Primary sources on South Asia
Historical Primary Source Archives for South Asia
- South Asia Open ArchivesSAOA is a collection of primary and secondary sources from and about South Asia covering the arts, humanities, and social sciences, in English and South Asian languages. Core areas are Caste & Social Structure, History of Science, Language & Literature, Social Political & Economic History, Women & Gender. Also featured are a wealth of publications of abstracts in English from local newspapers published across India between 1874 and 1921.
- East India CompanySearch a vast collection of India Office Records from the British Library, London. Contains royal charters, correspondence, trading diaries, minutes of council meetings and reports of expeditions, among other document types, this resource charts the history of British trade and rule in the Indian subcontinent and beyond from 1599 to 1947. Includes research tools, essays, chronology, etc.
- India, Raj and EmpireMaterials documenting the foundation of the East India Company in 1615 to the granting of independence for India and Pakistan in 1947. The sources range from the papers of key East India Company representatives and colonial officials to records of daily life in Agra, Bombay, Lahore, and Madras. Materials are from the National Library of Scotland.
- Empire OnlineSearch original documents and primary sources for the study of 'Empire' and its theories, practices and consequences including exploration, colonization and more including British, French, Spanish, Portuguese, and German points of view, as well as that of indigenous peoples from Africa, India and North America. The sections cover Cultural Contacts, 1492-1969; Empire Writing and the Literature of Empire; The Visible Empire; Religion and Empire; and Race, Class and Colonialism, c 1783-1969.
- Nineteenth Century Collections OnlineSearch primary source collections of the nineteenth century (1800s) with books, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more. Topics include British politics, theater and music; European literature, Asian exploration, photography, and more.
- U.K. Parliamentary Papers This link opens in a new windowFind House of Commons sessional papers from 1715 to the present, with supplementary material back to 1660. Includes Records of proceedings, the Debates (Hansard), and the House of Commons journal; Sessional papers providing information to parliament on matters of policy and administration: Bills, House papers, and Command papers. Also includes the House of Lords presented to the Commons, such as reports prepared by Lords Select Committees.
- India, uprising and reform 1879 to 1910: in the records of the Governor-GeneralThese items cover the administrations of two Viceroys of India, first Lord Curzon, then the 4th Earl of Minto. Contains 43,764 pages belonging to 44 documents housed in 5 volumes
- Indian and Sri Lankan records from colonial missionaries, 1770-1931The documents in this resource come from the archives of the Society for the Propagation of the Gospel in Foreign Parts (SPG). Contains 84,424 pages belonging to 197 documents housed in 8 volumes
- Library of Congress - South Asian Collections on Internet ArchiveSouth Asian historical publications from the Library of Congress uploaded to the Internet Archive
- Marxism & Anti-Imperialism in IndiaHistorical writings of Marxists on India and the writings of important Indian Communists and freedom-fighters.
- Medical History of British IndiaThe Medical History of British India collection consists of official publications varying from short reports to multi-volume histories related to disease, public health and medical research between circa 1850 to 1920. From the National Library of Scotland.
- Taking India, how the military established Company rule, 1752-1774Papers of Col. Robert Clive and Brig.-Gen. John Carnac covering the transfer of power from the Mughal Empire to the British Empire. Contains 24,508 pages belonging to 168 documents housed in 18 volumes
- 1947 Partition ArchiveOnline selection of life histories of people affected by the 1947 partition of India and Pakistan. Interviews have been recorded in 22 languages and attempt to cover the complete life story of the witness, providing details about pre-Partition life, the Partition experience, and post-Partition life changes.
South Asian materials online in UMedia
- Ames Library UMedia General CollectionFind South Asian artwork, maps, photos, text, mostly from the late 1800s through early 1900s.
- Ames Library UMedia Map CollectionFind South Asia maps, mostly from between 1600 and 1900.
- Journal of Indian ArtFull page images of Volume 1-17 (1884-1916).
- South Asia Language ArchiveMainly Audio files for Classical Urdu Poetry, Introduction to Punjabi, and
Introduction to Pushto
Last Updated: Jan 24, 2023 3:46 PM