contemporary Jewish and Middle Eastern affairs.
- Historical AbstractsFind journal articles covering world history from 1450 to the present. Limited to 6 simultaneous users.
Then try any of the following:
- Visual History ArchiveA fully streaming video collection of more than 55,000 primary source testimonies from the USC Shoah Foundation of survivors and witnesses of the Holocaust and other genocides, including the Armenian Genocide, the Cambodian Genocide, the Central African Republic Conflict, contemporary antisemitism, the 1994 Genocide Against the Tutsi in Rwanda, the Guatemalan Genocide, and the Nanjing Massacre. Note: only available remotely to UMN users. See Visual History Archive Online (version for non-UMN users).
- Visual History Archive Online (version for non-UMN users)Video collection of primary source testimonies from the USC Shoah Foundation of survivors and witnesses of the Holocaust and other genocides available remotely to non-UMN users. Create an account to access. Only 1,800 videos of the +55,000 are viewable. This is a subset of the full version Visual History Archive for UMN affiliates.
- Holocaust Studies Collections (Archives Unbound)This collection incorporates anti-Semitic propaganda, correspondence from prisoners, documents from resistance groups, bank records from Nazi financiers, eyewitness accounts from concentration camps, and more.
Also check out:
- Ethnic NewsWatchEthnic NewsWatch is a current resource of full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press from 1990, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives.
- Google Scholar (Setup connection to get to PDFs)Use Google Scholar to find articles from academic publishers, professional societies, research institutes, and scholarly repositories from colleges and universities. If you are using from off-campus access, change the "Library Settings" to University of Minnesota Twin Cities. Look for the "FindIt@U of M Twin Cities" links in your Google Scholar search results to access full text and PDFs. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.
- The Oxford Handbook of Genocide Studies (2010)The discipline of Genocide Studies has developed to offer analysis and comprehension. Thirty-four articles chart genocide through the ages by taking regional, thematic, and disciplinary-specific approaches. Articles examine secessionist and political genocides in modern Asia. Others treat the violent dynamics of European colonialism in Africa, the complex ethnic geography of the Great Lakes region, and the structural instability of the continent's northern horn. South and North America receive detailed coverage, as do the Ottoman Empire, Nazi-occupied Europe, and post-communist Eastern Europe.
Last Updated: Jul 19, 2024 3:15 PM
URL: https://libguides.umn.edu/c.php?g=838228