Find Books on Finance Topics

Full Text Corporate Annual Reports

Resources that Provide Corporate Financial Statements

Use these resources to find information on balance sheets, income statements, cashflow statements.

Resources Providing Financial Data Available to Carlson School of Management Students ONLY:

BloombergThe Bloomberg service is a global 24-hour-a-day financial information network providing real-time and historical pricing, indicative and fundamental data and analytics. Using the Bloomberg Excel Add-In product you can integrate Bloomberg's database into your spreadsheets and proprietary models.

How to Get Access: Contact the IT Service Center csareait@csom.edu

Security Analyst Reports for Publicly Traded Corporations

Stock Prices and other Financial Metrics

Stocks, Bonds, Bills and Inflation. Issued by: R.G. Ibbotson AssociatesAnnual Statistical volume.
Published Chicago, Ill. : R.G. Ibbotson Associates, Annual.
Vols. for 1983- include historical market returns of some U.S. security classes. 
• Location(s): TC Wilson Library Business Reference Quarto HG4501 .S7949 Non-Circulating 
• Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Cost of CapitalProvides industry financial information relating to revenues, profitability, equity returns, ratios, capital structure, cost of equity and weighted average cost of capital. Arranged by SIC code. Provides data on over 300 U S based industries. The main provider of data for Cost of Capital is the Standard & Poors Compustat Data. 
• Location(s): TC Wilson Library Business Reference Quarto HC110.C3 C67 Non-Circulating 
• Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Corporate Bonds

Industry Financial Ratios or Industry Norms

The most useful general ratios are:

ALMANAC OF BUSINESS AND INDUSTRIAL FINANCIAL RATIOS.

Englewood Cliffs, NJ: Prentice-Hall. Annual. WILS BUS Quarto HF5681 .R25 A45

The source of data is tax returns filed with the U. S. Internal Revenue Service. The most recent edition provides data on millions of U.S. corporations. It provides 50 performance indicators for each industry, and at the end of each industry section, performance indicators for the last 10 years are shown. Data are grouped into 13 categories by size of assets in each industry. About 180 lines of business are covered.

The Almanac provides norms in actual dollar amounts for revenue and capital factors such as net receivables, inventories, total assets, and it gives you important average operating costs in percent of net sales for: cost of operations, pensions and benefits, compensation of officers, wages and salaries, taxes and more. We have been receiving the annual editions of the Almanac since 1973.

INDUSTRY NORMS AND KEY BUSINESS RATIOS.

New York, NY: Dun & Bradstreet. Annual. WILS BUS Quarto HF5681 .R25 I5

This five volume set contains the most comprehensive industry coverage (including over 800 lines of business). The volumes in the set are: 1) Agriculture, Mining, Construction, Transportation, Communication, Utilities; 2) Manufacturing; 3) Wholesaling; 4) Retailing; 5) Finance, Insurance, Real Estate, Services.

Ratios are arranged by SIC number, and sub-divided into four geographic areas of the U. S. (at the 2-digit level) and into three to five asset size ranges (at the four digit level).

For each SIC number covered, the following data is provided: 1) fourteen key business ratios that can be used to analyze solvency, efficiency and profitability, 2) typical balance sheets and income statements for the industry (in dollars), and 3) common-size financial figures (each item of the financial statement as a percentage of its respective aggregate total). The source of data is the Dun & Bradstreet Financial Database. We have been receiving the annual volumes in this set in the Library since 1979.

IRS CORPORATE FINANCIAL RATIOS.

Evanston, Ill.: Schonfeld and Associates. Annual. WILS BUS Quarto HF5681 .R25 I27x

These industry ratios are based on the most recently available income statement and balance sheet data compiled by the Internal Revenue Service of the United States Department of the Treasury. There are 79 ratios or averages given for each industry. We have been receiving this annual publication in the Library regularly since 1991.

RMA ANNUAL STATEMENT STUDIES.

Philadelphia, PA: Risk Management Association. Annual. WILS BUS Quarto HF5681 .B2 R6

This publication is a product of the commercial banking community and RMA (now Risk Management Association, formerly Robert Morris Associates), the association of lending and credit risk professionals. Over 500 lines of business are covered. Current and comparative historical data are included. Financial statements on each industry are shown in common size form. Sixteen widely used business ratios follow the financial statements.

Each RMA Annual Statement Studies volume has a section at the front of the volume that gives good definitions of each of the ratios and shows how each was computed. Each volume also has a section at the back called *Sources of Composite Financial Data--A Bibliography* that identifies other major sources of composite financial data for industries. We have been receiving the RMA annual volumes in the Library since 1927.

Sources that Provide Industry Analysis

Country Business Environments

Find Country Business Profiles:

Exporters' encyclopaedia• Location(s): Latest edition in Wilson Reference Quarto HF3011 .E9. Older editions in TC Wilson Library Quarto HF3011 .E9 
• Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Country Risk Ratings, Sovereign Ratings:

Country Financial Statistics:

Country Culture:

Information on Privately Held Companies

Finding information about privately-owned companies can be challenging. Privately owned companies do not make their stock available to the public through public securities exchanges, such as the NYSE. Because they are privately owned and operated, they are not required to make information about their financial condition public. Private companies usually do not produce annual reports which are available to the public. Information about them does not appear in any of the financial databases that cover publicly traded corporations. Private companies enjoy the competitive advantage of not disclosing information about themselves or their market position.

So, where can you find some information about them? The best search strategy is to look for articles in newspapers and journals, search business directories, consult trade associations, find local sources, and search the Internet for information.

Trade Associations:

Journals, Magazines, and Newspapers

Check the following indexes for news about the company's history:

Last Updated: Jul 22, 2020 3:44 PM