Resources for: History (United States and World)

America: history and life provides historical coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present with over 2,000 journals including all key English-language historical journals. Limited to 6 simultaneous users.

Find journal articles covering world history from 1450 to the present. Limited to 6 simultaneous users.

Search books and articles useful to the study of the Middle Ages, the period 476-1500 across Europe, the Middle East, and North Africa, covering resources in over 25 languages.

Multidisciplinary index database to periodical literature, including articles from academic (peer-reviewed) history journals about events that took place in Antiquity (before 460 CE).

Use Humanities & Social Sciences Retrospective to find journal articles for the humanities and social sciences.

Full-page, digital archive of the New York Times. The archive runs from 1851 to 4 years ago. Search and view images of articles, advertising, photos, and more (via ProQuest Historical Newspapers).

Search old editions major U.S. newspapers and the Times of India. Papers include the Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, and the Minneapolis Star Tribune. Other titles include the Atlanta Daily World, Chicago Defender, Christian Science Monitor, Jewish Advocate, the Jewish Exponent, Los Angeles Sentinel, the New York Amsterdam News, Pittsburgh Courier, South China Morning Post, Wall Street Journal, and Washington Post.

Includes Early American Newspapers Series 1 (1690-1876), 3 (1783-1922), 6 (1741-1922), 7 (1773-1922), and 18 (1825-1879). Spanning two centuries and 40 states, these archives of selective content from historical newspapers are primary sources for researching crucial conflicts from the Civil War to World War I, movements ranging from early states rights to women's suffrage, noteworthy citizens, local events, natural disasters; political campaigns; and the evolution of American culture.

World Newspaper Archive is a collection of historical newspapers published in Africa, Latin America, and South Asia throughout the 19th and 20th centuries. It provides excellent coverage of the people, cultures, issues and events that have shaped world history. Additional collections covering other regions will be added over time.

Contains historic and archival materials such as digitized letters, papers, photographs, scrapbooks, financial records, diaries, and other primary source materials taken from the University Publications of America (UPA) Collections. Subject areas include NAACP Papers, INS immigration records (1880-1930), Vietnam War and American Foreign Policy (1960-1975), Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, 1960-1969, Europe and Latin America, Slavery and the Law (1775-1867), Women's Studies Manuscript Collections from the Schlesinger Library: Voting Rights, National Politics, and Reproductive Rights, and more.

Search U.S. newspapers from the 19th century (1800-1899) including access to every article, advertisement and illustration.

Digital archive of British newspapers from 1732 to 1950 including national and regional newspapers from both established country or university towns and the new industrial powerhouses of the manufacturing Midlands, as well as Scotland, Ireland and Wales. The penny papers aimed at the working and clerical classes are also included in the collection. Contains collections 1-5.