Business Databases

For information available on databases available to CARLSON SCHOOL OF MANAGEMENT students and employees ONLY (not licensed for other users), see Databases and Software Licensed through the Carlson School of Managment. For lists of available databases by business subject areas, see our business page

Index To Minnesota Business Periodicals

  • A database of articles published in the Twin Cities Minnesota business press, created by the J.J. Hill Reference Library in St. Paul. The Hill Library began to produce an index for internal use and has published an annual index of Minnesota business periodicals since 1977. This proprietary database covers the time period of 2001 - 3rd Quarter 2008. Articles from these journals may be available in our University collections or accessed in person at the Hill Library or by contacting Hill Reference at 651-265-5500.

  • PUBLICATIONS INDEXED:
    MinnesotaBusiness 
    Minnesota Real Estate Journal 
    Minnesota Technology 
    Profits Journal (ceased December 2003) 
    Twin Cities Business (formerly Twin Cities Business Monthly)
    Ventures (ceased December 2001)
    The Business Journal (formerly CityBusiness)
    Upsize Minnesota 
    Women's Business Minnesota (ceased January 2006) 

Library Services for Distance Learners


Help is available for any question about accessing our digital collections, conducting research and locating publications.

    • Distance Learning Services
      U of M distance learners are entitled to all library resources and services available through the Libraries' Home page, LUMINA, including access to electronic articles indexes and journals, research assistance, and more.
      [Service no longer available]
    • Contact the Business Reference Service
      Business Reference staff will help you to find the information you need. Send us your e-mail questions concerning journal or book holdings, definitions, stock prices, addresses, telephone numbers, and other brief, factual information. We cannot offer comprhensive research help through this service, but we can offer some suggestions on how you can get started with your research and what library sources or electronic sources you can check for the information you need. 
      [Service no longer available]
    • Ordering Materials Services
      This page provides links to Interlibrary Loan and a variety of document delivery services provided by the Libraries.
      [Service no longer available]
    • Interlibrary Loan 
      Interlibrary Loan is a free service for University students, faculty, and staff with current borrowing privileges. This service is provided by the University of Minnesota Libraries to promote coursework and scholarly research by providing access to materials not held by the University Libraries.
    • Wilson Library 
      Wilson Library houses the main humanities and social sciences collections of the University Libraries. 
      • Hours • Map

Local Media Audit
Twin Cities data on the spending habits and demographics for all local radio and TV stations, local news publications, and television, magazine, and media outlets. Available on 2 computers at the Journalism Library in Murphy Hall and the business workstation at the Wilson Library Reference Desk. View these streaming tutorials and sample reports on using Local Media Audit. 

Last Updated: Oct 29, 2020 3:37 PM